We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shop if you want something unique and of high quality!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aegean Designs

Aegean Designs
Ranked #96 of 152 things to do in Santorini
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aegean Designs is home for the work of textile artist Allison Ermogenis. Art classes available year round and all work is for sale through thestudio. Authentic Hand Made gifts and art pieces made on Santorini...keeping it local.
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great shop if you want something unique and of high quality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I LOVED this shop. It's a beautiful setting. I immediately got drawn in as I was walking by and saw the artist outside in her garden painting. I couldn't resist buying a hand painted apron and a hand made necklace of clay painted balls. Great if you are looking for something of quality and unique!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Walking along the Caldera into Firostefani you can't help but notice a rainbow of vibrant colours looking back at you on the hand painted tea towels and aprons hanging to dry in the sun, with soothing beats playing in the background and Allison painting a gorgeous tablecloth in her outdoor courtyard of her studio. The setting is perfect, the shop absolutely gorgeous with handmade art nothing short of spectacular. The perfect place to buy your souvenirs and gifts, or gorgeous pieces for yourself such as pretty and feminine lingerie wash bags, cushion covers, napkins and table cloths etc..all hand painted with gorgeous blue's and greens, to pinks and purples and all colours in between. Allison and her husband have gorgeous down to earth easy going personalities and and were so willing to help out with any information and recommendations needed, which also resulted in eating at the most amazing places we probably wouldn't have found otherwise. Definitely a must visit on your 'to do' list If you'd like to take home an original piece of hand crafted artwork, which is hard to come across these days especially in such a tourist packed destination. Cannot wait to return on our next trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natsalvo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Original island art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have purchased several pieces of Allison's, Aegean Designs, works of art over the last several years and treasure them. Her work is original and filled with vibrant color.

Do not miss this shop on the pathway above Fira, in the village of Firostefani. You will need to walk up the spectacular caldera pathway from Fira or take the local bus to Firostefani and walk up the short way to her studio.
Thanks Allison, for the beautiful art work. It will make me smile always.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, OK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unique, handmade, one of a kind gifts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Whenever I'm traveling I always look for unique, one of a kind gifts and/or keepsakes as opposed to mass produced products. This shop definitely met my requirements. The owner is a talented artist who uses locally made products for her beautiful artistry. She is a pleasure to visit with and she offers a variety of aprons, pillow cases, napkins, and other art pieces. Don't miss this shop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveNewExperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Artwork - Amazing people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We bought a bunch of things from them. Two awesome and friendly people where the art is made right there and is gorgeous!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aegean Designs also viewed

 
Santorini, Cyclades
 

Been to Aegean Designs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing