We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Faros Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Faros Villa
Ranked #5 of 121 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had an amazing 6 nights at Faros last month. I was unsure if this would be too long given that it is not close to town etc. But I could have stayed here forever! The location was perfect - the beach across the road was great and then walking around the coastline they just got better - private (at least in the mornings) and crystal clear, beautiful water. The pool area is huge and perfectly maintained, the bar was great of course, and the taverna with Mamas cooking amazing... We were truly sad to leave Faros especially saying goodbye to the staff who made our stay so special. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We chose Faros as it was away from the main port of Naxos and close to sandy white beaches. This is a little piece of heaven. Family run property with the warmest welcome - the staff were funny, friendly, helpful and engaging. Mum runs the kitchen and cooks fantastic meals in the Taverna which were very well priced. Our room was a "hotel" style room so not an apartment as such but has its own balcony. It was modern and well appointed, perfect for the setting. The outdoor pool and bar area is fantastic and you are 1 minute walk across the quiet road from a beach. The beaches are beautiful and not crowded. We left not wanting to leave and hoping to return. Thank you Nikolaos, Yanis, Demetrius and everyone for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherpa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked these accommodations based on prior reviews on tripadvisor. After staying in bustling Mykonos for two nights, this place was a gift from the Gods!

Faros is a small boutique style hotel (only 7 rooms) that is family owned and operated. But it doesn't feel small when you start to wander the property! Extensive colorful gardens, a huge infinity pool with plenty of room to relax on the lounge chairs, outdoor bar with extra seating and the multiple room taverna.

We booked a 2BR apartment on the second floor. The rooms were immaculate (thanks Julia) and well appointed. Very firm bedding (twin and full size). Baths with shower, sink and toilet. Small sitting area with mirror for doing hair or makeup. Laundry services are offered on site for a small fee. The west facing deck included chairs and tables for enjoying morning coffee or evening sundowners. Bikes are available for day trips around the island.

But the family and staff are what make the visit so memorable. Everything was handled flawlessly! Nikolaos handled the reservations, transfers and requests with professionalism. We booked a rental car for the day (25 - 30 Euros) which was available on site. Most of the places of interest are in the mid to north end of the island - extremely easy to navigate with the map and suggestions provided by Giannis (John).

Several secluded beaches are within walking distance from the hotel. Even in the beginning of October, the azure water was warm and inviting. I won't go into detail about the beaches - you need to discover them for yourself!

Mamma Moustakis does all the cooking at the taverna. Country-style Greek cooking at its finest! Many items are locally grown and produced. Breakfast included breads, fantastic thick yogurt, local honey, sliced meat and cheese, olives, tomatoes, frittata, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea, hard boiled eggs, chopped fruit, crepes and more. Lunch and dinner are also available, which is very convenient if you don't want to venture back to the port area. Thanks to Demetrios for introducing us to his special Greek raki with honey.

This is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and disappear for a while. And to quote Nikolaos "in Greece everything is possible!!!"

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmtravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent the first two nights in the city center of Naxos. We were looking for our last 2 nights ( september 22th-23rd) in the greek island for a little quiet place (small resort) and we ended up at Faros hotel. A little house in akylo area of naxos (the best beaches of the island are located within 15 minutes of walk from the room). Little quiet room with a very noce balcony, clean, free wifi and view of the sunset. The pool area is simply amazing, there is a bar open allday/night ! A little quiet beach two minutes away where enjoyed our last sunset in greece !! The water in september is hot. There is a restaurant with fair prices and very good meals which is hold by the mother. Finaly, staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. They were kind enough to respond to all of our requests. A special thank you to nikolaos and all everybody working at faros hotel. Nick and Marine

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marinski23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you want to forget about the world or your job of whatever is ailing you, and experience the joy of a small hotel (7 or 8 rooms) with a great taverna and near a secluded beach -- then this is the place for you!

This is the second time my husband and I stayed at Faros Studios. That tells you a lot right away.

The rooms are immaculately clean, as are the gardens and the swimming pool.

Faros Studios are located near Alyko Beach, about 20 km south of Naxos City (Chora). The breakfast buffet included with the room rate was excellent. There is a very large and very CLEAN infinity pool and a full service bar here. The associated taverna offers excellent rustic Greek cuisine (see my separate review of the taverna, also called Faros).

This is a family-owned and operated place and it is simply wonderful. They speak English here, so there is no problem with communications.

Because this hotel is in the countryside, we rented a car for a few days to better explore the island. The office at Faros arranged to have a car delivered out to us at the hotel, so we would not have to go to town to pick one up.

While out for my AM walk, I several times encountered a small herd of sheep passing by. What a joy that was!!

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs has a balcony and view of the sea, plus it has a seating area adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 7 nights in the middle of island hopping around the Cyclades and everything about our time at Faros was perfection - from Mama's incredible cooking, through tasting the amazing cocktail that is 'Basilico' to the amazing service from Niko,Giannis and the service from the restaurant in the evenings. We stayed in thegorgeous top double room and had an amazing view of the sunset from our private balcony. The resort was immaculately clean at all times.

Naxos itself is such a beautiful little island, unspoilt with amazing beaches, most of which were completely deserted while we were there. Torquoise, crystal clear seas

We both feel that it's not a case of 'if' but 'when' we return for lots more of Mama's amazing cooking, finding quiet little beaches all to ourselves and fun by the pool with Giannis and Nikos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marklaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during our island hopping adventure. It was far and away the best accommodation we experienced (in fact best we've ever had in Greece). We were lucky enough to have a two double bedroom apartment with two balconies (both with stunning views of the mountains and oblique views out to the sea). The rooms were beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. We loved being gently awoken by the sun rising over the mountain and the tinkling of goat bells!

Nikos was welcoming and took time to talk through maps and highlight all the best things to do in the area.

And the area around Faros apartments is stunning. A national park of sand dunes and cedar with many different beaches to explore is superb. Great for walkers. It is very quiet here, a perfect retreat off the beaten track. And after a day out walking there is a large infinity pool to enjoy.

The family run taverna adjoining the apartments where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner is awesome. Even off season it was fairly busy every night which is testament to the great food and service. Different cheeses and barrel wines to try, the selection of jams at breakfast a real treat.

The only sad thing (apart from having to leave) was the fact they ran out of metaxa!

Anyway we will return one day, it is pure relaxation here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJonazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos hotels
7.4 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
8.5 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,308 reviews
7.7 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
7.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 57 in Naxos Town
422 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kavos Boutique Hotel Naxos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Villa

Address: Alyko | 150m from Alykos beach and the Cedar forest, 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naxos
#25 Family Hotel in Naxos
Price Range: $100 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful piece of land, full of trees and pure Naxian Air, Faros offers a unique experience to couples, families or singles who search for relax and personal attention. Cedar trees on the sand dunes of Alyko, amazing beaches and coves in a walking distance, a little cozy house, colorful garden, stunning views of the sea and the sunset, infinity swimming pool, cocktail pool bar, greek taverna, mama's traditonal food and our family hospitaly is what you can expect at Faros! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Faros Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Studios Apartments Hotel Naxos
Faros Complex Naxos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing