We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, spotless, very well run”
Review of Camara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camara Hotel
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and thought it was excellent value for money and very well run.

The hotel was spotless and the owner was very warm, helpful and accommodating. We didn't really do our research before arriving in Naxos so we were very grateful for his assistance in helping us find the best beaches and sights on the island. We also liked sitting on the roof terrace at night - perfect for gazing at the stars and philosophising!

It was about a 5 minute walk into Agios Prokopios, a lovely little resort with enough restaurants and cocktail bars to keep you entertained but with absolutely zero sign of trashy tourism! It seemed popular with families but we went as a group of 4 young adult friends and had a great time.

If you hire a car, make sure you head south to Mikri Vigla beach, it's absolutely stunning and less crowded than Ag. Prokopios/Ag. Anna beaches. I was also pleasantly surprised with Naxos Town and the beautiful labyrinth-like streets winding into one other. If you're coming from Santorini or Mykonos you'll be very happy with the prices here too which seem to be in line with the rest of Greece.

My only criticism (very small) is that the hotel was difficult to find and had no sign at all from the town. Not really a problem as we had to ask a few locals but might be a problem if you're arriving late at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Camara Hotel!

Stavros is extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable for a triple. The location is great, just a short walk to the beautiful beach! There is also a bus stop close by to get to town (we ended up taking taxis which we found affordable and convenient for a group, approx. 10 Euros to get down to the port area). The breakfast offered was tasty in a bright breakfast room.

Our only complaint was some mosquitos in our room. Stavros informed us Naxos doesn't typically have mosquitos and that this year they have been particularly bad (he offered us a scented spray to remove them). We also had some issues connecting to the wifi, but again Stavros was happy to help.

Overall we loved our stay in Naxos and would highly recommend the Camara hotel! Thank you Stavros for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller201408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just come back from Camara Hotel for the second year (we like to change location every year and we usually never go back to the same place!)
We found the usual kind as well as professional hospitality.
As last year, we found a comfortable and very clean Hotel, improved by the mini bar service and coffe & tea facility in room + pillow menu !!!).
Sure we'll choose Camara Hotel next year, too!

Room Tip: rooms are exactly as represented in their photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alessandra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you again at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Thank you Stavros and staff we spent a total of nine nights at your hotel. Hospitality and friendliness were wonderful . The rooms were very modern, the breakfast was very good and I really enjoyed your homemade cake

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We took the advice of many Tripadvisor contributors and booked the Camara, Stavros and I communicated by email several times and he booked a taxi to collect us from Naxos Port on our arrival by ferry from Ios (10€).

The hotel was a joy, clean and airy and we had a lovely room at the front overlooking the road, it’s in a cul-de-sac with virtually no traffic. It was spotless with a small balcony and small bathroom, but it had the best shower we’d encountered in the whole Cyclades!

The breakfast room was lovely and breakfast was better than expected, plenty of cereal, meat and cheese and eggs, and beautiful yoghurt and homemade jams. A kettle for boiled water and tea and plenty of filtered coffee. Guests at the Camara can use the pool across the street, just the shortest of walks and the comfortable beds even have towels, Stavros organised a car hire for us and then a taxi back to the airport (10€).
There’s not much going on at the hotel, which is a shame as its got a stunning roof top sitting area but just watch the door! The hotel is perfectly situated at the top of a small rise in the road and just a 10 minute walk to the centre and beach at Agios Prokopios with its long and developed beach.
There is a great selection of bars and restaurants and several general shops and small supermarkets. The bus runs passed the end of the street into Naxos town or down to the beach and all the way to the Plaka, please buy tickets in the supermarkets before you get on!

A great budget hotel, very clean and very comfortable, thanks you to Stavros and his team for all you help during a brilliant 6 day stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RTLSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Camara for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean and the owner was extremely accommodating, friendly and warm. When I go back to Naxos I will definitely stay at that hotel.

The town is really cute, small but not boring, with great options for all sorts of activities and food. The beach nearby is also great, one of the best on the island. I would definitely recommend this place.

It was my first time in Naxos and I was amazed with how beautiful the island is. Prices are for food and drinks are more than reasonable especially for the quality and level of service. Everyone we met on the island was warm, kind and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank VasTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Spent 5 nights at Camara hotel and loved it. Modern, clean hotel and room with a nice balcony. As others have mentioned, Stavros is one of the reasons that a stay in this hotel is so enjoyable. He's always on hand with advice and to make phone calls for local services if needed. Just a short walk to little town and wonderful beach. Everyone is so friendly here. Also plenty of restaurants and bars, which in June weren't too busy. Our favourite taverna was the one just across the road which got really busy in the evenings but the staff always managed to squeeze you in. Traditional Greek food at very good prices. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Camara hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Allenshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos hotels
0.3 mi away
Dimitra Hotel
Dimitra Hotel
#9 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#6 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#14 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Semeli Hotel Apartments
Semeli Hotel Apartments
#16 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
66 reviews
2.0 mi away
Korali Palace
Korali Palace
#33 of 57 in Naxos Town
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camara Hotel

Address: Agios Prokopios, 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 122 Hotels in Naxos
Price Range: $47 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camara hotel is situated in Agios Prokopios. It's only 350m away from the beach of Agios Prokopios which is one of the awarded beaches of the island. It's just 5.Km away from chora, the centre of Naxos. Camara hotel is a perfect choice for those who want to be near the magnificent white sand beach and of course near by all the excursions as the bus stop is quite near the hotel (only 30m). Everyone can be satisfied by its suitable and quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing