We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor quality of food”
Review of Il Basilico - CLOSED

Il Basilico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Trattoria and Wine Bar Entrees Salads Pasta Risotto Vegetarian Dishes Local beef and Pork Homemade Desserts
Athina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality of food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not very good choice for what you pay. I would not recommend it- better to eat at the village restaurant which at least you can taste more authentic food with a good price . Too bad some people are trying to make money out of not offering anything nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“not at all what I expected”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are many tavernas and restaurants that offer good food in Naxos. Most of them serve Greek cuisine based in the delicious local products but you can also find the occasional Italian or multi -ethnic restaurant. A recommended Italian restaurant in a mountain village sounded like a great idea but unfortunately it was disappointing. The owner is truly a very nice person- friendly and helpful- but the cooking is uninspired and mediocre. The plates came to our table after a long wait and they didn't even taste like they had just come out of the kitchen- the pasta was cold and the crust of the milanese had turned soft. The only good things were the wine Maurizio recommended to us and the desserts they offerd us in the end of our meal.
It was perhaps a bad night, or the chef had gone home, or something, but what we tasted that night isn't worth the extra kilometres to the - otherwise nice- village of Halki .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank atravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“one of my favourites!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Halki, tradition, architecture, legacy, festivals, mauricio, italian, crazy, environment, romance, lemontrees, pasta, wine, nice, will visit next year, can't wait, naxos, amazing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VISFRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food in the middle of Naxos island!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wow, this restaurant was a surprise. It is located in Halki, in a small alley. This courtyard restaurant is surrounded by a walled garden of lemon trees.

When we went, there was no one having lunch yet. The chef came out and we asked him to prepare something of his choice in the kitchen. He cooked us an antipasto platter worthy of the best italian restaurant, followed by freshly made safron tagliatelle pasta. One of the best meals we had in Greece, and it was in the middle of nowhere (and Italian to boot!)

Definitely stop by Il Basilico if you're going on a hike to Zas or elsewhere in Naxos, you won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the middle of the Magic Island”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have been eating at Basilico many times and well I have been impressed by the passion of the owners sharing history and emotions about their kitchen, highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jblastafoodandsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Apeiranthos, Naxos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing