We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matthew Taverna

Matthew Taverna
Ranked #67 of 383 Restaurants in Mykonos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really Good food with a really good price. Staff very nice. Worth visiting it. A good range of sea food and meat
I recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    112
    33
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We loved the meat with aubergine and the traditional Greek atmosphere. It is just by the new port, so you can grab a bite before you hop on the boat to Pireus..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best Greek restaurants i have ever visited!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

A traditional Greek Tavern very close to Mykonos Town and just opposite the new port.
The most tasteful food in the whole island! Very friendly staff, special thanks to Dimitris !
You should definetely visit Matthew once..and then you will definetely go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irene_tak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful taverna with good views & brilliant stuffed tomatoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had moored our yacht in the New Port and this restaurant is right across the road. It provides good, solid, traditional Greek fare. Apparently the grandmother still does a lot of the cooking! I like how she smiled warmly at me even though I didn't speak a word of Greek. The stuffed tomatoes are just lovely & are highly recommended. The restaurant also has a good wi-fi connection, and is one of the few restaurants on Mykonos which is open all year round. The giant tree in the middle of the restaurant is magnificent. Would happily recommend this as a place for just a coffee or for an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lokifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quality food in a handy location near the new port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in Tourlos a little outside the main town, with Matthew's just down the road so to was handy for the night we didn't want to catch the bus to town. Very friendly service and food. I had delicious mousaka and my husband had fish soup which he is still raving about. Prices were similar to the town centre. Many at our hotel visited numerous times for lunch too so we heard of happy return visits.

Helpful?
Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Matthew Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing