We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist destination”
Review of Araxe

Araxe
Ranked #23 of 76 Restaurants in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped by chance and had lunch there. We had Mousaka and chicken with potatoes. It was one of the most touristic places you could sit and dine to with the bad meaning. Mousaka was so salty and chicken was mediocre, nothing special. Service was normal . We also ordered fried feta cheese with honey which they didn’t bring it never and they finally charged it in the end . Nice environment but not so good food for those who prefer a non touristic restaurant with really good Greek food.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Tskm1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

This was the first place we ate in Folegandros and we enjoyed it so much we went back for breakfast, then when our boat got cancelled, we took the chance to go back one final time! Staff were really friendly, the setting under a tree in a square was beautiful and cool and the food was delicious. Special shout out for the rabbit stew and the lamb kleftiko, both beautiful dishes.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank liz112l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We had lunch at Araxe first day we arrived
Nice cozy place in the main square of Chora
Great food and very good service

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nicoleleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Classic Greek cooking, Startos runs a tight ship both front and back of house, the kitchen is busy making tasty Greek dishes. - the Tsatziki is the best on the island and the lamb chops make your mouth water! We ate here many times this trip and were always well fed and looked after.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 455justinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

The service is very good with courtesy staff. The food is very good. The wine list is also very good. You can go for nice lunch also since is under a big tree!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 06anny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Araxe also viewed

 
Folegandros, Cyclades
Chora, Folegandros
 
Folegandros, Cyclades
Chora, Folegandros
 

Been to Araxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing