We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity and Relaxation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed in Folegandros for 5 nights and we must say that Blue Sand was the best choice we could make. Its location is probably its strongest card. Apart from that, the rooms are comfortable (especially the beds) , with Korres products and all of them with a great view.The architecture is modern cycladic and it fits the landscape entirely. The family that runs the hotel is extra helpful and polite and breakfast is delicious - don't forget to try the omelette!!!! You can even have free sunbeds and umbrellas for the beach and order your coffee at the beach ..how cool is that??
Well, if you compare the hotel with hotels in other Greek islands it looks expensive but for Folegandros, which is generally expensive when it comes to accomodation and car rentals, the prices are normal (the food and the drinks in the island are cheap though).

We fell in love with the island and we will definitely visit it again...We hope that once more our base will be Blue Sand!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate_lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

After reading the rave reviews, my best friend and I booked a room at Blue Sand. First the pro's: The hotel is nestled in a beautiful bay literally walking distance from crystal clear water and sand. Folegandros was charming, especially because it wasn't overrun by tourists. There are a few cute family-run restaurants nearby and we were able to have a home-cooked meal while watching the sunset. Also, the complimentary breakfasts were excellent, with an assortment of fresh breads, jams, and yogurt with fruit.
Why we were a bit disappointed: For what we were paying, we expected the rooms and hotel to be a lot more charming. Blue Sand markets itself as a swanky boutique hotel yet it doesn't get the decor quite right. It felt stark and new with very little "flavor." Also, it should be noted that most of the staff cannot speak English. It was especially hard to order anything because the menus were only in Greek. Although the service was friendly, it could have been better as there were long waits even to have our order taken. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our two week trip to the Greek islands and ironically it was our least favorite. Still though, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed there for two weeks in a junior suite. Nice and very stylish furnished room with spectacular views on Agali bay. Hotel is situated a few meters above beach with crystal clear water. You will not miss a pool, instead you can enjoy the wave´s chilling sound of the aegean sea. Bath amenities refilled daily. A/C works fine, even no need as cool breezes at night. Hotel´s terrace perfect place to take your sundowner or a the good-night drink. Very nice staff making you feel as welcomed guest. Three tavernas at the bay (one in hotel building) give you a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Blue Sand has such an amazing location, perched on a hillside overlooking beautiful Agali Bay. When our ferry was over 8 hours late due to the wind, we were still met with smiles at the port and whisked away to the hotel. This hotel is really new, and is definitely one of the nicest places on Folegandros, at very reasonable rates. The breakfast is both delicious and abundant, with any type of coffee or other beverages, huge baskets of breads and cakes, plus your choice of yogurt with fruit and honey, toasted sandwich with ham and cheese...however I always asked for a single boiled egg and it came in the cutest little cup with coordinating salt and pepper shakers (see photo). They made the BEST Nescafe Frappes we had anywhere in Greece.

The beach gets busy with bussed in visitors from Hora, but by the time the first bus load appeared, we were already set up on the beach with our Blue Sand-provided umbrellas and beach chairs - a great service since none of the beaches have organized sunbeds and umbrellas.

We were a family of four, traveling with 2 children (8 and 10). Unfortunately, the largest room they have is a triple, so they put an extra bed in it, and we could barely move around in our room. There also wasn't enough space for all four of us to unpack our suitcases. I don't think the size of the rooms are as well suited to families as they could be. One bigger room would be really nice for them to add. We were traveling with a family of 3 (one child) and their triple room was the perfect size for them.

The shower has great water flow and pressure, we loved it! Also, we spent lots of time on the balcony enjoying the view with great wine from the hotel bar. They just had their wireless internet installed when we arrived, so that was very useful as well.

The restaurant just above the Blue Sand called Pasithea is delicious! I had the most amazing grilled octopus there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittenfish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A hotel on the top of the best beach of Folegandros (Agkali), brand new, elegant, combining minimal style with cosy atmosphere, makes you wanna extend your stay there!
Τhe owners of the hotel make your stay ideal,as you feel like you are staying at a friend's house rather than in a hotel!
Dont miss everyday cruises from Agkali to isolated beaches as Agios Nikolaos and Livadaki and Stavro's perfect coctails during sunset!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SampaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The hotel is new and the family that owns and runs it consists of four brothers and sisters with great drive and enthusiasm. I stayed in a superior double room on the upper floor which had a fantastic view of the Angali bay. It was pure heaven, especially after the crowds left in the evening and early in the morning. To be able to wake up to THIS king of beauty and serenity and sleep with the sound of the waves literally under your pillow, is a luxury not often met.
The breakfast was plenty, it consisted of croissant with bread and jam, ham and cheese toast and fresh fruit salad with greek yoghurt.
The beds were very comfortable with double pillows and nice Korres bath products. What made our stay, however, trully unforgettable were the moments that we spent sitting in the veranda late at night , gazing at zillions of stars and drinking chilled white wine. Pure bliss!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpiente_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The hotel was recommended by a friend of mine. I had visited Folegandros in 2001 and I was fascinated by the island. Needless to say, it was only when I saw the photos from the hotel's website that I decided to make a reservation. I stayed in the hotel for more than one week and I must say that I really enjoyed it. The hotel has a breathtaking view of Agali bay which, by the way, is 1 minute walk away. The rooms are very cosy and neat. Room service was also fine.The family who owns it is very helpful and friendly with the clients.Margarita and Katerina are very elegant and were always doing their best to make sure that everything is ok. Thumbs up for Blue Sand....a hotel that Folegandros must be proud of...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folegandros
3.2 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
346 reviews
3.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
21.9 mi away
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
#1 of 1 in Paleochori
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Chora
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites

Address: Agali Bay, 840 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Price Range: $123 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing