We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with the best views to the Aegean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was looking forward to my stay in Blue Sand Hotel, as I knew where it is situated and was sure that it would be lovely. Indeed, the hotel is a true gem, with just a few room so it has the atmosphere of a boutique hotel. Amazing design which takes the traditional architecture of the Aegean islands a step further, with really modern, minimal touches. Impeccably decorated in every aspect. Our room was not huge but spacey all the same, with most furniture built into it (such as the bed and small couch). The bathroom was modern and clean with Korres amenities which are my favorite. The small terrace had an amazing view, as is the case for all rooms really.
The breakfast / cafe area is lovely, with the best views. The greatest place to relax in the late afternoon, home some coffee and enjoy the sunset. Whatever we tried was delicious (best coffee on the island, fresh fruit salad, great snack menu - we tried the chicken fajitas which was unexpectedly tasty). Breakfast was not buffet, but fresh and tasty all the same.
The hotel is situated overlooking the island's most known and accesible beach, Agkali, which has nearby cafes and restaurants unlike most beaches which offer no facilities at all. The sea is beautiful with crystal clear water. And all that within a minute's walk down the steps from the hotel. Towels, umbrellas and chairs were available for hotel guests.
But perharps the nicest touch was personalized service by the owners, Katerina and Nikos, as well as Stavros at the bar. They were all very friendly and welcomed us warmly. Apart from the free transport to and from the port, Nikos was always available to drive us wherever we wanted (at a cost), which was a real plus as we didn't have a car with us.
Overall I thought the hotel offers great value for money for a trully special stay and I look forward to staying there on my next visit! Could not recommend it more strongly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FannyV_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Sand Hotel.

The positives:
- Lovely family. I had quite severe sea sickness from the ferry from Santorini and was really worried about the ferry to Athens so Katerina gave me tablets prior to my departure.
- Free transfers from port to hotel
- Probably the best breakfast I have had in a hotel. It's not a buffet but breakfast consisting of fresh breads, eggs, yoghurt and fruit salad prepared to order.
- Quiet, clean and large rooms
- Small boutique hotel so very tranquil
- Overlooking small quiet beach with umbrellas and chairs provided by hotel

Please be aware that Folegandros is a really small island with an extremely small town. If you are after night clubs and fancy restaurants best not to visit this island. However if you are after a nice relaxing break (perhaps following visiting other busier islands) than I would recommend staying on the beach at Blue Sand Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really helpful hosts and great hotel. Amazing location and views. Unforgettable breakfast. Agiali is the ebst beach of the island and so close to the hotel. I believe we made the best decision staying there. Thank you Katerina

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Blue Sand Folegandros for two days, and it was, by far, the best decision ever. The hotel staff were very attentive and polite, providing a very good service. Katerina was very nice and helpful, always keen to respond to our queries and happy to assist us in any way we need. The hotel itself is amazing. Located in an idyllic place, quiet and beautiful spot it has been very nicely done. Do not be fooled by its 3 stars rating, this is based upon the fact that they do not have a pool, but who needs that when the beach is just downstairs and other beaches are within waling distance?
I agree entirely with recent comments made here. Superb breakfast (the best one we had in our week of Greek holidays).
I cannot recommend this hotel and their staff highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The view of hotel is breath taking, especially at the big balcony where breakfast is served. The breakfast is probably the best breakfast we ever had! Fresh fruit salad, sandwiches, variety of breads, honey and several flavours of marmalades along with coffee and fresh milk.

Blue sand hotel is very close to the best beach of the island, Agiali. The hotel offers free of charge, umbrellas and small chairs to use on the beach. However you have to wake up early because the beach is crowded after 11am.

The minimal design of the hotel and the rooms is very nice and stylish. The stuff of the hotel is very helpful and polite. Blue San Hotel is our top choice for Folegandros.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gxenakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The manager is Katerina and can contacted on info@bluesand.gr We paid Euro150 per night for two of us including a really lovely breakfast, and we definately had the best room in the house (room 106). Katerina's brothers work with her, and they are a really great team and drove us everywhere at anytime!

Blue Sand was the highlight of my three weeks in the Greek islands - it was just so relaxing, and the staff couldnt have been nicer. Andrew, my partner, was sick at one stage, and they called the doctor and arranged an appointment and too us there, at no cost. really , we couldnt have been better looked after. Katerina was also in contact with the fishermen each day, and could tell us what fish/seafood was good that night and where we should go to have it. Who could ask for more?!!

Room Tip: We had Room 106 which was on the top level on the corner - I think they gave us the prime room. But...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was the first time in Folegandros with my girlfriend and the Blue Sand Hotel was a great surpise. We have been there for one week by the end of June/beginning of July, and the pitoresc Chora was already well crowded. The small Hotel (max 10 rooms) is well positioned - Agali Bay - 10 minutes away from Chora with the scooter, in a very beautiful natural context. The Hotel is modern and the staff - the entrepreneur and interiors designer Caterina and her funny brothers - always present and kind. The breakfast is delecious and abundant with a great view over the bay. The prices may be a bit high, but the location is fantastic and the service is very good, so well worth for money. There is no swimming pool, and its a good place for couples and families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folegandros hotels
3.2 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
339 reviews
3.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 8 in Folegandros
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Aeolos Beach Hotel
#8 of 8 in Folegandros
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aspalathras White Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites

Address: Agali Bay, 840 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Folegandros
Price Range: $142 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Sand Boutique Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing