We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Folegandros
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The view of hotel is breath taking, especially at the big balcony where breakfast is served. The breakfast is probably the best breakfast we ever had! Fresh fruit salad, sandwiches, variety of breads, honey and several flavours of marmalades along with coffee and fresh milk.

Blue sand hotel is very close to the best beach of the island, Agiali. The hotel offers free of charge, umbrellas and small chairs to use on the beach. However you have to wake up early because the beach is crowded after 11am.

The minimal design of the hotel and the rooms is very nice and stylish. The stuff of the hotel is very helpful and polite. Blue San Hotel is our top choice for Folegandros.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gxenakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
146
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The manager is Katerina and can contacted on info@bluesand.gr We paid Euro150 per night for two of us including a really lovely breakfast, and we definately had the best room in the house (room 106). Katerina's brothers work with her, and they are a really great team and drove us everywhere at anytime!

Blue Sand was the highlight of my three weeks in the Greek islands - it was just so relaxing, and the staff couldnt have been nicer. Andrew, my partner, was sick at one stage, and they called the doctor and arranged an appointment and too us there, at no cost. really , we couldnt have been better looked after. Katerina was also in contact with the fishermen each day, and could tell us what fish/seafood was good that night and where we should go to have it. Who could ask for more?!!

Room Tip: We had Room 106 which was on the top level on the corner - I think they gave us the prime room. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was the first time in Folegandros with my girlfriend and the Blue Sand Hotel was a great surpise. We have been there for one week by the end of June/beginning of July, and the pitoresc Chora was already well crowded. The small Hotel (max 10 rooms) is well positioned - Agali Bay - 10 minutes away from Chora with the scooter, in a very beautiful natural context. The Hotel is modern and the staff - the entrepreneur and interiors designer Caterina and her funny brothers - always present and kind. The breakfast is delecious and abundant with a great view over the bay. The prices may be a bit high, but the location is fantastic and the service is very good, so well worth for money. There is no swimming pool, and its a good place for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

In my opinion is one of the best hotels in Folegandros with unique view- sea and sand!
The owners are very friendly and the environment is nicely decorated.
It is very clean and quiet.
Be there! It's the best value of money!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We choose to spend our vacation at Folegandros and we found Blue Sand hotel to be the most suitable. The hotel hasn't disappointed us even once. From the moment of arrival up to the moment of departure the service towards the guests is very good! You get the feeling that you have been embraced in a family business (which it is) and you are treated as such. They do everything for your comfort and ease. Think of things like giving away umbrellas towels and seats for the beach, pendle service to the main town (for a fee) or even picking up your umbrella and seats when you aren't able to pick it up yourself.
Another good aspect of this hotel is the quality of consumtpions. However not a wide selection of food and deserts, rest assured that whatever snack or desert you decide to have, it will taste fantastic. As if every meal has been preparated with all the needed attention. The desert is good, although not very broad in variation you still will enjoy the various breads and yoghurt salads and will be left wanting for more! Special attention goes to Stavros the barman, who makes the best coffees and cocktails of all the Cyclades!
The rooms included air conditioning and a mini bar always filled with the usual drinks. Always clean and with a very nice interior decorating. You really get the feeling of living the good life near the beach. Of course the sound of the waves hitting the surf doesnt hurt either.
If you are looking for a vacation to relax and stay all day at the beach just to come back and enjoy your hotel view later, this is the right place. The price may seem a bit on the high side at first glance, but coming back to your room and enjoying evenings at the terrace taking in the view is more than worth it.
The only downside we have found was that the bar closes at an early hour, mostly around 22:30. They explained us that this was due to the fact that some rooms are adjacent to the bar and may feel bothered by the sound of talking people and such. We however didn't get the feeling that the nights were so crowded to cause any annoyance.
Our conclusion is that we will definitely see Blue Sand again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Katerina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Blue sand is the only hotel that reality is FAR ABOVE from what you see in its website!We first stayed there two years ago for our honeymoon and we were in love with the place so we decided to visit again this June(with our 14 months daughter).Folegandros itself is a beautiful island but I am certain that Blue Sand hotel made us appreciate much more this beauty! The hotel overlooks Agali bay(the nicest beach in Folegandros) and the view is really spectacular..All rooms are decorated in minimal Cycladic style by Katerina,all clean, and honestly I dont agree with some reviews I have read about the ground floor rooms,as we have stayed in both, first and ground floor rooms, because hotel itself is so peaceful and quiet so we didnt feel disturbed at all.Breakfast is delicious(eggs.toasts,home made jam,croissants,fruit salads) and is served in an amazing patio which gazes Aegean ocean..Our baby girl slept each night by the sweet sound of the sea while we were drinking super coctails made by Stavros.
Last but not least we would like to thank Katerina,Nikos and Stavros(family owners) who made our staying even more memorable.They are very kind,willing to help us with everything and we consider them friends of ours!!!!!!!!!See you again next year guys!!!!!!!!!!
BLUE SAND FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raniakour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel itself here is beautiful, very modern and sleek with a great location on angali beach. The location is key for getting great beach spots in the morning before the first bus arrives from the chora. The breakfast was also very nice, well done continental breakfast with breads, pastries, boiled eggs (other reports say eggs will be done anyway you like, although we were not given this option), fruit salad and yogurt. The negatives of this place were the apparent lack of wifi. Between both of our devices we could barely get a signal in the room ever, and even when we moved down to the office, it was hit or miss. This became increasingly frustrating, as to send a photo to someone over email turned into a one hour commitment waiting to get enough signal to upload and send. Also, the biggest issue for us was the bugs. Amazingly no one has commented on this here yet. On our first night we killed about 30 of these small beatle/tick looking bugs that flew around the room, some even flying into our bed. They appeared to be poisoned or something and many died, but they were crawling in under the door, and so for the second two nights we jammed the complimentary robes they provided us under the door to prevent them from getting in. This worked for the most part, but I still ended up finding one of the bugs in my luggage on the last day. While we can appreciate that this is not necessarily under the hotels control as the bugs were everywhere outside, I think it is something that should be considered before you book here as some people have massive issues with bugs and would be really upset at this. That aside, it was a really nice hotel and we had a good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orshatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folegandros hotels
3.2 mi away
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
Vrahos Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel
Anemi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karavostasis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#5 of 7 in Folegandros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Polikandia Hotel
Polikandia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Provalma Studios
Provalma Studios
#3 of 34 in Folegandros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#6 of 7 in Folegandros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sand Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sand Hotel & Suites

Property: Blue Sand Hotel & Suites
Address: Agali Bay, 840 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Folegandros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sand Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sand Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing