We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel right on the sea front”
Review of Artemis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artemis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antiparos
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel right on the sea front”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Having read some of the reviews on this website I started to become a little concerned that booking the Artemis may have been a mistake. How wrong could I have been. The hotel is clean and airy, rooms reasonable (typically Greek in a good way), beds hard but comfortable, air con, TV with greek chanels that show American shows in English and BBC World news, kettle, 2 cups, 2 glasses and a fridge and..... the most spectacular view of AntiParos harbour from the little balcony in the room!! We didnt take breakfast here but enjoyed our self prepared morning coffees on the room balcony overlooking the harbour. They have a good collection of books for beach reading in the reception area and a free Internt corner which is a nice touch as I never take electronic gadgets with me on holiday. Staff were helpful and friendly. There is nice rooftop terrace that you could lay out on (beds provided), but lack of a pool makes this quite hot. In any case who needs this when there are perfectly good beaches within walking distance near by.

We had a good breakfast in one of the little cafes up the hill in the old town - Papagollas? (5 minutes walk away). Freshly sqeezed orange, excellent coffee, Spinach omelette - yummy. About 25 Euros for 2 people. Perfect. Note - avoid omelettes in the Cafes along the front as they make them like pizzas - round, flat and dry.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is a must. The hotel is also in a quiet location despite being sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheWearyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
66
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of island hopping trip. Having read mixed reviews we were unsure what to expect. We arrived early and were not able to check in immediately but were offered drinks and cookies.Location is great and public areas of the hotel were lovely. The room itself was a little older looking but was clean and had all we needed. A bonus was the free wi fi in public areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crosby10145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was my third visit with friends.On arrival we were welcomed with a drink and homemade Greek sweetmeats by Eleni the owner and her daughter Olympia,who run the hotel with Artemios her son..The roof terrace was great for lounging/sunbathing/eating snacks.The triple studio contained a double bed and 2 singles and was air-coditioned.There is a beach by the hotel where the sea is shallow but Sunset Beach a short walk away is great for swimming.Antiparos contains excellent value for money restaurants including the Argo very close to the Artemis.The hotel is well located being a short walk from the ferry. look forward to my next stay at the Artemis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank southcoastexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We wanted to got to Antiparos and were recommended to stay at the Artemis Hotel. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't so sure but after staying there I can honestly say it was the best part of the trip. Booking was easy, the hotel was beautiful and Olympia and her mother who run it were very helpful.

We stayed in room 1 which had a lovely balcony area overlooking the bay, the room was very clean and they have clearly upgraded the seating area because it looked much better than the photos. There was a fridge in the room which was handy along with a kettle and cups. We asked to borrow some knives and plates and they supplied it immediately. We would highly recommed this hotel to stay in. As for Antiparos itself it was a little too quite for us and after 4 nights we moved onto Naxos.

Room Tip: Toom 1, Room2, have llargeground floor balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LJHWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel.
It is clean, quiet, and well positioned, as others have remarked.
But it also has some downsides.
We booked (and paid for) a sea-view double in good time through a reputable British travel company, but on arrival seemed not to be expected. Worse, we were shown to a side street-view room, and told that all the front sea-view rooms were reserved for returning customers. Production of our voucher with 'sea view room' stated boldly on it made no difference. Perhaps there had been a genuine misunderstanding, but the hotel management's stance was hardly gracious, and no apology was offered. Indeed, we were made to feel that it was us who were being unreasonable.
That hardly got us off on the right foot.
And though our street-view room wasn't the pits, it wasn't great either. The furniture was dowdy, the TV set the cheapest possible. The shower head was incompatible with its wall fixture, meaning it had to be hand-held, while the shower curtain didn't fit, meaning it was difficult to take a shower without flooding the bathroom.
As the the other facilities in the hotel, they are pretty basic. The advertised internet corner turned out to be a tiny PC which didnt work. The breakfast was OK - four slices of bread, jam, and a boiled egg plus cheap orange juice and decent coffee - though it was the same every day. The ladies who served breakfast were really nice, but the management seemed very distant. Fairly typically, when our rep sent the hotel a fax on our penultimate day outlining our embarkation details, we were never given it.
So we can't recommend this hotel at all, and there is certainly better in the same price bracket on the island.
It is worth adding that AntiParos itself is fabulous - great beaches and food, and not too commercialised.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Spursman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

As far as the Artemis hotel is concerned....We liked:

1) The owner and staff who were friendly and efficient.
2) The attractive gardens and public areas.
3) The setting for breakfast - a lovely view out across the harbour.
4) The owner's home made cakes - delicious!
5) The comfortable, clean and well serviced room.
6) The location. Peaceful and quiet but close to restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches.

As far as the island as a whole is concerned...

1) We liked the cave - well worth a visit.
2) It was nice being on a small unspoilt island but it was a bit more commercial than we expected with expensive boutique style clothes shops but there weren't the usual tacky souvenir stalls/shops.
3) We ate well in the restaurants but they were not quite as good as the restaurants on some of the other islands.
4) We hired a quad bike to get about which was ideal and good fun. We had to name the price. I offered 10 Euros a day which they quickly agreed to!
5) Our favourite spot for lunch was overlooking the waterfront in the south of the island at captain Billy's - Lovely setting.
7) Beaches are pretty good. Small and uncrowned but none of the golden fine sand you find on Naxos.
8) We had a major problem with mosquitoes. They bite 24 hours a day and caused larger than average swellings. The usual precautions (electric zappers and creams didn't seem that effective). We have been to several other Greek islands and further afield but have never suffered so much from mosquitoes.
9) In summary the island is quiet, small and undeveloped. It would have been a great experience without the mozzies!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SussexSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We booked the hotel after the pictures we saw from the INternet and the price for a double room 70 euros was very attractive for a 7 day stay. The location is very good since the city and all eating places of antiparos are a ten minuet walk distance. The room was also quite spacious and the hotel had a wonderful garden in the front. There is were the good things stop. By the time we arrived a horrible smell coming form the grains welcomed us which forced us to always have all windows shut to avoid the smell coming into the room. The twin beds were extremely uncomfortable giving me a neck problem for the days of our stay. The coacroaches were parading outside the terrace and i believe by luck we didn't find any into the room.
They never changed our bedsheets or towels through our 7 day stay and although we asked for and reassured us that they would change them nothing happened.!!!!
This makes me think, how hard can it be to clean a small hotel clean to welcome tourists for 3 months a year and make them want to come back instead of having the paradise of insects and dirt? Being greek doesn't make me proud at all at the moment!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antiparos
0.0 mi away
Kouros Village
Kouros Village
#1 of 6 in Antiparos
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantalena Hotel
Mantalena Hotel
#1 of 1 in Antiparos Town
50 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oliaros seaside lodge
Oliaros seaside lodge
#1 of 1 in Agios Georgios
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nicolas Studios
Nicolas Studios
#6 of 6 in Antiparos
8 reviews
2.9 mi away
Minois Village Hotel Suites & Spa
2.2 mi away
Ktima Zantidi
Ktima Zantidi
#1 of 6 in Antiparos Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel

Property: Artemis Hotel
Address: Chora | Antiparos Town, 840 07, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Antiparos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antiparos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artemis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Artemis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Hotel Antiparos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing