We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed in”
Review of Artemis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artemis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Antiparos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We wanted to got to Antiparos and were recommended to stay at the Artemis Hotel. After reading some of the reviews I wasn't so sure but after staying there I can honestly say it was the best part of the trip. Booking was easy, the hotel was beautiful and Olympia and her mother who run it were very helpful.

We stayed in room 1 which had a lovely balcony area overlooking the bay, the room was very clean and they have clearly upgraded the seating area because it looked much better than the photos. There was a fridge in the room which was handy along with a kettle and cups. We asked to borrow some knives and plates and they supplied it immediately. We would highly recommed this hotel to stay in. As for Antiparos itself it was a little too quite for us and after 4 nights we moved onto Naxos.

Room Tip: Toom 1, Room2, have llargeground floor balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LJHWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel.
It is clean, quiet, and well positioned, as others have remarked.
But it also has some downsides.
We booked (and paid for) a sea-view double in good time through a reputable British travel company, but on arrival seemed not to be expected. Worse, we were shown to a side street-view room, and told that all the front sea-view rooms were reserved for returning customers. Production of our voucher with 'sea view room' stated boldly on it made no difference. Perhaps there had been a genuine misunderstanding, but the hotel management's stance was hardly gracious, and no apology was offered. Indeed, we were made to feel that it was us who were being unreasonable.
That hardly got us off on the right foot.
And though our street-view room wasn't the pits, it wasn't great either. The furniture was dowdy, the TV set the cheapest possible. The shower head was incompatible with its wall fixture, meaning it had to be hand-held, while the shower curtain didn't fit, meaning it was difficult to take a shower without flooding the bathroom.
As the the other facilities in the hotel, they are pretty basic. The advertised internet corner turned out to be a tiny PC which didnt work. The breakfast was OK - four slices of bread, jam, and a boiled egg plus cheap orange juice and decent coffee - though it was the same every day. The ladies who served breakfast were really nice, but the management seemed very distant. Fairly typically, when our rep sent the hotel a fax on our penultimate day outlining our embarkation details, we were never given it.
So we can't recommend this hotel at all, and there is certainly better in the same price bracket on the island.
It is worth adding that AntiParos itself is fabulous - great beaches and food, and not too commercialised.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Spursman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

As far as the Artemis hotel is concerned....We liked:

1) The owner and staff who were friendly and efficient.
2) The attractive gardens and public areas.
3) The setting for breakfast - a lovely view out across the harbour.
4) The owner's home made cakes - delicious!
5) The comfortable, clean and well serviced room.
6) The location. Peaceful and quiet but close to restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches.

As far as the island as a whole is concerned...

1) We liked the cave - well worth a visit.
2) It was nice being on a small unspoilt island but it was a bit more commercial than we expected with expensive boutique style clothes shops but there weren't the usual tacky souvenir stalls/shops.
3) We ate well in the restaurants but they were not quite as good as the restaurants on some of the other islands.
4) We hired a quad bike to get about which was ideal and good fun. We had to name the price. I offered 10 Euros a day which they quickly agreed to!
5) Our favourite spot for lunch was overlooking the waterfront in the south of the island at captain Billy's - Lovely setting.
7) Beaches are pretty good. Small and uncrowned but none of the golden fine sand you find on Naxos.
8) We had a major problem with mosquitoes. They bite 24 hours a day and caused larger than average swellings. The usual precautions (electric zappers and creams didn't seem that effective). We have been to several other Greek islands and further afield but have never suffered so much from mosquitoes.
9) In summary the island is quiet, small and undeveloped. It would have been a great experience without the mozzies!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SussexSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We booked the hotel after the pictures we saw from the INternet and the price for a double room 70 euros was very attractive for a 7 day stay. The location is very good since the city and all eating places of antiparos are a ten minuet walk distance. The room was also quite spacious and the hotel had a wonderful garden in the front. There is were the good things stop. By the time we arrived a horrible smell coming form the grains welcomed us which forced us to always have all windows shut to avoid the smell coming into the room. The twin beds were extremely uncomfortable giving me a neck problem for the days of our stay. The coacroaches were parading outside the terrace and i believe by luck we didn't find any into the room.
They never changed our bedsheets or towels through our 7 day stay and although we asked for and reassured us that they would change them nothing happened.!!!!
This makes me think, how hard can it be to clean a small hotel clean to welcome tourists for 3 months a year and make them want to come back instead of having the paradise of insects and dirt? Being greek doesn't make me proud at all at the moment!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

This is a fab hotel. The location could not be better. The accomodation is basic but for the money we were paying it was absolutely perfect, it has all the facilities that you need for a comfortable stay and was spotlessly clean. We found the staff to be very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

During a 2 week island hopping experience, this was the least favorite (though also the cheapest) of the 5 hotels we stayed in. From the exterior, the hotel looks fine, and the reception is lovely, as is the outside space (gorgeous views over the harbour, and a lovely terrace / garden for breakfast). Sadly, though, our room was a little shabby, with the plug socket hanging out of the wall, and also a bit grubby, with dirty glasses / fridge and a really awful toilet (even allowing for Greek plumbing).

Staff had very limited English and weren't particularly friendly - check-in comprised giving us the key and pointing at the relevant door from reception.

Location is good - really near the ferries and the main street, and this, combined with the outside space, redeemed the Artemis for us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I am one of the handred repeater customers of artemis hotel in antiparos.I am room number 8 as the family that runs the hotel call me :-) The hotel has a beutifull view all over the harbor of antiparos.And what i really like about artemis is that i feel like i am in my home.The hotel is spotless and thats what make the hotel number one on the island the friendly atmosphere, the view to the sea, and the architecture.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank taxidiotis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antiparos
0.0 mi away
Kouros Village
Kouros Village
#2 of 6 in Antiparos
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nicolas Studios
Nicolas Studios
#6 of 6 in Antiparos
10 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oliaros seaside lodge
Oliaros seaside lodge
#1 of 1 in Agios Georgios
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantalena Hotel
Mantalena Hotel
#1 of 1 in Antiparos Town
62 reviews
4.3 mi away
Afrodite Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Parosland Hotel
Parosland Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aliki
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Hotel

Address: Chora | Antiparos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Antiparos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Antiparos
Price Range: $62 - $1,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artemis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Artemis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Hotel Antiparos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing