We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room”
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amorgos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Filoxenia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
kim1961
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely room”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lovely place perfect views over the sea and harbour. 5 minute walk in to town with the best sunset's our room was very big and clean with. we stayed for 5 nights and had sheets and towels change once which is enough for 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Perfectly located-all rooms have views of sea, harbour & bay, but quiet because its set to one side of the resort. 1 min walk to port & restaurants/cafes, 2 mins to bus stop, 5 mins to beach. Good quality produce breakfast, rooms cleaned very well every day. Only negative would be that I'd have liked more than 1 sheet/towel change in 7 days. Regarding previous reviews, I don't think its reasonable to expect a reception in a10 room hotel - the lady is always around for information during breakfast time (8-11)& the man was there every day around 10, plus a few times in the day. Also, in the room there were 2 telephone numbers to contact them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerakban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is in a prime position overlooking the harbour. Rooms clean and comfortable with a sea view. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Aircon efficient and quiet. Breakfast good and tasty with the additional choice of yogurt or cake. Wonderful sunsets from balcony. Just a few minutes to the harbour with choice of bars and tavernas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the end of May 2012. We enjoyed it so much we have decided to return this year. Galina & Nikitas are very welcoming. The island was quiet and the hotel's Sunset bar was closed. We were happy to prepare our own breakfast & eat it on our balcony - with the best view in Amorgos! The sunsets are memorable. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MemberBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here three nights and loved it especially the view.The room was spacious and comfortable with its own balcony that looked out over the port.
It was close to everything including the port. The only thing that spoilt our stay was when a group of noisy inconsiderate Germans arrived at 2am and woke us up and they just wouldn't shut up. Other than them, the hotel was very quiet. After our 3 day stay, Niketas, the owner was so helpful, he went out of his way and drove us to Katapola because there was no buses running in May.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrangipanniBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great place, the owners were friendly but the views of the sunset outweighed every little niggle you might find.
Even early mornings were a delight watching the fishermen and ferries going about their business.
Close enough to the hub of the village for a nice stroll but without disturbances.
We booked last minute and moved rooms for a last night to catch the ferry, the new room was identical and well kept with equally stunning views.
If driving we recommend backing in to the driveway for an easier exit.
Encountered a herd of wondering goats who seemed to share our positive views of thos accommodation albeit from the other side of the fence.
Great place, amazing views, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zing74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

If you want a friendly welcome, a wonderful view and a willing pick up from ferries at both ends of this magnificent island then go to Filoxenia. The rooms are good too not to mention the superb marble staircase!
Sue Blackburn

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
0.5 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#3 of 41 in Amorgos
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Property: Filoxenia Hotel
Address: | Ormos Aegialis, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing