We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely friendly hotel in a good location”
Review of Yperia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yperia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 41 Amorgos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Aegiali is just a small town and the hotel is set on the hill a hundred yards or so from the sea front. Our room was absolutely lovely - quite spacious with high ceilings, white walls and traditional dark furniture. Simple, airy, and so elegant. We had a large balcony with a view of the jetty, endlessly fascinating seeing the comings and goings, also the view of the gardens below us, so many vegetables in beautifully straight rows. The bathroom was perfectly adequate altho an update could provide some shelf space perhaps.
Best of all were the lovely staff - our room and the hotel were kept immaculately clean and the room-maid was such a sweet, hard-working girl. The breakfast was served by two very nice ladies and the fresh orange juice and good coffee would put many more expensive hotels to shame.
We had a lovely week on Amorgos and altho one would not come to the island for the beaches the walking is wonderful, the people are lovely, the restaurants brilliant, and this hotel alone would tempt us back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent in Yperia hotel 4 nights. Our overall rating would be somewhere between poor and average for the price/value factor. You can easily get for less money than we paid good quality studios in very close neighbourhood.
The room was quite clean (cleaned everyday, towels exchanged almost everyday). What I found very bizzare was the shower cabin in our bathroom which was very tiny plastic cabin, like made for spaceships, it was very inconvenient for me being toll man taking shower there. The other bizzare thing was the toilet seat hanging on extremely high level, which was very uncomfortable when using it.
WIFI connection was not operational in our room (checked on 2 different iPad's and iphone). We were able to get a signal close to the swimming pool, although when we finally get connected the connection was very, very slow.

Regarding the swimming pool - be prepare for salt water (from the sea?), it is not fresh water inside, which seems to be the next "saving" made on guests. Right now, just a day after we left yperia I am sitting in in Agios Prokopios in Naxos next to the swimming pool with fresh, clean water, where we get much better studios for less money with decent breakfast.

And one more thing - if You like to have good decent breakfast don't count on it in Yperia. Te choice of food is very limited and you will get each day exactly the same food, so having the breakfast for more than 2 days is very monotonous. Although I have to admit: they have very good fresh bread and very good fresh orange juice. What I missed in the breakfast was some sort of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, or maybe even simple vegetables like tomatoes or cucumbers.

I think the owners are looking only for the guests that will come and spend lots of money at the overpriced pool bar.
They might say, I am too nicety, but because of my work I travel a lot, spending a lot of my time in different hotels plus I also travelled many other places in Greek islands and I can say one thing: the yperia hotel is nothing more than a studios te place trying very hard to be treated as the hotel, but it's not. If it would be a hotel, then at least the retion would be operational whole day. The otherroblem was with payment-when I wanted to pay by credit card, as I was informed by the owner: there was some system problem and they couldn't accept my credit card payment, fortunately I had enough of cash with me-so be prepared for such a surprises as well if You want to go for "yperia adventure".

In overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends and I am 100% sure I would not come back there especially if in whole island you can find plenty of very nice, clean, spacious and very well equipped studios offering better value for lower prices.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yperiahotel, Owner at Yperia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for the “objective” review.


We have noticed the small shower cabins in 7 of our rooms and we are in process of changing them but it is not a big problem at the moment for our current customers because they can enjoy the jacuzzi function they have. Anyway we didn't make them small because we are trying to save.
Everybody can see when enters our rooms that the hand made furnitures the hand made iron beds in island style or our bed mattresses with the quality bed seats and coverings, that we are focused on creating a home environment for our customers, without caring for the cost but for the result.


About the Wifi, it is slow because in Amorgos we cannot get a higher Internet speed at the moment. Yperia has the biggest. Unfortunately it goes until 2000mps.

We just don't understand the problem of having sea water in the pool. We and our guests find it better then fresh (not salted) water.
Just for your information salted water cost more because it damages the machine of cleaning faster but it is something that we want to offer to our customers, furthermore, using sea water we are protecting the environment.

Our breakfast offers fresh orange juice, Amorgos honey, real Yogurt (not like yogurt type), cereals, nutella, homemade Jam, any type of coffee, home made cake, toast, eggs cooked in any way you wish ( scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, omelet, - you just have to ask for it, like our other guests do)


Now about the credit card problem we ask sorry from part of the bank for being down the system that day and your payment could not proceed.

If I remember well we have offered you an alternative way of payment that day that you didn't accept. Instead you left angry because we have explained to in a very polite way that we don't make discounts and that we want all costumers to have the same pricing policy.

I think this is a fair thing to do after all. Don't you think?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just returned from a 7-nights-stay in this hotel and am fully satisfied. My room had much space and contained very aesthetic hand-made furnitures. In the morning I stepped on the balcony and had a perfect sea-view. The decor in the hotel such as paintings are all made with a great love to detail and create a warm and artistic athmosphere. The staff offered a very friendly service and was always reachable when I had questions such as where to find interesting parts of the island to visit. Especially I enjoyed the pool-bar a lot, which offered cocktails, soft drinks and coffee-specialities (I can recommend the capuccino freddo wich I drank every day). Two thumbs up for the Yperia hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2012 and really enjoyed it. The Hotel is clean, simply furnished with spacious rooms and friendly staff. We wanted a pool (although that's not absolutely neccesary as you are only a couple of minutes from the lovely beach) and we wanted to be in a quiet location but close enough to walk to the village centre with its handful of bars, tavernas and shops. Yperia ticked all the boxes. We had looked at the Hotel Aegialis which was more expensive (and had more facilities) but we were happy we chose Yperia which, for our needs, is in a far superior location. The breakfasts were good typical Greek affairs and when you have to move on to the next Island it's a two minute walk to the port so no worries about transfers or taxis. We sat by the pool until the ferry was about 50 yards away then we strolled down to meet it. We will definitely stay at Yperia again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here back in September with two children in one of the family rooms. The room itself was clean, comfortable, spacious and had a small balcony with a lovely view. My only complaint, and I am being picky, was that the small bathroom lacked a shower curtain and this tended to leave the bathroom quite sodden during peak use, however having said that the room was serviced every day. The Hotel complex included a swimming pool which the children liked and breakfast which was included in our costs was lovely and served by the pool every morning by the most delightful ladies. If we should ever return to Amorgos we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harbar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Yperia hotel is located in a quiet area close to the village centre: 200m to the port,restaurants and shops and 500m to the sandy beach (the best on Amorgos). The rooms are spacious and very clean, staff was extremely friendly and breakfast was delicious. Our room on the top floor opposite the swimming pool had a large terrace with late afternoon sunshine and a beautiful sunset every evening.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room opposite the swimming pool: large terrace, a lot of sunshine in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice Hotel, very good location near the harbour and the taverns of Aegiali. I want to emphasize the extreme friendly and warm staff that made our breakfast a very special experience. We got warm embraces from the two "breakfast ladies" and felt like family members.

The owner itself is friendly but more in a business manner especially compared to other greek hotel owners.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
1.2 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
690 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#3 of 13 in Katapola
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yperia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yperia Hotel

Address: Ormos Aegiali, 840 08, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Amorgos
Price Range: $62 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yperia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yperia Hotel has at its disposal large rooms with a fantastic view over the Aegean Sea and the port of Aegiali. The architecture of the building is inspired by the traditional Amorgian character of the ancient housing estates of the island. All the rooms are decorated with traditional hand made furniture and iron beds, which gives a unique feeling of elegance and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yperia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing