We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were so sad to be leaving”
Review of Karkisia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amorgos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karkisia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We absolutely loved Aegiali - one of the most wonderful places I've ever been to. The Karkisia is one of the best places in town I think. Literally a 2 min walk from the main area with a couple of little shops, small supermarket, tavernas and beach, but set back enough to be quiet and private. The view from the balcony was exceptional - over the harbour, beach and also looking out over the island of Nicouria. Truly magical. Aegiali is a charming little town with a few shops, some gorgeous tavernas literally right on the beach and a lovely little sandy beach with chrystal clear water. We also took a walk up and over the cliff to Levrossa beach which was about a 20 min easy walk (although you need sturdy shoes like trainers or hiking boots).
The room was lovely and clean with a little kitchenette. We found that we could hear a fair bit of moving around noise from the rooms nearby but then I'm very sensitive to noise - wasn't really a problem though and certainly a lot quieter than some other places that we stayed in on Greek islands. The lady who ran the hotel was lovely, and the only negative really was that she called us at midnight the day before we left to check when we were leaving and reminding us to pay (even though she had our passport and we had tried several times during the evening to do so but she was never there).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinglizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

We visited the beautiful Island of Amorgos in May, arriving by late ferry. The owner of the Karkisia (who also runs the bakery) was there to meet us in his van - unusual transport, but did the job. Although he didn't speak much English (but then I don't speak much Greek) this was not really a big problem.

The Karkisia is relatively new build, situated just back from the port with great views over the bay at Aegiali. It is nicely built, with a good arrangement of rooms that give a great sense of privacy on the balconies. Our room was spacious, very clean and well maintained - great value.
From the hotel, it is a short walk to either the beach or the various restaurants in Aegiali - also worth a trip to the bakery too.
You can get a bus to visit nearby villages (Langada, Tholaria) or to get to Chora or Katapola. Definitely worth walking too, then you can visit Potamos, which has great views over the bay and out towards the small island of Nikouria - try the lovely restuarant "Kamara".

During high season, the Karkisia has some nice looking scooters for hire, though you also hire a poorly maintained one (or a car) in the port itself. It is worth exploring the island of Amorgos, though small capacity bikes may struggle up the mountain roads.

In short, the Karkisia is highly recommended as a place to stay and enjoy the beautiful island of Amorgos

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathygitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I stayed in the Karkisia Hotel in Aegiali village in Amorgos Island and I highly recommend it. I went for peace and quiet and spent a lot of time enjoying the view from my balcony.
The room was very clean, comfortable, quiet and good value. There are great views of the harbour and beach from the 1st floor rooms. Rooms have air conditioning, a kitchenette and the beds were very comfortable (I’m not keen on very soft beds) with good quality sheets. Small details like bedside reading lights and a good shower in a spacious (approx 2m by 2m)bathroom really made the difference to me. There is a TV although its all Greek channels. The owners are helpful but quiet, the family run a nice bakery nearby.
Also it is a new building, built in a typically Cyclades style design with particularly nice little architectural touches.
The village is bustling but there are no nightclubs, nightlife is tavernas and adhoc gatherings. But there is great food around ans smaller little villages nearby within walking distance for a change of scene. Its is generally a gentle paced, low-key spot with all you would need to enjoy. You might need to rent transport as there is plenty in the island to visit if you want to sight see beyond Aegiali.

7  Thank louloubelleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank tempo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Bribri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alla rum verkar ha lika bra utsikt om de ligger på det övre planet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gunnar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diese95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amorgos hotels
8.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
307 reviews
0 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#4 of 41 in Amorgos
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karkisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkisia Hotel

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Amorgos
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Karkisia Hotel Amorgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing