We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manolis, a quite funny experience...”
Review of manolis

manolis
Ranked #155 of 345 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manolis, a quite funny experience...”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Manolis is a greek tavern located 2 km outside Rethymnon city centre along the board walk with a nice sea view. The food was ok but not special in any way. The waitress could have been much more polite and service minded. Manolis himself, a very special caracter, was the highlight of the evening visiting all the guests offering his own labeled Raki and Ouzo for free. I wonder how many shots he drinks during high season?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlJohan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    32
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
201 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Overall a nice excperience, but the service could improve”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A typical Greek tavern with quite a character of a host. The big hair, the big mustache, you can't miss him. He greets you and he takes farewell with you, but only after a Raki or two.

The food we had was well made, tasty and nice presented. Greek salad, fried feta, big fried shrimps, lamb shops and fruits for dessert. They use a wood-fired oven which gives that extra taste.

The service however was so and so. Since Manolis is busy talking to all the customers, taking orders and drinking Raki, he's got his hands full. And the other lady that was there this evening never bothered to visit our table. So when you need something, to have more water, old plates removed etc you had to wait for quite some time.

To sum it up - cozy interior, welcoming/special/original host, nice food, ok prices but not so good service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“The usual cafe with an unusual host.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family had dinner a few times in the tavern. First time we ordered a dish from the menu, but the second time the waiter offered us a "meze" of several dishes. The price of meze was much cheaper, and the amount of food was the same as the menu. What really liked the cafe waiters were talking in many languages ​​including Russian.
This tavern is known for its happy owner whose name is Manoli. He is always with guests and often gives free drinks - raki and ouzu.
Manoli has presented a T-shirt with his portrait to my youngest son. When the son went into the center of Rethymnon, many waiters approvingly slapped him.
In general, it is a cozy place with good food and reasonable prices. Its worth visiting to admire the work of Manoli.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KBH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Manolis is quite a character couldn't resist having lunch but it is expensive.”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We passed by Manolis place a few times and he was always greeting us so we decided to share a pizza and have a couple cocktails. THe pizza was good not great. The cocktails were expensive and not very good at all. My Margarita was tasteless and my wife's was ho hum. The best part of the meal was getting our picture with Manolis.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandelay_Industries7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entertainment value is high”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Absolut a nice experience. The service was perfect, and manoli him self was worth all the money :) The waiters where honest about the food. We asked about how some specific disches were and got an honest answer. The kids got a T-shirt with Manolis happy face on :) The prices were acceptable and the food was fine without beeing fantastic. Try it atleast once.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Onslow8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed manolis also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to manolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing