We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Castle-Like Rooms with the Most Modern Room Amenities in a Very Quaint Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning Castle-Like Rooms with the Most Modern Room Amenities in a Very Quaint Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were absolutely taken aback when we entered our room, as it looked like a beautiful room in a castle with the most modern amenities, including the most unique shower we had ever seen - it had bubble jets coming out of it from top to bottom. It was the nicest room we stayed in on our honeymoon around the Greek Islands.

We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of champagne and wonderful treats for our honeymoon. The staff was very nice and attentive. They had a wonderful little breakfast buffet that you got to eat out in their lovely courtyard garden.

Rethymnon was a very unique, quaint and historic place to stay, and we very much enjoyed it. There are wonderful restaurants, including the best seafood we have ever had at Mouragio Maria's, right in the little harbor area. However, the drive from the boat dock out there was quite long, and we might rethink staying closer to the main city next time. However, we were able to take a relatively reasonably priced bus tour out to the famous Knossos Palace and into the main city of Iraklion.

If you want to stay in a quaint, throwback town, then Rethymnon is definitely your place and the Casa Vitae Hotel is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    67
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
410
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is a beautiful 16th Century Venetian building that's been tastefully restored. We booked a standard room but were upgraded to the honeymoon suite! (Cupids on the bathroom ceiling). Big room, big comfortable bed, aircon....every comfort. Generous breakfast was served in the courtyard. Charming and helpful staff. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

It is such a beautifull and charming place.
Poppy, Elefteria, Athena, Angeliki and Ellen make all they can to make you feel good and happy!
I never forget my Crête's Hollidays neither their smiles.

Thank to you so much

Sylvie

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 28th August to 8th Sept 2010. We stayed in the 'Amaryllis' Junior suite. We would highly recommed this suite for couples as it has every you would ever need for a romantic getaway.

As for the overall hotel and staff, we could not fault any of them at all. The venetian hotel is picture perfect and looks as it is describesd on the hotel website. All the staff where highly professional and extremely polite and accomodating. the location of the hotel was also idea to get to all the hotspot of the Rethymno.

We will definately return to this hotel again.

To Eleftheria and all her staff..

Lots of loves from Salim and Milica

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Casa Vitae is a little gem hidden away in the backstreets of the old town of Rethymnon. I think this is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel and i really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the old town. It truly is a haven. Sitting in the beautiful garden having breakfast under a grapevine sure takes a lot of beating. The beautifully-furnished rooms are immaculately cleaned on a daily basis by Maria. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, and if there is anything you need to know, they really have all the answers. You can be sure of a warm and friendly welcome from Angeliki, Eliftheria, and the team who go out of their way to make sure your stay with them is full of wonderful memories. Definitely a must-stay location for discerning travelers who appreciate the best that Rethymnon has to offer. If you are thinking of getting married in Rethymnon, I would definitely recommend at least a two night stay in the Casa Vitae Bridal Suite. The hotel is within walking distance of the Chapel of St Lazarus and the garden is a wonderful place for all your wedding guests to assemble for pre-wedding drinks etc before your ceremony.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

My friend and I ended a week traveling Crete with a 2 night stay at Casa Vitae in Rethymnon. I used an expedia coupon to get a discount on our stay (expedia sends these regularly) and opted not for a suite but one of the standard rooms which are across the street. The only negative is that the shower is small. Aside from that we really enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast was very, the atmosphere was perfect and beautiful. The staff was super friendly. We encountered a lot of friendly hotel staff in Crete but rhe staff at Casa Vitae stand out, especially the helpful female who worked the day shift during our stay (July 23rd and 24th, 2010).

Our room was very nice and the location couldn't be better. Next time I am in Rethymnon, I won't even bother researching places to stay, I will stay at Casa Vite again. I will likely spring for a suite though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We had seen the photos on the hotel web site but the reality is far better. This hotel has style and character in abundance. So many other tourists stopped to take photos of our street and our hotel we began to feel proprietorial. A Greek neighbour some evenings sat on his balcony and played the bouzouki just for his own pleasure: it was magical. The staff treat you like loved family members. They really take pride in the hotel and in ensuring you enjoy your stay.Set in the heart of the charming Old Town you have a real opportunity to experience Cretan life style, not just Greek tourism. Dine at one of the local eateries and savour real home cooking while the chatter and backgammon goes on around you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandSarahDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing