We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel-nice people”
Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #4 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel-nice people”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I totally recommend Casa Vitae for holidays stay as it offers the best that a hotel can offer to its customers: politeness, food of good quality, cleanliness and good prices, hospitality and quietness.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    69
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
59
428
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a beautiful small hotel that my girlfriend and I stayed at for 1 week in early July. We had a superior room on the top floor which was very spacious and had a large Jacuzzi bath. The courtyard where we had a delicious breakfast every morning is very peaceful and picturesque and such a relaxing place to start each day.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of the old town and a few minutes walk to a number of shops, restaurants and bars. The harbour and beach are also very easily accessible on foot. Given it’s location, it can be a little tricky to find at first so I’d recommend making sure you have a good map of the town to help you locate it! If you have a car, the nearest car park is adjacent to the fort, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

And just a final comment to say that the staff in the hotel were absolutely lovely and so welcoming. If we go back to Crete we couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a really excellent stay at Casa Vitae Hotel: the location was wonderful and the staff was kind and very helpful. We definely can suggest this accommodation to those tourists who appreciate a boutique hotel in the city centre but in a quiet position.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weisserose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

wonderful experience at Casa Vitae, most welcoming staff, extremely pleasant surroundings and a great (unfortunately) one night. wld recommend this lovely hotel to anyone who cherishes being treated like a important guest with warmth and individual attention. the only handicap was trying to find one's way around by car in Rethymnon...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maite A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobele, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We very enjoyed staying in Casa Vitae. Very welcoming staff with excellent english. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful surroundings – in the center of Old town, near the sea, Citadel and Venetian harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This Hotel was recommended to me by my trip planner (Travelive).
We were dropped at the main square by our Taxi Driver (commercial cars cannot get into the streets as they are narrow) and we walked up to the Hotel, the street leading to the Hotel was full of bougainvillea of different colors and of course other colorful pretty flowers. We entered through the lush green Courtyard with a dining area at the back. Casa Vitae is this 8 suite villa in the midst of Old Town of Rethymnon. We had arrived quite early than the scheduled check in time (caught an early flight from Athens), nonetheless we were warmly welcomed by the ladies at Casa Vitae. We were served with warm breakfast - freshly squeezed orange juice, variety of breads, choice of eggs, cold cuts with feta cheese, freshly baked cake slices, fresh fruits, cereals and yougurt etc.
As our room got ready for checking in, at the reception we were given a map of Crete and the Town and the lovely lady gave us a brief of the places where we could go and the places where we could eat. The Old Town Market was walking distance and was full of life and color. The room was super comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was fitted with all the latest amenities, our's was the one with Jacuzzi (there is option for cabin shower as well). The name of our room was Narcissus. The ladies were super helpful and extremely warm. Loved my stay at Casa Vitae...!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyadeepsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was by far one of the most incredible parts of our entire trip to Greece! We kept reading amazing review after amazing review and knew right away Casa Vitae was going to be a special place. Upon arriving in Rethymnon, we were dropped off aside a charming alleyway by our driver (since no cars can enter through those narrow side streets). Upon first walking up to Casa Vitae's lush and fantastical courtyard garden, we immediately felt as if we entered some sort of magical place. Effie (and all the staff) gave us the warmest welcome ever, and were so incredibly pleasant that feeling pampered is a serious understatement. These ladies made us feel like royalty, truly.
Once we took a step into our room, however, my jaw literally dropped. It was beyond all my expectations; beyond any photo I saw online; beyond anything I thought I'd experience on this trip. It. Was. Gorgeous. Our stay was incredible from that moment on; from the yummy breakfasts out in the garden (which are included in your stay), to the warmest hospitality ever from Effie and the lovely ladies of Casa Vitae, to the unreal location of this 8-suite villa in the midst of Old Town. Everything is walking distance, yet the hotel is placed just off the main strip as to still maintain it's charm without the hustle and bustle of street noise.
To boot, the ladies packed us lunches for our day trip to Santorini and when we both got a little bit of the sniffles on our last two days, Effie brought us lemon, tea and honey to make us that much more comfortable. Casa Vitae helped make our trip to Crete truly unforgettable!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with one large bed (for couples), it's a good idea to specify t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
543 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
569 reviews
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing