We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed a week at the Casa Vitae. The hotel is an absolute gem, a lovely building tucked away in a quiet location in the Old Town yet steps away from all the tourist shops, the Fort and Harbour. There is free parking nearby and, importantly, many good restaurants (try Othonas). We had a large, very well appointed room with air con, a whirlpool bath, flat screen TV and a nice balcony with a table and chairs. The bed was very large and comfortable. The generous breakfast outside in the pretty courtyard is a great way to start the day. If you have a car, Rethymnon makes a great base to explore the south coast and the mountain villages and stunning scenery of the area. But above all, as many other reviews make clear, it is the team of girls who staff the hotel that make it an extra pleasant experience. They are always on hand to provide service or helpful advice - always with a smile. We travel a lot and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel highly.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the top floor reached by steps up from the courtyard that led onto our own pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    67
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
410
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at casa vitae for 5 nights and were very comfortable and well looked after. The girls running the place were so so helpful (even at one point doing our washing for us free of charge!). the attitude of the staff really topped off our stay as we felt genuinely welcomed and cared for.
The room itself was fine but could have done with a bin for general rubbish somewhere and we did find that after a shower, there was a mystery leak in the bathroom that left a large puddle on the floor all night.
apart from this however we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and would definitely go back. well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a delightful small "boutique" hotel in the Old town.Its a little gem and beautifully run by a team of girls who are extremely helpful.The courtyard where breakfast is served and snacks and drinks are available all day is lovely.Our room was excellently appointed and very comfortable.
All in all difficult to fault!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jashworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've recently returned from a 10 day break staying at this hotel and can only endorse what many people have written. The hotel is an absolute gem!
It's nicely situated in Rethymno old town and the staff are incredible, they are so helpful and welcoming. Rooms are of a very high standard and a nice breakfast to start the day.
We didn't realise that it's in the Sunday Times top 20 boutique hotels in Greece and it's easy to understand why.
Would we recommend and return? Absolutely!
One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeicestershireTull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just love this place. The setting is beautiful and the star both professional and friendly.they cannot do enough for you. In a lovely city, this place is wonderful. Rooms are beautifully executed, breakfasts fantastic and so convenient to the old city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryandRoger4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent some days at this small wonderful hotel in 2012, and came back this year for a whole week. This is the most cute, romantic little hotel in Rethymno, and to be frank parts of me do not want to talk about it, because then others will find out too! Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast and the most charming ladies running the place and working there. The hotel is located in the middle of the old town. Some walking to do to get to the beach (especially this year, since I had an injury in my foot and was walking with crutches), but we don't mind. Love everything about it, and hope to be able to come back for a few days next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were so pleased to be able to walk from the bus station and arrive arrive to our beautiful honeymoon suite. The staff was warm and welcoming and everything was beautiful. It was situated in the beautiful old part of town and the walk to restaurants was enjoyable through the old narrow streets. We have been thinking about returning ever sine we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing