We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Vitae Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$212
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pepi Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aquila Porto Rethymno(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bio Suites Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Leoniki Residence(Platanias)(Great Value!)
$41
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$262
$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$465
$352
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$862
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
539
74
13
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
74
13
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish pondold townour honeymoongenerous breakfastjacuzzi bathjunior suiteboutique hotelstone wallslovely courtyardfour poster bedspent nightsnarrow streetseach morningtop floorrooms are spaciousthe location is perfectquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 637 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently spent 1 week on Crete and at the Casa Vitae Boutique Hotel in Rethymnon. I arrived on the weekend of carnival just as it was getting dark, having a heck of a time finding parking but finally luck struck and someone was pulling out. I found the hotel (200 meter walk from municipal parking lot) and was immediately welcomed by the 'Ladies of Casa Vitae' (Poppy, Angeliki, and the rest) with a couple shots of the local firewater, raki.

I was given the upstairs 'Iris' room which was bright and airy with a Romeo/Juliet balcony overlooking the pretty inner courtyard.

I was then directed to a recommended restaurant, Taverna Othonas, which had excellent courses all 4 times I dined there. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the restaurant and bar strip.

Overall my stay at Casa Vitae was perfect. Clean comfortable rooms, OK breakfast, extremely friendly staff. Pay the extra Euros to stay in the main building.

Rethymnon has a great Old Town to wander through, with it's mix of Venetian and Ottoman architecture. It is also a great central location for visiting both the east, west and southern parts of the island.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building and not the annex.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmooveP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our stay at Casa Vitae was absolutly amazing.
We had a wonderful time with wonderful people :)
The room was really pretty and clean, and the breakfast huge (even the day we left at 3am!)
We recommend this hotel warmly to all people who want to have a nice time with a great staff in Creta.
Once again THANK YOU! We will miss you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hidden down the side streets of a quiet residential area of Rethymno's Old Town, this is a truly beautiful hotel for people wishing to discover the magic of Cretan life. The rooms are clean, contemporary, but with unique touches that give a romantic feel. My Fiancee and I arrived late at night and were greeted by Maria who welcomed us in traditional Greek style, with a glass of Rakomelo after our long journey, plus to our surprise, a fruit basket and chilled Cretan wine for our anniversary. We were able to park close by behind the town hall, so access to our transport was easy. During our six night stay, all the girls were friendly, humorous and made us feel totally at ease. Breakfast everyday was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed Maria (2) yummy omelettes, much more than two people could eat. The hotel and the staff are fabulous, offer an amazing service, rooms spotlessly cleaned everyday and 24 hour access to food/drink if needed by guests. We would like to say a great big thanks to Poppy, Athena and both Maria's for helping to make our trip so perfect!!

Room Tip: Try to request a room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blankface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Casa Vitae surpassed our expecations on a recent short stay there. Full of character, spotlessly clean, confortable rooms, and very friendly staff who have a can do approach. This small and friendly hotel simply oozes charm - Venetian arches, attractive courtyard garden and rooms which have been decorated and furnished with a personal touch! If you want to be a name and not a room rumber then put this place on the top of your holiday wish list.

First off, the room we booked was a Junior Suite which is well worth it if you value extra space (it has a lovely small sitting area, separate wc and bathroom with jacuzzi). Breakfast was served in the room (on our request) at no extra charge. Really comfortable, large bed (wanted to take this home with me!) - all in all the room was just perfect.

Location wise, the hotel is slap bang in the old quarter of Rethymnon so you've got everything pretty much right on your doorstep - cafes, bars, tavernas, restuarants and lots of little stores selling Cretan products, souvenirs etc.

Could right alot more about why you should stay here - but suggest you book it and find out for yourselves!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank admuk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this magical hotel for one night during a trip across Crete. It is hidden away in a quiet alley away form the hustle and bustle of the centre of town. As one of the earlier reviews mentioned there is no hotel parking however we found it no problem to find a place to park nearby. We arrived early and the front receptionist could not have been more friendly, welcoming and accommodating. She informed us our room would be ready in an hour or so and happily looked after our bags until then. Upon our return we were shown to our room and it totally blew me away. Absolutely beautiful! Stunning decor, wonderful 4 poster bed, spacious, jacuzzi bath, WiFi, tea/coffee machine and to top it all off reception had noticed when we had handed our passports over that it was actually my birthday. They had taken the time to lay out a fantastic Greek feast with complimentary wine . I was very touched.

The breakfast was lovely. Lots of interesting Greek delicacies which we thoroughly enjoyed.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby to the hotel and all the sights of Rethymnon are within walking distance.

I would definitely give this hotel and its wonderful staff top marks and can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucylou1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews