We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite, by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite, by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

"You've been upgraded," the proprietor (Marie?) told me when I arrived at the Casa Vitae. I don't know why, but oh boy, I just loved the experience. I was in the Daphne, a fabulous room with a jacuzzi. The room itself was roomy and just gorgeous, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. I had booked an early-morning hike, so they brought up a generous breakfast tray for me the night before. There's a kettle to make coffee in the room. I used the map on the Expedia site to help me find my way to the hotel from the bus station; it wasn't difficult. The hotel is in a nice central location making it easy for me to explore the lovely Old Town, fortress and seafront. On my second morning I got to experience breakfast in the peaceful courtyard and it too was more than generous. I really loved this hotel and was surprised at how reasonably priced it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    66
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
57
408
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a week stay in Casa Vitae Usually stay in big cities but decided to try something different and was absolutely thrilled by the experience.My suite was beautiful,clean and so relaxing.The staff are the nicest people and very helpful.The hotel deserves A plus plus rating.Located in a lovely peaceful place and minutes away from the sea and everthing.I am definately coming back and highly recommend it

Room Tip: There are lots of lovely places to eat within the town and cheaper rather than eating at the seafron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patvanhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We had 4 nights in Casa Vitae in a beautiful suite - there are only 8 or so rooms so this hotel offers a peaceful haven minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the old town. The staff were all excellent, very helpful and ensured you had a good time. Relaxing in the courtyard garden was just perfect before a quick walk into town. Our room was quirky, impeccably restored and furnished. This place gives you a great feel of traditional Greek life with maybe a luxury edge. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KentGal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

There have been a few changes at Casa Vitae since my last visit in 2010. But one of the things that hasn't changed is the warmth of the welcome. I stayed for twelve nights this time and my stay was again, absolutely fabulous. It was early in the season, but we were blessed with fantatic weather. Crete was looking fabulous and I instantly felt so much at home. Angeliki has recruited some fantastic staff and leisurely breakfasts and lazy drinks in the beautiful courtyard garden were shared with a really great group of fellow-guests. Hotel Manager Maria has all the information you will need for a fantastic stay if it your first trip to Crete. Then Maria #2 with her constant smiling face and cheerful disposition will ensure that you have everything you need for your perfect Casa Vitae break. I don't think I have ever met a more happy, helpful and charming hotel receptionist as young Vicky. Vicky is a true asset to Team CV. I was staying in the annex opposite the main building where my spacious room was kept immaculately clean. Wonderful shower! Another great stay... thank you so much girls. See you in October x x x

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford. They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Really good hotel. Our room in the main building was very spacious with a lounge area and well furnished. We had a jacuzzi bath which was wonderful after a long day. The building with its courtyard where breakfast was served was a picture. Breakfast was lovingly served by the faultless staff and was plentiful with Cretan speialties thrown in. Location was excellent only a short walk from the centre and harbour, but on quiet side street. Overall, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel was in the heart of the old town, and within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the castle. The charming hotel is on a tiny quiet street, set in a neighborhood. We were in the annex across the street, on the second floor, but our room was clean, comfortable and newly remodeled. Breakfast was the best we had in Greece, and was prepared and served individually to each table. There were cereals, yogurt, fruits, assorted breads and pastries, cheese, lunchmeats, eggs to order and juices, coffee and tea. The front staff couldn't have been more wonderful, Maria I and Maria II and Vicky spoke several languages, and were truly delightful people. They knew the meaning of customer service!!!

Room Tip: The top floor room in the annex had its own private balcony, which I was envying. The second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUGHTON REGIS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

A charming little hotel situated in the old town - very central location for restaurants/bars and Venetian harbour. Room comfortable, lovely roof top terrace. Breakfast was a delightful experience - fresh pastries, jams, honey, fruits, cereals and breads served in the beautiful courtyard. We booked for 3 nights through Hot Wire and got a great 'room only' deal, Good service especially the welcome - we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LANDNHUMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
8.6 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing