We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place...”
Review of Casa Vitae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Vitae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place...”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We booked a room at Casa Vitae for two nights but we were so amazed by its beauty, the warm atmosphere, the kindness of the staff that we decided to extend our stay to one week. We loved everything there and if we ever come back to Crete we will definately visit Rethymnon to stay in Casa Vitae.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castjp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    68
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
423
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Me and my husband visited crete in late October and had chosen Casa Vitae hotel based on reviews we had read. One cannot imagine the warmth and beauty of this hotel together with the people running it. Every instant we had a warm smile welcoming us and fullfilling our needs, whereas each morning hot pastries, tasteful dairy products, homemade jams and many more were included in our breakfast. As for our room, it was romantic, stylish and very-very clean. Maria, Chrysa and Maria (the cleaning lady) thank you for everything you did for us. Hope to see you again, soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We visited Casa Vitae hotel earlier this year for two weeks. This hotel is in a wonderful location, The courtyard is beautiful, a feeling of calmess as soon as you enter.We had booked a superior room, but were very disappointed. We entered our room from the lane,into a small fairly dim lit corridor, the room was below ground level, very small windows, and perhaps the most overpowering was the extremely low ceiling. The shower ....my only word is exsaperating...to enter I had to turn sideways, once inside the sliding doors closed, there was no room to stand, and to sit down my knees were pressed against the door!!!! We spoke to the manager and she promised the first available room that became vacant we could look at for the same price we had paid for the original room. True to her word this is what happened , and we moved to another superior room...this is exactly as shown in the photo on the current web site of CasaVitae. It was larger room, higher ceiling, and shower over the bath. This time we entered our room from the courtyard. The rooms were cleaned daily, beautifully, and the staff were very helpful and understanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rubyPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here for one week in a comfortable room overlooking the street opposite the main part of the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The traffic free street is very quiet, just the occasional passersby. It was on the third/top floor and the stairway leading to it could be perilous to someone who was not physically able because it is narrow and winding, though I had no problem with it. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice layed out in a buffet style to choose what you want. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The location of the hotel is fabulous, in a quiet spot, right in the heart of the old town. All the amenities and attractions of the town are only a very short walk away. An excellent base for exploring west Crete.

Room Tip: The nature of the old building means there are lots of stairs for anyone less able. Choose a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in Casa Vitae twice for one night and both times we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is well located in the Venetian quarter, yet it is peacefull and quiet. The main building is beautiful, with wonderful courtyard. Breakfast choice is quite limited, but sufficient. We stayed in a double room which was a bit cheaper than the rest of the rooms - it turned out that the room was located in another building located on the other side of the street (but it took one minute to walk there). The other bulding was also very nice - we had a top floor room, with nice view, bathroom, kitchenette and a/c. The room was very nice, maybe not 4*, but definately 3.5*.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. Absolutely fantastic 'boutique' hotel in the Venetian quarter of Rethymnon. Great location on a quiet side street. The room was exactly as described and beautiful. Breakfast was great with lots of selection - the staff even brought breakfast to our room the night before when they learned that we would be out hiking before breakfast the next day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our only issue was a mechanical problem with the bathroom and the staff had a plumber fix the problem immediately. This was a nice splurge for us and we were very happy to stay at Casa Vitae.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at Casa Vitae for four nights and it was totaly enjoyable. Its location in the old part of town is perfect for walking the narrow streets, enjoying the history and the archtecture and for trying out the local restuarants. The courtyard is wonderfully relaxing and the whole hotel is immaculately clean and comfortable. The highlight however is that the people running the hotel are simply excellent - they are all extremely helpful, accommodating, and are genuinely interested in their guests enjoying their stay. Their recommendations on what to do, to see, where to eat and just as importantly, what to avoid were spot on and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
529 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vitae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vitae Hotel

Property: Casa Vitae Hotel
Address: 3 N. Patelarou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vitae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the old town of Rethymnon, Crete, Greece. The hotel is a recently renovated house dating back to the 15th century. The house has got 8 luxury suites to let out to prospective customers. Each of them has got a Jacuzzi, Bath, W/C, A/C, SAT-TV, Telephone, Hair Dryer and Safe. We do offer Bed and Breakfast and Room service. Customers can also enjoy the lovely patio hotel. We do operate throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Casa Vitae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vitae Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing