We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time-- once again”
Review of Julia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Julia Apartments
Ranked #20 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Julia apartments and were not disappointed. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The Taverna is one of the best we have visited in Greece .
The owners Brenda & Vassilias are really nice people and will go out their way to help you and make you feel very welcome.

We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have just returned from here on Tuesday and it was a great family hotel. Very clean spacious rooms and hotel staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Close to the beach and all the restaurants and bars. Pools were a perfect size. Would recommend to anyone :) there is also a lidl round the corner so it's cheap for self catering we came home with money left!

Room Tip: We were in a room with a garden view this was perfect as we were on the ground floor so with my chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amys831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was late June when we went and Vasilis the owner greeted us and helped with luggage. Can't fault the hotel, clean, quiet and location was perfect for nightlife and beach.
Pool was small and perfect for my family of 2 adults and 2 kids.
Food was great, we were b&b and Verselis and Brenda were always there to serve us any time.
Car hire was only 120 euro for 4 days thanks to versalis's mate a few doors down.
If you want to eat cheap then head across the road for a pita youros (gyro) for 2.50 euro.

Loved everything about the place and will be going back in a few years!
Love to the owners xxx Steve and Mikey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flaxvert1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Absoloutly amazing service, someone always around to help if needed (even 11pm when we find one insect and being two girls we didnt like to touch it!!) The Julia apartments are central to the resort and everything within a 10 min walk. Even the shops and restaurants everyone was so friendly,
Anything we needed all we had to do was ask and was sorted right away, even down to the car hire. Would definatly reccomend to friends and family and hoping to book again for next year.
Small house and toys to play with for my young daughter and she loved them.
The pool was as described in previous reviews quite small but as we went before the season started it was perfect for the four of us.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor apartment number 3 and 4 (two familys) and looked straight onto the taverna, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The apartments are in Platanes, effectively a one street strip of shops and tavernasand are situated behind the Garden Taverna also run and owned by the same family that own the apartments. Stayed in a lovely ground floor room overlooking the taverna, noise isn't a problem, thankfully they are not into loud music and because it is hidden from view the bar area doesn't get crowded out. There is a superb beach nearby so the small size of the pool doesn't matter as many people go to the beach for the day. Room is as you would expect, basic but very clean and nothing is too much bother. It's run by Vasilis and his Scottish wife Brenda with help from elder daugther Julia, Vasilis is like a growly bear and Brenda is always upbeat and every one is really friendly. If you really want to self cater ther is a Lidls a short walk behind the apartments and a fabulous bakery almost next door plus a couple of mini supermarkes. There is a good range of tavernas to eat out at including of course the Garden Taverna itself where the food is very good and just one nightclub which you wouldn't realise was there. It's quite cheap to get a taxi into Rethymnon town, 6km away, but beware the cost of the harbour side restaurants which is the only place we were plagued by touts trying to get us in. The costs are not obvioulsy dispayed and they are outrageous, we got stung for the equivalent of £80 for a one course lunch with wine! The apartments can be booked via Thomson but aren't easy to find on their website, they are very good value for money and I would thoroughly recommend them. Will definitely be going back for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sightseerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Well first off you have to realise that this accommodation is not actually in Rethymnon,but about 6 kms away in a village/town by the name of Platenes.Everything for a perfect break can be found here,plenty of rustic tavernas and bars together with late night atmospheric cocktail bars make this a really chilled out holiday.The accommodation is just on the edge of the village and is ideally placed to take full advantage of all there is to offer.The bus stop is just outside the premises and the very frequent bus service down to Rethymnon will cost you 1 euro 20 and these run till very late at night.On the other hand you may wish to take the taxi,at a cost of 8 euros,these can also be found at the taxi rank which is located a mere 50 metres away .Please be aware you cannot purchase tickets on the bus,these have to be obtained prior to the journey from various retail outlets,the nearest one for you will be the delightful bakery opposite the bus stop,this will also give you an excuse to choose any one of the many delicacies on offer to munch away at during the 10 minute journey.

The Julia apartments are situated behind "THE GARDEN TAVERNA",all of which is owned and run by Vassillis and Brenda,and also the quiet bar next door .On arrival if its not in the night you will be met by the larger than life character that is Vass,you will be made most welcome as you pass through the delightful Tavern garden and into the accommodation block.I would say there is probably about 30 rooms of various sizes.This next bit of info is the most important in the whole of the report.When you book this accommodation ask for a room overlooking the Taverna Garden.If its peace and quiet you want you will not be disappointed if you get one of these rooms.We were there in the main August weeks,and when the patio doors and shutters were closed at night,and air conditioning was on , had no trouble sleeping 12 hrs in complete quietness,mind you i suppose the various glasses of anesthetic consumed at night assisted with that.

If you are arriving at night enter the premises by way of the small alleyway at the side of the bakery,you will see a small wrought iron gate leading into the pool and bar area.At the front of the steps leading to the rooms you will find the keys with your name alongside.There is a magnet attached to the key and this will be needed to be placed on the electrical point just inside the door.All this must be carried out in darkness but you eventually get used to it.You need to know all this as there is no rep or staff on duty to show you.

The rooms are completely spotless,and will be serviced by Brenda every two days throughout your stay.Towels and linen are changed at least twice a week.This is a major plus for the Julia,as this must be about the 40th time in Greece for us and have never experienced cleanliness as good as this.

The pool is small but a godsend and i absolutely adored the many hours i spent in there,the beach though is only about 200 metres away down a lane over the road,where 5 euros will get you two beds and a parasol (Bargain) and you can then also use the larger pools attached to the beach bars.

I spent many a hour at the Julia pool bar,if i wasn't being humoured by the wit of Vass as he encourages people stay by shouting "last orders" then i would speak to the younger Julia,his daughter who speaks English with a lovely soft Scottish accent.

This is a very nice family business and we had a truly lovely relaxing holiday.I'm so glad its not in Rethymnon because that's just a "rip off".
Don't hesitate to book this,i promise you, you wont regret it.

One word of warning on leaving for the airport,make sure your flight bag has less than 5kgs of weight.They are strict on this and weigh all you carry,it can prove to be very expensive,we saw people having to dump loads of things.Its just another way of making a bit more last minute cash out of you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We arrived at Julia Apartments on Saturday morning at 5am and went straight to sleep. The apartment was exactly as it was described in the brochure, basic but had all you needed. The rooms were very clean and tidy. If we needed air con or additional hobs you could rent them for the duration of the holiday.
Vasilis, Brenda, Mama and family, well they just treated us as one of the family. They are extremely trusting and made our holiday that much more special.
Food, well I could not get enough home made cooking, expecially at the Taverna Gardens, the mousaka and stifado were the best. They even do a lovely english breakfast with toast, coffee and orange juice, fills you up for the day!!!!
There is a main road that runs at the back of the apartments but we slept through all the noise of the traffic and did not find it a problem.
WIshed we had booked to stay 2 weeks now and not just one, really miss it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaza38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
3.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.1 mi away
Pepi Boutique Hotel
Pepi Boutique Hotel
#4 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Calergi Residence
Calergi Residence
#1 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
70 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
619 reviews
3.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 177 in Rethymnon
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julia Apartments

Address: Platanes Square | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range: $36 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family-run self-catering apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Julia Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing