We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Villa close to Rethymnon”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Pool Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Pool
Pool
Pool
Pool
Garden Dinning
Garden
Garden Pool
Garden Pool
Garden Pool
Garden Pool
Garden Pool
Garden
Garden Pool
Living DinningRoom
Living DinningRoom
Dinning
Living DinningRoom
Living room
Hall Kitchen
Kitchen
Hall
Hall Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
MasterBedroom Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Hall
Bedroom
Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Studio
Studio Bathroom
BBQ
BBQ
Pond
Pool
Garden - Pool
Pool
Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Adrian W
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Villa close to Rethymnon ”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a long, very relaxing week at Villa Maria with our teenage kids and a couple of friends. The villa is charming and quirky, and is long way from the standard box rental that seems to be so common.
The gardens and pool are enclosed, and very private, with lots of shade from bananas, palms and other trees, with a huge umbrella awning to keep the sun off the patio. This made sitting out pleasant at any time of day or night. We did get bothered by mosquitos, but a few citronella candles kept the worst at bay after the first couple of evenings.

Giannoudi is obviously a hamlet with history. Most of the buildings, including the villa, have some Venetian component. Those thick walls are a boon when keeping the place cool without having to resort to the air conditioning too much, even in August.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were smart, clean, and well decorated. The beds are firm, which too us a couple of days to adjust to. The kitchen is small but well equipped. There is also an excellent barbecue area outside.

The main pool was well maintained, and the perfect way to cool down after a day exploring the hills and south coast.

Giannoudi is perfectly positioned a few minutes drive from the main East-west motorway, which made exploring this part of Crete easy. We found some excellent bakeries and restaurants during our stay. I even managed to get in a spot of astrophotography late at night, walking up the dusty lane into the hills behind the villa to get away from the light pollution, and taking care not to fall into the gorge.

Our hosts were very helpful, meeting us by the main road and making sure we had a chance to pick up supplies from the local supermarket before guiding us up to the villa. They were around if we needed anything, but didn’t impose.

This has been one of our best villa holidays. If, like us, you prefer something a little out of the ordinary, away from the crowds, in a more traditional style building, then we highly recommend Villa Maria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoCaps
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Rethymnos”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I along with four relatives stayed in this beautiful house for four nights in September 2016 during our two-week visit to Crete. We loved this place! The house sits in a nice quiet neighborhood on a hilltop about 1 or 2 kms from the Old Port of Rethymnos and the Venetian Fortress. We had rental cars so we made frequent trips into the city which were very easy drives. We also found it easy to access the National Highway and the road to the southern coast (Agia Galini, Matala) The house is gorgeous. We spent most of our time outside by the outdoor pool (it also has an indoor pool but it was closed for use while we were there). The pool area is like being on a tropical island due to its flowers, trees and landscaping. The owners do a wonderful job of maintaining the property as it is clean and in good repair. There are four bedrooms, of which 3 are in the main house and one is separated out next to the pool area. The entire patio/pool area is completely walled-in which is nice as it affords guest total privacy. We used the stone outdoor grilling area and also made family meals in the compact, but very serviceable kitchen. I would definitely consider staying here again in we ever get back to lovely Rethymnos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, serene, peaceful and convient
Liked least: Some bothersome flies out on the patio
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11dan14
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice holiday”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The villa was nice and well equipped plus a very nice patio/garden, pool, barbecue and a pond with small fish . We were 6 adults and 4 kids and stayed for 2 weeks. In about 4-5 minutes by car there's a really nice Greek taverna and the local beach. The owners were very nice and helpful . I really liked it and I would definitely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: being in a small village you need to make sure you don't make too much noise at night
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Benouz45
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sol R
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing