We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
smartline Dimitrios Beach
Ranked #27 of 166 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great holiday, spotlessly clean junior suite overlooking pool, very modern furniture and especially walk in shower brilliant.
Food good including traditional Greek which we were hoping for but food could have been warmer, was m/wave provided
toaster useless but that's not unusual, staff very helpful and friendly, would recommend this hotel definitely
weather excellent early May and will return again soon.
SLDC♥

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLDC449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    93
    33
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed with friend all inclusive for 10 days. Location good for the beach and local shops, good taxi and bus service to Rethymnon and further. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The other tavernas locally were friendly and served good food. Nicolletta worked from dawn to dusk like most of the staff everywhere and was very helpful and friendly, not forgetting Dimitrios!
Downside for me was the buffet style food, mostly set out for the continental guests, with smattering of cretan food. Suppose its difficult to cater for every taste. I didn't like the small pool which was close to the road (busy), and the bar two steps from the road as well. shower was a bit pathetic,but everyone knows Greek plumbing is not the best...our room was furthest away from the courtyard dining area and we had a wall for our scenery,we were happy as this had shade, no one sat in their full sun balcony as weather was very hot. Beach- sun loungers x2 and umbrella E6 pr day, nice beach clean water, nice area to stay and felt safe walking at night.

Room Tip: Choose away from courtyard dining area 221 - 227 on first floor and I was happy not overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georginab513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mata, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed all inclusive booking with Thomas Cook.
This is a small hotel with 104 rooms we paid for an upgrade to a Junior Suite but the room 217 contained a very small shower and the balcony was not suitable for relaxing on during the day as it was in full sunshine with no sun shade available fortunately we were able to move after a few days into our stay and room 210 had a large wet room and the balcony above provided shade. Towels and bed linen were changed regularly and the room was well maintained. A kettle, coffee maker, fridge and hob were available in the kitchenette which was neatly tucked away in acupboard in room 410 but formed part of the room in room 417.
The beds and pillows were very comfy.

The Hotel is in a good location if you are looking for a laid back relaxing holiday. It is a 2km walk along the promenade into the Old Town which is livelier. Live entertainment 1 night a week ( a solo singer) great for the more mature holiday maker. A taxi into the Old Town costs 5 Euro or a slow walk takes 30 mins.

The beach is sand but at the shoreline there is a pepple layer which slopes steepley into the sea. During our stay 8th-23rd Aug the sea was very rough.

Food at all three meals was excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables on offer and a good variety of cooked meat/fish. Vegetarians should find all they required at the buffett.

The staff were very friendly and attentive helping to make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have been refurbished but from our experience room 417 would benefit from a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAUX ROUILLAC FRANCE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The big plus of the hotel is the inner courtyard/terrace where you can have breakfast or dinner in the shade of the trees. The staff are friendly and helpful. As ever, buffet-type meals but a good choice overall. One "bug" - we only had hot water once a day (evening) for the shower. They did look into it but nothing came of it - perhaps because our room was at the far end of the hotel and so the solar panels hadn't kept water hot enough overnight? The bathroom generally was disappointing - recently re-tiled but with the old shower base and a shower curtain which meant being careful not to get water all over the floor. However overall a positive impression.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florø, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

first room that we received was situated in old part of hotel with view for potato field and some damage arbor. room smelled really bed and bathroom was from 20 years ago. new room that we received after discussion with reception the next day was with vew for pool. room was OK but bathroom was old and to take the shower I had to alwas bend myself because the ceiling was so low. this is 2 star european standard hotel. pools and restaurand areas are quite nice but you never can say that the hotel is 4 stars. food was various and very good. very nice service also with friendly Chief who makes very nice atmosfhere. the drinks included in "all inclusive" was terrible. no wodka, no whisky only ouzo, rakija, local metaxa 3 and a beer. "juces" - it was the powder mixed with water and sparkling drinks was this same just with CO2. -all drinks was as cheep and bad as it can be. to get gin+tonic you have to pay 6 Euro for 25 ml in smallest long drink glass.there was only one event in hotel for one week. the animation for kids - it was animator from Czech republic with broken leg who could play only cards with the kids - but this is not hotel responsibility - only your travel agent - we use Grekos travel agent - strongly unrecommend - nothing was as it should be. the photos I attched showing only the ugly parts of hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUDAPEST
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

This is the hotel where it is most important which room will be yours! When we arrived here with my husband, we got a room on the gorund floor at the end of the corridor. we had a terrible view to the neighbour's garbage heap. The air condition was working but it had such a noise that we prefered the hot instead.

I was so disappointed that we wanted to find a way to look a solution. I asked the reception lady to change our room, and I was so sorrow that she helped me and offered another room the day after.

From this EVERYTHING was OK! I suggest for everybody that ask a room in this hotel, which faces to the pool!!!

  • Liked — Our new room!
  • Disliked — Our former room!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank EFEZUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from 12 nights at the Dimitrios Beach hotel. We loved Crete, but had mixed opinions on the hotel. The first problem was an overflowing drain in the bathroom, meaning we had the grey water from the last guests all over the floor after our first shower. The room also smelt very bad. We were told it would be fixed when the guy came at 7pm, but he never showed. All we got was a lemon spray from the cleaner. The next day it was apparently fixed, but we had a repeat a few days later. The staff were always friendly, if not very usefull! Rooms 101-103 are very noisy, you can hear every phone call to the reception, and the high heels and squeeky night managers shoes all night! For the price the rooms are good, and the food is adequate. We ate breakfast there the first days and dinner a few times, but the variety is poor and leaves you feeling like you ate just out of necessity. If your looking for something well priced and near the beach, it's fine. If your looking for a hotel which follows basic rules like knocking on the door before entering (we had the cleaners do this twice at 9:30am), look elsewhere. We will definately return to Crete, but not this hotel, there are so many better ones. If your interested in a days snorkelling and diving, try the people at Paradise Dive Centre...highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness, noisey room, friendly but unhelpful staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iperion Beach Hotel
Iperion Beach Hotel
#18 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dimitrios Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#26 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#11 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#7 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Dimitrios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Dimitrios Beach

Property: smartline Dimitrios Beach
Address: Afstralon Polemiston 16, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Dimitrios Village Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#40 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Dimitrios Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your smartline Dimitrios Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smartline Dimitrios Beach Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing