We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Leo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Leo
Ranked #82 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We arrived by bus and walked to the Hotel Leo and had no trouble finding it. Located in Old Town, the Hotel Leo is a 1400's Venetian villa with only eight rooms. Beautifully restored and recently updated. Excellent service and great breakfast. Our room was quite large with a balcony and the bathroom was one of the largest and most modern I've ever seen in Europe. The only downside was that our room face the front street, not the alley, and there was a lot of noise at night. Overall, I would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 205 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Hotel Leo is very charming....however it is a nightmare to find when you first arrive. There is no parking anywhere near the hotel, meaning you have to park far away and drag your luggage down the narrow streets, while you are totally confused about where you are going. The staff was very helpful and friendly...they actually let us check out one night early because we had an early flight out of Iraklion and we were worried about getting out of there and having to drag our luggage back to our car early in the morning. It was also very noisy at night because it is near bars and cafes where people stay out until very early in the morning. We would probably not stay here again, but it is only because of the undesirable location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toby8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

The room we stayed was huge, nicely decorated with taste and high quality. The hotel as a whole is clean and well lit (not bright, well lit). The breakfast which was also more than enough, but normal for Greek standards was served in the alley in fron of the hotel on nice wooden tables. Staff are nice and helpful. The location is excellent, although they do not have a parking space, the port parking lot is 2 minutes walk, and if you can park anywhere else for free, just do it. I don't know what else you can expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altug74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Leo Hotel is the most romantic and beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. I recomend to all of you to go there. I want to stay there all of my life :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Absolutely gorgeous, Eleni the owner will go out of her way to make sure your stay is perfect. Brilliant location, quirky rooms, Rethymnon is far from the tack of Malia. Already thinking of when to go back, you will definitley not be disappointed with hotel and town. I'm also sure that aslong as you stay in the Old Town (and away from the beach front) you will never get a bad meal. The Greek seem to be very passionate about their cooking.
If your looking for a holiday destination full of British then this will not be the place for you. Rethymnon is very Greek and because there is a univeristy its a place where the young hang out drinking and chatting.Perfect for us! Must say its a place for couples and probably not familys with young children.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannieinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Rethymno for a night during our honeymoon. What a cool little hotel with neat, high-ceiling rooms. Not only is the interior and the rooms immaculately detailed and restored in a charming B+B sort of way, it is in the absolute, hands down best location in the city. And that's saying something, because Rethymno is outstanding. The restaurant in the alley downstairs is wonderful, and the staff is responsive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugar2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel is right in the center, in a quiret alley, I went to find the hotel first and after that moved the car to a parking spot closer,and getting my luggage. The room was a bit of a mix, not guite sure what to be , not completet.
I decided to go and see the Fort before breakfast , which I was glad I did. Breakfast was good and nice to sit outside and let time pass by.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 177 in Rethymnon
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#41 of 177 in Rethymnon
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leo

Address: Vafe 2-4 & Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $84 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leo Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing