We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Leo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Leo
Ranked #70 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Leo Hotel for 5 nights and loved every moment of it. The location of the hotel in the middle of the old town is perfect, a wide variety of restaurants and bars close-by. The room totally lived up the the pictures we saw on the website and on bookings.com. When we arrived we even had the choice between two different rooms. The room including bathroom was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served just outside the hotel (100% greek old town city feeling) and is very good value for th 5 Euro.

We can recommend this hotel 100% and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Leo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location, great hospitality, and very big rooms.
The host was extremely nice and helped us with information about the area and restaurants.
We added 5 euros for the breakfast, and it was absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and found the hotel to be very charming, and the service excellent. The renovation has been very tastefully done and it feels very Venetian. The location is wonderful - right in the heart of the old town, but no noise. There is no parking, something to be aware of if you are renting a car. You have a choice of breakfast added on top or to go out elsewhere, which was fine, as there are so many options. A little bit of crockery for those who like to occasionally depart from a Greek breakfast and just have a bit of muesli would be handy but we made do, and really the continental breakfast was good value considering the fresh juice! We would stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we arrived at midnight I was thinking where are we, the owner was still there to welcome us & showed us to our beautiful old rooms I was still thinking where are we, then to wake and see the beautiful old town it was Devine just beautiful I loved it felt very safe and we found the most amazing restaurant the last night it is a must to go to Avil restaurant it was so beautiful the service was excellent & it's boy so even better guys buy yr ladies Moët from a bottle shop then take to restaurant lol.
There is 1 laundromat & all I can say don't go there unless you want yr clothes to shrink the ladies doesn't understand English so honestly don't go here..
Jules & mike

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my husband stayed there only 1 night. We REALLY enjoyed the hotel. It was very clean, high ceilings, modern bathroom with prime location (3 minutes to the beach with all restaurants). Lady who runs the hotel was so polite and even helped me carrying my bags to the car. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizunchik24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights here at the end of August. From the moment I arrived, the experience was very positive. The front desk staff was very friendly. The hotel is in a great location. There isn't an elevator but the staff helped me carry my luggage upstairs. I LOVED my room. Beautiful stone walls, high ceiling, two little balconies, very roomy, nice decor. Breakfast was served in the little alleyway outside the hotel. Lovely. Every time I was out there, people were taking pictures of the area because it was that photogenic! Breakfast was OK -- simple bread, jellies, fruit, coffee, juice and then a choice of one item such as eggs from the menu.
Location could not be beat. Just walk out the front door and you are in the heart of the action of old town -- shops, restaurants, etc. The beach was about a 15 minute walk to the east.
The staff was very helpful.
If I return to Rethymno, I know where I am staying!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank ocbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Because someone had to leave a day early we were able to get the last available room in this hotel and boy....what a room! First we came to a double hobbit-size door, down some steps into a room with a vaulted ceiling. The bed mattress was placed on a platform at the end of the room, curtains draped in front of it and could only be reached on all fours. The bath was in the room itself and wash basin and toilet in a separate space. Do not get me wrong. It was the sort of room you will never forget but if you have physical restrictions this is definitely not the room for you. I believe that hotel Leo has more conventional rooms so this review is just about this particular room. Breakfast was basic but good. The location of the hotel is splendid and staff are very friendly indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjavdoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Casa Dei Delfini
Casa Dei Delfini
#42 of 175 in Rethymnon
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 175 in Rethymnon
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment
0.1 mi away
Vetera Suites
Vetera Suites
#115 of 175 in Rethymnon
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leo

Address: Vafe 2-4 & Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $81 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leo Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing