We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new hotel in an ideal location”
Review of Hotel Leo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Leo
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great new hotel in an ideal location”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a really good experience. The staff were charming and extremely helpful; the room was clean, spacious and newly refurbished; the location was ideal - right in the centre of the pedestrianised shopping area and close to numerous restaurants, the Venetian fortress and the harbour; and the breakfast, which we had outside, was a treat (try the cheese pie). If you have a hire car you need to park it outside the Old Town area which is pedestrianised but this wasn't a problem once we knew that that was what you had to do.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and all seemed excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinbrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    57
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
124
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Part of our reason for choosing the Leo Hotel in Rythmno, was the excellent personal service and advice I’d experienced while corresponding with them.

Even though we arrived after hours, a lovely young woman waited for us, greeting us with a warm smile. She miraculously whisked our heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs without wincing and then showed us how everything worked in our room. We loved the three huge windows and two tiny balconies overlooking the street and alleyways below. The high ceilings and stone wall added so much character yet it still had a very modern feel (as did the bathroom). It was quaint, quiet, comfortable and very clean. The only thing we found to be a problem were the mosquitoes at night, they were ruthless.

A highlight for us in Greece is the way you can enjoy all of your meals outside and that’s exactly what we did at the Leo Hotel. Every morning we leisurely enjoyed our breakfasts in the lovely little alleyway beside the hotel. Coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruits, toast and a main entrée of our choice, was the perfect way to start each day.

Another great thing about the Leo Hotel is its location right in the heart Old Town. No matter which direction you turn, you’re surrounded by gorgeous little alleyways full of interesting shops and lovely cafes. The harbour is just a few minutes walk from the hotel, but since it doesn’t have a very nice beach anyways, you’re not missing much.

We thoroughly loved the old town of Rythomno and are so glad we spent a few days at the Hotel Leo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is hard to find if driving and can be a bit tricky depending on what time of the day you get there, as a pedestrianized street. But please do not let this put you off, its in such a gorgeous spot of Old Town Rethymnon which is so quaint and the best part of the surrounding area in my opinion. The rooms are devine and just as shown in the pics. I think this is good value for money. Breakfast you have to pay a small amount for and on the first day my partner and I thought we might be able to find better value for money.. DONT bother you cant. You receive fresh fruit, tea, coffee, and a main, and enough bread and jams to keep you going. Also where breakfast is served is on the small side street which is just gorgeous. Staff were friendly and helpful. . Location is also perfect walking distance to bars , restaurants etc. Tip. Dont eat on the main strip, chose places in the small laneways in the old town there are some amazing traditional Greek dishes , all very quaint and half the price of the places on the main strip and 100% better quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomme1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A private house converted to a small,charming hotel with maybe 8 rooms. No elevator, but a very willing, strong, female concierge. On a small side street in center of town. Breakfast served just outside.
In a walking area of town,and rather tricky to find. Manager will meet you a couple of blocks away, take your bags, and direct you to parking area. Just off main shopping street, and pleasant to walk around.
A charming town- I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 212kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent the one night in Leo Hotel, but it was enough to see that the rooms are beautifully decorated, in a tastefully renovated building that dates from the same time as the fortress. The whole place is modern but comfortable, and the girls at reception were both very helpful and charming. One thing, if you are driving into town yourself, make sure that you inform yourself of the hotel's location beforehand, as it is quite hidden away. A wonderful place in a wonderful town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I've just checked out today and I wanted to make sure that I would remember what to say:
- Really nice, thoughtful, helpful staff.
- Really nice and glamorous rooms.
- Very quiet hotel, we were on the second floor, a room which overlooks a narrow street. No balcony for our room but I know that there are some (but maybe a little noisy)
- A Very good breakfast that costs 5 euros and is really enough. Plus you eat it out in the little street which is quite cool.
- Finally again, the ladies that welcomed us and checked us out are warm and smiling.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 6 days at the Leo and loved every second. It is a challange to find because it is on a pedestrian street. But the place was built in 1450 and the walls are stone, but all of the fixtures are modern - so it is an elegant combination! Breakfast is in the tiny little street, under an arbour of cooling branches, and you have a selection of breakfasts. Even though it is located in a busy pedestrain area with lots of lovely little shops nearby - the hotel was quiet and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable and there was lots of storage for our clothes. The bathroom was heavenly! Everything is within an easy walk from the hotel and we loved just wandering the streets every evening. Very romantic setting

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place - we were on the top floor and it was a bit hot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#22 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#18 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#14 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vetera Suites
Vetera Suites
#82 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa De Delfini
Casa De Delfini
#41 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leo

Property: Hotel Leo
Address: Vafe 2-4 & Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leo Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing