We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique lodging”
Review of Hotel Leo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Leo
Ranked #81 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent the last couple night of our Greek Island vacation here. The hotel is an old converted castle, complete with stone walls and high ceilings. Very neat and unique vibe. The location is terrific -- on a quiet alleyway (a little hard to find) with close access to the beauty of old town Rethymnon, but also a short distance to the harbor, beaches, and Venetian fortress. The staff at the front desk could not have been more friendly and helpful. We didn't do the breakfast here, as we found better value at some of the quaint local cafes.

Only complaint is the charge for beach towels. I've never seen this before at another hotel. I'd rather them just add a few euro to the cost of the room and then give the beach towels for free -- charging separately for them just seems like you're being nickel-and-dimed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great hotel, in the heart of Rethymno, close to everywhere - shops, tavern, port. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are the same like on web site, very bright, modern and spacious. Private and public parking 5 minutes away. Definately recomend.
O&S, Poland

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arrived early on Saturday morning and have enjoyed the caring gentle environment of the Leo Hotel staff located in the middle of Rethymnon old town. A few minutes walking to pretty much everywhere it is located well.
We asked for the balcony room in order to not the atmosphere of the little old town streets and ith no hesitation or extra cost got our wish granted.

Every morning at breakfast we are served traditional Cretan food always smiling but most importantly full of local flavours and very filling.

We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great, but if you prefere to feel the old town ask to bein he balcony room as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Hotel Leo is a beautiful small hotel housed in a 600 year old building right in the old part of Rethymnon. We stayed in room 203 which has lovely Juliette balconies, high ceilings and exposed stone walls. It is a large, comfortable room with a nice bathroom.
The staff is beyond the best and gave us some of the best recommendations/guidance on our trip. The breakfast is not huge but it is adequate (I don't book a hotel based on breakfast),
There is some noise from the road/town - we were there on a particularly wild Friday night - but the shutters and the curtains help. If you are really sensitive, bring a pair of earplugs just in case or ask for one of the rooms off the street (staying in 203 was worth it for us).
The only caution I would give is that the stairs are steep and it is a BIG step into the shower - just a warning if you need to worry about those kinds of things.
Rethymnon is a lovely little town and I would recommend staying at least a night.

Room Tip: number 203 is lovely with small balconies and AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank not_enuf_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you want to be in centre of Rethymno you can't do bad staying here. Apart from location the lovely girls on reception and breakfast bar can't do enough to help you. The rooms give you a real feel for the Venetian history and were very clean and well equipped. Its worth taking the breakfast option as its good value, continental and cooked choice.

No parking tho and can be difficult to find a spot to park elsewhere.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very smart and beautiful hotel that I would recommend to my best friends, located in old pedestrian city, in a very beautiful ancient venitian house
Wonderful place and nice people
Really charming
Thank you to Anna and all the members of this hotel
We love it all
We hope to come back to this place, wonderful like a dream
More than an hotel, we feel like at home
More than a venitian house, we feel like in a a venitian palace !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the Leo this weekend with our friends. We were a party of six people, and we had 3 rooms. All the rooms were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. We have stayed at the Leo twice before, and I must say, it is one of the most beautiful hotels on the island. We travel a lot and we have many weekend trips away. We have stayed in 5 good hotels in Rethymnon over the past few months, but I must admit, the Leo takes some beating. It is a very chic hotel and has lots of lovely original features, along with very nice modern amenities. The breakfast was delicious, greek yoghurt, honey, cereals, bread, cake, ham & cheese toast, fresh seasonal fruit, boiled eggs, hot fresh coffee & fresh orange juice. We found that the Leo has just that little bit more to offer than other hotels we have stayed at, we had a four poster bed and a beautiful en-suite bathroom with thick fluffy towels. There was a fridge, kettle & cups in the room, and the air conditioning was quiet. All our rooms were spacious and all unique in their design. The Leo was also very reasonably priced. We loved staying there and all agreed that we will definately be staying there again. Thank you :o)

Room Tip: We found all the rooms we ocupied were beautiful. We stayed in room 104 with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rap100r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Dei Delfini
Casa Dei Delfini
#39 of 175 in Rethymnon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#28 of 175 in Rethymnon
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 175 in Rethymnon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leo

Address: Vafe 2-4 & Arkadiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $81 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leo Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing