We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely place becoming even lovelier”
Review of Casa De Delfini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Delfini
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“a lovely place becoming even lovelier”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed with Katerina for two nights during our week-long stay in Crete, and as we walked through the old city of Rethymno and saw the other hotels, we kept saying that we surely were staying in the very best and most beautiful place. We had the room at the top, the two-floor room with the sleeping loft above the living area and the beautiful private terrace, and could not have been happier. Katerina was wonderful in helping us plan our days, highlighting driving trips we might want to take to see the surrounding countryside.

The location of the hotel was wonderful -- just around the corner from all the restaurants and shops, but on a very quiet, private street. Absolutely no complaints about the location! The parking is relatively nearby.

Katerina has big plans for the hotel, adding more rooms and expanding a large reception area with room for breakfast. We'd love to come back and see her plans realized. What a lovely hotel and host.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Being welcomed by Katerina is like a welcome home. We arrived at Casa De delfini after an easy trip from Chania, and Katerina was waiting for us, immediately taking our baggage into the ground floor studio. She explained we had this room for the first three days of our stay and if we liked we could move to a higher studio for the following week. We opted to do just this but would have been happy to stay in either rooms for the full 10 days. Each room is immaculately and tastefully decorated and is cleaned every day. There is an abundance of hot water and the full size fridge comes in very handy. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are well equipped. Katerina and her husband are extremely helpful and full of information on places to visit in the surrounding areas and beyond. The nearby car park is easy to find and being early in the season we had no trouble finding spaces each day. The hotel is perfectly situated in the old town, being close enough to walk easily to the bakery each morning and the huge choice of restaurants each evening, but also away from any street noise. We had a truly memorable holiday and felt sad to leave such beautiful place but the ever helpful Katerina even walked us to our car to wish us a final farewell. We cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flika2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Katerina was waiting for us. We arrived in the early evening after getting directions from several people. Being in the old city we couldn't simply drive to the front door so it was an adventure in getting there. But it was an adventure that was well worth it. After parking our rental car as close as we could get to the Casa De Delfini the directions were something like: turn this way then that, then ask again. Katerina was a helpful host, the room with bed in the loft was charming. It was immaculate, attractive and roomy. We would love to stay there again. Hope our next trip to Crete comes soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If visiting the beautiful town of Rethymnon this small hidden away boutique hotel is perfection.

Great rooms (4), very clean, good sized comfortable beds, freshly tiled bathrooms in fact everything you want in a family run hotel. The couple who run it are friendly, attentive and keen to ensure you have a great stay. The building is 500+ years old and has been beautifully renovated.

The top floor bedroom is the biggest (and best) has a large terraced balcony which is perfect for sitting out, eating breakfast etc. Prices were very keen although we were there out of season.

If it's available and you want quality within walking distance of the old town then book it now!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topdriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this place for 10 nights after seeing reviews on trip adviser and we were so happy when we arrived and saw that all the positive reviews were all true. The hostess was incredibly welcoming and the place had an authentic Greek feel to it. The location was perfect in the beautiful old town. It was a short walk away from the towns bars and restaurants but in an area where noise at night was not a problem. I would recommend this place to anyone but for couples especially due to its romantic feel. The beds were very comfortable and the room was cleaned every day. We really had nothing bad to say about this hotel. Both the people and hotel were lovely and it was well worth the money we spent on it. If I were to go to Rethymnon again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionamay20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Perfect place, a true labour of love, each detail has been restored by hand, often that of Vangelis, who when we asked told us about the many processes involved in the restoration. Katerina was delightfull, both are so warm and kind, and nothing too much trouble, and great to chat to about Cretan ways and the past. Furnished with Katerina's eye for design, furnishings super comfy and lovely beds. Breakfast bought from the bakers round the corner is delicious, and great to have the option to enjoy self catering right in the middle of the cafes/gallery/harbour area. We finished our 18 days in Crete with a final night in their villa in the mountains, a garden of paradise. We will be back, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just spent a week staying at Casa De Delfini. We cannot rate it highly enough. The owners and their architect son have created a stunning hotel by renovating a Venetian town house to a very high standard, which is full of character and charm. There are two rooms downstairs, two on the next floor with little balconies overlooking the beautiful little courtyard, and an apartment on the top floor. The downstairs rooms are a little on the dark side. We spent two nights in room one and then at our request Katrina moved us up to the 1st floor. All the rooms are self catering with little kitchenettes and ensuite bathrooms. I was so impressed by how clean and well presented the rooms were kept with daily fresh towels and maid service. We had stayed the previous week at a luxury 5 star hotel on the East coast of Crete so had been prepared to feel a bit of a come down when we arrived at this second weeks hotel, however not at all. Casa De Delfini is simply very high class and we felt very lucky to have stayed there. The old town is car free which is great. there is free parking a short walk away. Katrina the owner could not have been more friendly and helpful. She knows so much about the area and advised us on some fabulous places to visit in our hire car and where to park. My suitcase handle broke and when we were leaving she kindly strapped my case on her bike and wheeled it to our car. Nothing was too much trouble. Rethynmon itself is not an attractive town, but the old town is fabulous with briliant places to eat. We spent the evenings there and otherwise were out and about exploring the area. We will definitely go back next time we are in Crete.

Room Tip: One of the upstairs rooms is best as the downstairs rooms are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wygelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo
Hotel Leo
#34 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vetera Suites
Vetera Suites
#83 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#21 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Delfini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Delfini

Property: Casa De Delfini
Address: 68 Foka Nikiforou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Delfini 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa De Delfini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Delfini Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing