We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$83
View deal
Expedia.com$83
Priceline$92
Hotels.com$83
Travelocity$83
Orbitz.com$83
FindHotel$83
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
162
29
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
162
29
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town ancient building place to stay we've stayed stayed here for nights perfect stay excellent location lovely hotel maisonette courtyard crete accommodation hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 194 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Location
In the old city very close to the archaeological museum, fortress, Venetian harbour and the bus station. The road is closed to cars so you'll have to drop off luggage then park/ask taxi driver to get to nearest access point if arriving by car. The owner is very helpful & will talk taxi drivers to the best drop off point if need be.
Noise
Scooter noise only for street facing rooms. If you have the ground floor room immediately facing the courtyard door you may be disturbed by guests returning late.
The hotel
Stunning. If you want to experience Venetian Rethymnon but don't run to top end prices, the House of the Dolphins is for you. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Original features are well preserved. This is the first time I've stayed in a room with its' own well!
Do be aware that this is in fact "rooms" not a hotel. No food is served but rooms have a fridge & simple cooking facilities. Also there is no formal reception. You'll need to advise the owner of your arrival & departure times.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptahsuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay for 3 nights in June and wished we had planned to stay longer as there is so much to see in the area. Katerina and Vangelis were very friendly and helpful from the first email and offered great advise on places to see, including the monastry at Arkadiou and Margarites in the hills above Rethymno.
We stayed in the smaller studio and our friends had the larger studio, both on the ground floor, very charming and comfortable. The shower in the smaller studio was tiny, but not a problem, and we had the old courtyard well (sealed with a glass lid) in our room.
When I asked for directions to the nearest laudromat, Katerina kindly offered to do our washing, which was great appreciated.
The apartments are in a great location in the old town and the only downside was no vehicular access in the narrow cobblestone streets. Katerina advised us on the closest public parking by email before we arrived, so it wasn't a problem. However, be warned that the public parking area next to the stadium is the site for the markets on Saturdays, so our hirecar was surrounded by stalls when our friends tried to leave on Saturday morning, and some tricky manouevring was required to get the car out. Later we parked in the square north of the stadium, which was an easy walk to the accommodation.
Great to have kitchen facilities to prepare breakfast and lunch, and plenty of excellent restaurants to choose from for dinner.
Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Rethymno and the old town is every bit as charming as Hania, which seems more crowded.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateKen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We felt fortunate that we were able to book into Casa dei Delfini. It is a delightful place...step through the front door, and you are in a lovely inner courtyard. Our room had a balcony over the courtyard, and it was so lovely to sit there to hear the "outside world" come to life in the morning, and also to sit there at night to view the stars. Katerina was most welcoming and very helpful. The remnants of the Turkish Hammam in our room were really fascinating, while the room was also modernized with conveniences we have come to expect. I would stay there again in a minute!

Room tip: From what I have heard, you won't go wrong with any of Katerina's rooms.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan094_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Starting from our first email exchange (even before we booked the room), Vangelis and Katerina were extremely helpful and welcoming. The rooms have been renovated for modern comforts but still maintain old world charms. Our room was on the 2nd floor, with a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room itself was larger than we expected, comfortable, and nicely furnished. This was one of the nicest rooms we had in Greece and a great value. Casa dei Delfini is conveniently located in the old town section of Rethymno and you can walk to the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc..

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyArnottE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed this lovely place, every detail was beautiful, I did not want to leave! I felt transported back in time, while enjoying modern pampering. Katrina was gracious and welcoming. Sitting on the balcony with the scent of jasmine, peaceful and quiet, is a fabulous memory. One of the nicest rooms in my trip to Greece, and great value for the money.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenTea-SNAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews