We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Hotel - recommended highly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #55 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely Hotel - recommended highly”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Following an all too short stay with the Appollon Family, I would love to recommend this hotel to any traveller. A quiet spot, with more than adequate facilities with friendly staff - who serve fantastic Frappes!!

No sign of any noisy families or nosie from the bar - I stayed in Room 206 and found this to be clean, tidy and more than adequate cooking facilities for my needs.

I am really looking forward to returning as soon as I can!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just back from a two week holiday with my family. Lovelly clean apartments, towels and bedding changed every other day. Staff always friendly and willing to help. A short walk to the main strip for restaurants but a pleasant one at that. Lovelly friendly people. The beach was lovelly the bar was open late but only till the last man went home no roudy holiday makers. We will be going back again.

Room Tip: Do not go here if you have walking difficulties unless you are willing to hire a car or get a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The hotel is lovely and the rooms are basic but clean. Our room was facing the back of the hotel I think near 'the noisy family' which was quoted in an earlier review. However this was no problem at all they were NOT noisy!!. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and our continental breakfast was served to us every day on the terrace by the very lovely Maria. It was so peaceful The hotel is in a great place just a 10 to 15 minute walk to beach and all the bars and resaturants down the road and under the bridge. I would definitely return. Jack (Iakovic) the barman is a real character and we all loved him. There are many cats around the hotel but they pose no problem at all. It was just so relaxing, with some music on during the day and the holidayers got together at night for a last few drinks before going to bed. Jack will keep the bar going as long as you want and he makes great cocktails!! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and the room was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I are just returning from a stay at the apollon. We would definitely recommend this hotel. However you have to bear in mind you get what you pay for. If your looking for a friendly, quiet, relaxing budget break then this is the place. We are about to have our first child and wanted to get away before the madness starts! If your wanting night life this place is not it.

What we found bad were that It's not in rethymno it's in platanias which is a 8-10 euro taxi journey. Which we were not told by Thomas cook. Platanias is a bit tacky and run down.

The restaurants are not very authentic and in general you need to go to rethymno. We usually go by the rule if the restaurants full then it can't be bad! Exception avoid verginas. Always packed in both restaurants, food was below average. However there is an excellent Meze place 2 mins down the road from the hotel opposite the church. I think it was called boemiss. Excellent food, Meze portions are big beware! We always left with full belly. You must try the koukouvaiga. Mother and daughter who run it are brilliant. In rethymno the lemon tree had great food.

Some people may find the hotel too far from platanias. It's 10 mins walking to platanias and 15 mins to the beach. Didn't bother us. Beaches were clean and it was 5 euros for two sunbeds. Yiannis beach taverna was good for lunch. (can you tell we like nice food!)

Everyone is friendly and helpful. At the hotel, at the beach, in restaurants.

I know it's a cliche but it's true. The hotel is clean and tidy. Our room was cleaned and beds were changed every other day. For the cost it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mick77York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

These apartments are in a good location if you prefer not to be in the resort centre and don't mind a little walk. The main road via Lidls is hilly, the shortcut is flatter.

They are 10 mins from main drag and 15 mins from beach. You DO NOT have to cross over the motorway as stated in a previous review. Welcome information contains a small map showing a shortcut to the beach and main street which takes you through an expressway underpass.

There are 2 supermarkets, a bakery and two tavernas all within a 2 minute walk from the apartments.
The "Bohemissa Mezze Bar" is a real treat to have on your doorstep and turned out to be our family favourite. The food was better than anything we tasted in the main street. The trick is to let Pagona guide you. She will tell you what is fresh that day and will select a good mix of small plates to have the Greek way if you let her. The only night we didn't follow her advice (and friendly warning) we ordered way too much food and spent 10 euro’s more unnecessarily. We ate there 4 times over our two week stay. Many thanks to Pagona and her mum, who does the cooking.

The apartments are basic and not kitted out for true self catering. We had two rooms neither of which had a kettle, though staff were happy to provide one when asked. Windows and doors have sliding metal shutters which appear ugly and unwelcoming at first but they turned out to be very practical as they provided night ventilation.

Rooms were cleaned daily with regular changes of towels and bedding. I would not have expected more.

Our rooms overlooked the shallow end of the pool and we had no experience of the noisy Greek family, just the bar music which lasted until at least 1am. Midnight would have been a more reasonable cut off.

The pool was the best feature. It was never too busy and surrounding area was kept clean and tidy.

Overall, good basic apartments with great pool and friendly staff. Good if you want the space of an apartment but don't intend to self cater too much.

Room Tip: Rooms at shallow end of pool are quieter and if not overlooking pool have a lovely view over surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TriciaMjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We (me, partner, 16 year old daughter) ended up having a lovely 2 week holiday at the Apollon. We booked last minute and the travel agents didn't have any details so I was a bit worried by some of the reviews on here.

For us the location was perfect. Away from the noise and bustle of the resort centre, on a quiet road, but only 10 minutes walk from loads of shops, bars and tavernas. I suspect the pavement/road situation has been improved since earlier reviews as we found it safe and well lit and didn't have to cross any busy roads to reach all the amenities (inc bus stops and taxi rank). The two tavernas and bakery at the end of the road (100 yards) were both particularly good.

The apartment complex is welcoming and spacious with plenty of room in the lobby and around the pool. There were always free sunloungers (although the best spots did seem to get baggsed much earlier in the morning than we were prepared to get up - we were on holiday after all!) and plenty of umbrellas. The pool bar is useful as is the little shop, but probably best to stock up at Lidls for the essentials as it's a lot cheaper. The bouganvilla is beautiful and the kittens adorable (don't worry, they were fed daily by the pool staff). There is a small games room with table tennis, pool table and darts board. The free wi-fi worked in the lobby, our apartment and by the pool (in fact you may feel a bit left out if your not using a smart phone/laptop/i-pad by the pool!)

When we first saw our apartment (No 7) I was a bit worried that it appeared to be almost below ground level and we obviously weren't going to be getting nice views out over the countryside. We were also really close to the road. However, this turned out to be a blessing as it stayed lovely and cool all day and evening and we were away from the noise of the bar in the evening. In the end we loved the little garden we had outside the balcony and the road is so quiet that being close to it wasn't a problem either.

The kitchenette is on the basic side (no kettle so have to boil water in saucepans) and no corkscrew/bottle opener. But we were planning to eat out every night anyway and the fridge was easily big enough for our water, beer, wine and greek youghurt. The bathroom isn't the worse we've had in Greece - at least there is a shower tray and the sink and mirror were really big. Ok the floor gets a bit wet, but it dries pretty fast too. Basically for a 2/3 star greece apartment it's all pretty good.

Our room was cleaned every other day (bins emptied, floor swept, bathroom floor washed) and our sheets and towels were changed twice a week. There was a bath mat and a bath sheet + hand towel per person. Tip - 2 of the fluffy blankets on top of the mattress with sheet on top makes the beds much more comfortable. We found all the staff polite and helpful and everyone spoke excellent english.

All in all we were really pleased to stay here for two weeks and on the days when all we wanted to do was laze by the pool it was a relaxing and pleasant place to be. With a hire car it's a great base for trips into the hills, the south coast, Iraklion and Hania. The nearest beach is about a 20 minute walk. Although we don't make a habit of returning to same place, with Apollon I'd be prepared to make an exception.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the pool may suffer from noise from the bar. Rooms with balconies at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

had a wicked time there,clean room,maid changed room three times we were there,could have been four but cant remember.pool was clean and never really busy had loads of fun round there with other couples and made good friends.the bar was good and was open till after one o'clock with plenty of free raki!.beach was about ten -fifteen minutes walk down the hill.loads of places to eat and rethymno was twenty minutes away by bus.would stay there again no problem.top marks

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thenomad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#18 of 20 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#66 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#13 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#6 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.0 mi away
Astali Hotel
Astali Hotel
#8 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel Apartments

Property: Apollon Hotel Apartments
Address: Nees Fokees Street | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#34 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollon Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Platanes of Rethymno, one of the most beautiful areas of Crete, a quiet and hospitable place was created for you and your family. Traditional villages surround Apollon Apartments and they are within 10 min walking distance from the sandy beach of Platanes. Our apartments offer you a friendly, pleasant and hospitable environment with excellent and modern facilities including a fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, phone, radio, safety box and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Apollon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Rethymnon
Apollon Hotel Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing