We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed to full marks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avli Lounge Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Closed to full marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Strange title perhaps, but I never give 100% marks on the basis of improvement however slight should be encouraged, That said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Avli and it is well deserving of a great review.

The greeting was warm and friendly, The room was clean ,tastefully furnished and decorated
and practical. The bathroom whilst narrow had a good shower/wet area and was pleasant to use.

The hotel was blessed with characterful dinning areas and the breakfast patio was a delight.

Breakfast itself was a most pleasant experience with a wide range of local foods , beautifully prepared and served in a polite and friendly manner. We ate dinner at the hotel and enjoyed that too, although the menu was a little limited for my taste. I know Jonnie would disagree on this one.

Overall a great stay in the beautiful hotel in a great location for the fine old town of Rethymnon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roddyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
355
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This charming and affordable historical bldg hotel is well located in the heart of Rethymno - walking distance to all attractions and a beach...is has a great adjacent restaurant and super nice management!

The only downside is that the room can be noisy in the evening as it is one floor above street restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly, classy, different. The garden is so beautiful and the food is first rate. The rooms are full of character. We had a lovely stay. However, some rooms are quieter than others. We will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This small boutique hotel offers top notch service, personal touches, beautiful rooms and a great central location.

I can not say enough positive about this hotel. A beautiful courtyard, creative and delicious breakfasts, staff who go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable, suites that are well designed, ample in size and luxurious....what more can one ask for?

We stayed here to celebrate a milestone birthday for my husband. When the staff learned why we were there the 'gifts' began! At dinner they brought us champagne, a special birthday dessert and after dinner drinks-all on the house. We had booked a small room in Candy Suites (and it is small) and the next night we were offered a free upgrade to the White Suite. This was much appreciated as I had come down with the flu and was unable to leave the hotel for 24 hours. The soft bed was just what I needed.

Rarely have we encountered such kind and giving people. Johnny in particular deserves a special thank you for his generosity and exceptional service. Thank you.

Don't think twice-book your stay at this hotel in you are anywhere in the Rethymnon area. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Take any room you can get just to experience this hotel and the wonderful food. The dinner here i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

What made this hotel truly amazing was the beauty of the reception/meals/bar and the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. This was our first stop in Greece of a 4 week holiday and this property was truly one of the most beautiful we stayed at.

Rethymno itself doesn't have a whole lot to do, so make sure you hire a car and get out and discover the truly breathtaking beaches and canyons that are an easy drive from town. I would HIGHLY recommend Balos & Preveli Beach, the scenery on the drive (particularly to Preveli) is just as beautiful as the beach.

What you need to know about the Hotel / Rethymno-
- Breakfast - made to order, with a wide variety of choices and was absolutely delicious
- Rooms - spacious, however we found the bed quite hard. There was a safe, however it was not bolted down... so there was no point using it. Also, after the rooms are cleaned the windows are left open and the doors unlocked.. which although being reassured it was a safe area and hotel, it left us feeling a bit uneasy.
- Wifi - connection is poor and pretty much non-existent unless you are in the restaurant / reception area. Having said this we were in a room on the top floor so the connection may be better on the lower floors.
- Rooftop hot tub - go and use it! While we were there we never saw another guest up there, but it was a great way to cool off and had a great view over to the fortress.
- Location - right in the middle of beautiful old town, near lots of small boutique shops and restaurants and about 5mins easy walk to the beach.

Thanks Avli for a fantastic 5 nights, your hotel and your hospitality is truly fantastic, I understand why you are ranked so highly. Only took a point off because of the bed - and that is probably just personal preference!

Room Tip: If you want wifi access, choose a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a truly great place to stay in Rethymno. We stayed in one of the executive suites ("Blue Suite"). Upon arrival we entered the lovely quaint courtyard garden restaurant area (see photos) and were sat down and presented with an exquisite traditional Cretan cheese platter and beverages of our choice as a welcome gift. This set the scene for things to come. The staff couldn't be more friendly nor helpful, and the whole place was just awesome, in every aspect. I have never felt more relaxed and "at home" as in this place. The hotel is located in the heart of the "Old Town" in Rethymno and is within easy reach of everything (including the beach), as the whole town is not that big. The room was big/huge, and nicely furnished with four-poster bed, better than expected (see photos), huge marble bathroom and Jacuzzi bath, nice little balcony over the pedestrian street/ally, which is typical of Rethymno Old Town (the Old Town is the cultural heart of Rethymno). There is also a lovely roof terrace attached to the suites with a nice large Jacuzzi style spa/pool and seating area (see photos). The the Wi-Fi also works up there (bonus!) and there is a lovely view all over the rooftops and out to sea over 360 degrees. You get a good view of the old 16th Century fortress on the hill by the harbour (7 min walk). Altogether, very comfortable, perfectly presented in classic homely, boutique style (see photos), with incredibly nice and friendly staff who couldn't do more for you. We loved this place and will certainly be going back.
On a totally connected but separate note, the restaurant at Avli is one of the most renowned in the whole of Crete, and for good reason. The food is second-to-none and a Cretan take on fine dining, with original touches of flair all over it. We are foodies, and whilst we ate great food every night (there are many, many great places to eat in Rethymno from little cheap tavernas (for meze dishes and honey-infused Raki), to higher priced restaurants for a more traditional (for us), 3-course meal, Avli was by far the best place to eat and drink if you are looking for a fine dining experience in the nicest and most stylish of surroundings - this alone is thoroughly recommended! (I will also write a restaurant review also - just in case this is missed by some!)
A big thank you to Yainnis and his team - you guys are awesome!

Room Tip: We had the "Blue Suite", one of the executive suites and it was larger than most of them b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Avli in July 2013, we stayed in the champagne suite and had a fantastic time. The room was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing and we enjoyed been able to go up to the rooftop and use the Jacuzzi after a hard day sightseeing!
The team at Avli are all so welcoming, helpful and friendly, and the location in the heart of the old town was spot on - it was great been able to walk out of the front door into the really pretty cobbled streets that would be so quiet at the start of the day and then buzzing with activity. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights and the food was delicious and the wine choice vast.
The breakfast was a highlight each day, the setting was great (we have been trying to recreate this at home!), the choice of food was good and we tried most things across the week, everything we tried was amazing - so fresh and tasty.
Our stay at Avli really made our holiday for us, we have put it on our list of places to visit again and have already told several friends that they need to try it next time they head to Crete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have a different theme, we loved our stay in the Champagne suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island-h0pper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
27.7 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Property: Avli Lounge Apartments
Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only seven suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing