We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family of two adults and two teenagers spent 4 days in August at the Avli Lounge Apartments in the Blue Suite. This inn is a real treasure in the old section of Rethymnon. The room was magnificent with both eclectic and antique furnishings, exposed stone walls, wood beamed ceilings and large enough to easily accommodate 4 people. The room had a small balcony that looked out onto a pedistrian street. The Avli restaurant, which is also a visual treat, is a block away (3 minute walk).

The stay was made exceptional due to Thanasis, the owner of the inn. He is a true warm hearted host who honestly cares about your stay and ensures that everything meets all your expectations. He arranged for a cab to pick us at the Heraklion ferry and followed up when it was getting late to confirm all was well. Once we arrived at the Avli he welcomed us into his wonderful restaurant and had prepared a cheese dish and wine so that we could unwind after a tumultuous ferry ride from Santorini to Crete. At breakfast and dinner he would chat with us about our day and any upcoming plans. He would make recommendations for any daily excursions in the area and other restaurants - in fact, he personally walked us to a pizza restaurant in the area since my daughter wanted pizza one night. He then cam by at dessert time to ensure we enjoyed our meal. Thanasis is a true proprietor and we all left having a new friend. He has set the bar for other hoteliers.

I would highly recommend the Avli.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 573 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We felt in love with AVLI. Usually when you describe something, you find something nice but something is not perfect. It is life. But not for AVLI! They fight for the best! Great people, excellent restaurant, nice and stylish apartments, raw materials store, best location in the city… All in one!
People are amazing… The Host Thanasis is the best Host we ever met during our impressive travelling experience all around the world. He was always available for us, advised the best places in the city, found time for a glass of wine with us… We liked the owner Katerina very much. She gave us cooking lessons, we cooked snails – it was fun. So charismatic people in AVLI! We wish them all the best!
If you go to the restaurant AVLI, try goat meet (best best best we ever tried), shrimps with rise, mushrooms for starter, meet balls with tzatziki… Or great Cretan salad… If you will have chance to stay in this hotel, you will be surprised with the breakfast: fresh orange juice, tasty Cretan food, aromatic coffee…
Apartments are great. Nicely decorated. We loved jacuzzi on the roof. So romantic!
AVLI is the place we would like to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid777G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My beautiful cousin found this gem on trip advisor, so we need to thank those who post and advise. This place is a gem, a bit of travel needed to get here, but so glad we did. The room and hotel are eccelectic, located in a posh hidden gem in Greece, old world feel. After 10 days in Greece, this is a must for those who love old world ambience. Lovely room, wonderful good, perfect location. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Had two rooms, both were FAB
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When we arrived in Rethymnon we were initially petrified...Thousands of tourists, high-rise hotels, and apartments, and touristy restaurants. We drove through this area to the Old Town Fortress and arrived at our hotel, greeted by Thanassis and his phenomenal staff. We were seated at a lovely table in a passage, given wine, water, and allowed to relax while we checked in.

There are many superlatives that apply. Breakfast was made to order, and served in the beautiful terraced garden area. Dinner in their dining room (also the garden terrace) was excellent.

Our room was the only area that I found a bit unusual. It was quite large, well lit, quiet, etc etc...but, I would have preferred windows and a separate bathroom area. I would research my room more in advance next time.

We will return to Crete, and will stay with Thanassis again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptk813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

at first, the location itself worth the visit.there is a court so pretty....not luxurious, but warm, friendly and stylish at the same time! About the room...the orange one is beyond our expectations....big enought and quite.Mr thanassis is a kind, unstoppable amiable person full of regards.the restaurant is nice, for sure very refined......of course not the normal Crete cuisine.I would say sofisticated Greek cuisine, full of small details.breakfast simply..... fulfilling!!!@don t lose yourself in other places.we are here, and we feel lucky.I highly recommend this small hotel to all couples in love.u won t regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirkoscrofani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our family (incl. 12 and 15 yr old daughters) stayed in the White Suite for 4 nights and was charmed by the AVLI experience before we ever saw our room! Thanassis, the owner, greeted us in the restaurant (also fantastic; separate review though!) with wine and appetizers upon our arrival. This set the stage for the excellent service and warm hospitality that continued during our stay. The room is large and beautiful; very accommodating for a family. Even my "decorator" daughter was impressed at the detail. I liked the extra (complimentary) touches of Raki, honey, water, etc., in the room. The location is perfect for exploring on foot; although when we did inquire about a car, Thanassis arranged it for us. He checked in with us daily (2-3x's?) to make sure we were comfortable and was always willing to share his knowledge of Greek history, culture and even mythology (kids loved that!). A very genuine and warm man with an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoBrowns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our second visit to Avli in 2 years - and we live in Australia. Everything about Avli is outstanding, from the service to the beautiful rooms and food. Thannassis is an outstanding host. You feel like an honoured guest. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are like old friends by the end of your stay. Special thanks to Yannis, Zoe and George for the extra efforts and attention. A big thanks also to Alec - thanks for looking after Tracey!! We promise to return in another 2 years. Life is too short not to stay at Avli!!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Everything exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windows333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 177 in Rethymnon
618 reviews
27.7 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
37.6 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,775 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $94 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing