We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen customer service like it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never seen customer service like it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We are just back from our first trip to rethymnon and can't believe what a gem we found by going to the Avli lounge and apartments. Avli is situated in the old town and is very quaint and central to the restaurants and bars in the area. The old town is a labryinth of cobbled lanes and streets. On arrival at Avli, we were greeted by a drink and a great welcome by the whole team. They have their own on site customer relations manager called Thanassis who is always on hand for advice, restaurant reservations etc. I can think of anything negative to say about Avli and would highly recommend this place to anyone. We have travelled all over the world and have NEVER had customer service like it. Keep it up Avli!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaymondAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
359
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

From the moment you arrive at Avli lounge apartments you are made to feel very warmly welcomed. Prepare to be treated like kings and queens without the pricetag. No attention to detail is spared from the welcome drink and snacks when you arrive to the warm words when you leave. The hotel is impeccably decorated with style and class and the restaurant is one of a kind. The luxurious breakfast was a true highlight, giving you a taste of local Cretan cuisine. Thanassis was an excellent house, providing some great advice on adventures around the island and making you feel right at home. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the beautiful old town and close to the beach. The room was tastefully decorated and always spotless. Do not consider staying anywhere else in Crete!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Service was overall very good. The manager stayed at the hotel until we arrived (11:00 pm) and had a plate of assorted cheese/olives waiting for us. We had an early check out the last day but the manager wanted to personally say good bye so he arrived at 7:00 with fresh fruit/yogurt. Room was very nice….spacious, quaint and once outside the door, we were immediately in the village. Bathroom was spacious but needed a fresh coat of paint and water spilled out onto floor when taking a shower. There is a roof patio which has a jucuzzi but view is urban (looks over roof tops).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in Avli in May 2012, and our stay has been trully amazing. The hotel is located in the best possible spot in the old town of Rethymno, among shops and restaurants and a few meters from the sea front. Our room was excellent with two balconies overseeing the old city's terrasses, the castle, etc. The cuisine is also the best we have experienced in any hotel. However, the best part of Avli is its people. Thanasis, Giorgos and the rest of the personnel are warm hearted people that do care about their guests in an honest and sincere manner. They make sure that everything is perfect during the stay, even if that means, making possible taking breakfast later than the normal hours :-)
All in all, Avli is a place to go back to, time and again. Best location in Creta island!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed in Avli Lounge Apartments in May-June 2012. Amazing place but the real gem was the staff, with the brilliant Thanasis attending to our every need, however minor - not easy when dealing with the young family with the demanding 3 year old child! Thank you so much - will definitely be back! Highly recommended - don't look anywhere else in Crete!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at Avli in early May for our 20th Wedding Anniverary. We were hoping for something a little special and were not disappointed. In fact despite some high expectations (after reading many of the reviews for Avli) not only were our expectations exceeded but we struggle to think how anything could have been improved !

The location, the room, the restaurant area, the service, the food was for us perfect. Beautiful old buildings in the historic quarter of Rethymnon that have been tastfully restored and modernised without losing any of their character. We would sit out on the roof with a glass of wine in the evening with views of the fort and mountains and the swifts flying past just a few feet away - magic !

Thanassis and his team strike that rarely achieved balance between making sure that you have everything that you could possibly want but letting you also have your own time and space to really relax and enjoy the experience. You could go to a very upmarket modern hotel that might on paper claim to be more luxurious but you would miss out on Avli's other trump card - the opportunity to really experience Crete. Its historic location, the fantastic local dishes in the resturant (even breakfast is a real treat with local fruit, yoghurt and amazing omlettes - you will not need lunch !) and the mine of information available from Thanassis. Whether its museums, mountain walks, beaches or friendly non touristy tavernas, Thanassis always had some spot on suggestions.

Literally the only minor change if you had a magic wand would be being able to park (if you are travelling by car) a bit closer - but that would mean losing its location in the the narrow streets of the old city that gives Avli so much charm. Plus no cars means peace and quiet.

Overall a genuine 10 of 10 experience. If you are looking to treat some one they will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms have their own distictive decor - pictures are on the website so you can work out if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience at Avli Lounge. Thanassis, the hotel owner, was a wonderful host! He made us feel so welcome at his hotel and he gave us recommendations on places to visit while in Crete. We also had to leave to catch a ferry in the morning and Thanassis met us at the hotel and provided us breakfast before we left. Thanks for an amazing stay in Rethymnon :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
27.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Property: Avli Lounge Apartments
Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing