We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,379 reviews
380 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,077 helpful votes
“A delightful experience!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Overall - Avli Lounge Apartments oozes with charm and character. Everything about our stay from our warm welcome to our very unique colorful apartment was delightful.

The Avli apartments are tucked away in the middle of Old Town in pedestrian only streets. There are three fully restored heritage buildings two which cater for apartments.our building was located next door to the Avli Raw Material Deli which sold all sorts of Organic products from Crete.

Check in: We arrived at the car- park in town and immediately rang the hotel and in 3 minutes Thanasis the manager was there to greet us and direct us to the hotel. His warm welcome also extended into making us relax with some snacks and drinks before being shown to our room.

Apartment : located next door to their shop Raw Material in a tiny lane way which housed many shops and cafes. Our apartment was called the Blue Room and basically the walls were painted blue and white which created a natural Greek atmosphere.

The apartment was incredibly spacious with free Internet access, four posted bed, two couches, mini bar with a small balcony which overlooked the lane way below.

The only negative was the apartment did not have a working desk which made it difficult for my husband to do his work emails and he had to sit on the bed to work.

Bathroom: had a huge jacuzzi and was very modern and spacious with very interesting Greek decor.

There was also an enormous rooftop jacuzzi / hot tub which overlooked the city.

Restaurant: Avli Garden restaurant is gorgeous the lovely flowered terrace with potted herbs was delightful to dine in. The food was also equally good including an excellent wine selection. Staff were also very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was included in the price.

We loved our two night stay and also the town of Rethymnon and if visiting the town then staying at Avli lounge apartments is a must do!

Room Tip: Look for the sign Fortezza Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    34
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
362
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I own a tour company - Asimina Tours in the USA - and did my routine hotel inspections as I work from Greece in the summer time. This year (after 5 years) I decided to visit the island of Crete.
We had a direct collaboration with the Avli hotel for the past 4 years. Every time I recommended this hotel (from honeymooners to couples) I always knew that I would not have a problem. I decided this year to experience the "famous" hospitality of this hotel so I can understand what my clients rave about.
Needless to say the hotel is truly amazing. The rooms are beautiful, large with beautiful decor. There is a large Jacuzzi in every room. You don't really feel like you are in a hotel. Every room is different and charming in its own way. The breakfast and the dinner were simply the most delicious food I have had in Crete. Thanasis the manager of the hotel has been my contact for the past years and I always felt the connection through the phone and our e-mails when making reservations. It's nice to arrive at a hotel and feel so welcome. I will continue to recommend the Avli to my clients as it specializes not just in hospitality but in personal service the same offered from my company Asimina Tours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stellouko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I can't imagine staying in a nicer room! The food was fabulous and the atmosphere exceptional. The attention to detail and to "you" was extraordinary. This is all made possible through the efforts of Thannassis, the manager at Avli. He was so interested in making sure that we had an exceptional time and that everything was just the way that we wanted it to be. He even made sure that we had breakfast before we departed at 6:30 am for a long day of flights. It is rare to find such service with a personal touch from a person who is truly delighted by your enjoyment of Avli and Greece.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudifromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel has everything--location, accommodation, food---all are superlative. The Avli is located in an old walled town so there is only pedestrian traffic. Architecture reflects Roman as well as Turkish influences. Each suite is different and unique. All are spacious and well appointed. Breakfast is included and and chef is outstanding. Service is impeccable and dining at the Avli is a treat for the taste buds. It is easy to drive to any locations from Rethymnon. I can't imagine any location better on that part of the island from which to base your daily excursions. AND, if you're considering a destination wedding, we saw one while we were there and it was outstanding.

Room Tip: Any and all of the rooms are idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The last stop of our honeymoon was the island of Crete. Upon our midnight arrival in Rethymnon due to travel delays, we were tired and hungry. The instant we reached the front door, George (who is awesome!) escorted us in to meet Thanassis Frangidis, the manager, who bellowed, "I've been waiting all day for you!" Thanassis hadn't gone home after his day's work but rather stayed at the hotel until our arrival to greet us with an unbeatably warm welcome paired with a glass of wine and snack. We immediately relaxed and felt at home. Traveling is my passion, and I have never stayed at a hotel that has displayed such welcome, warmth and personal touch.

Thanassis and the staff at Avli truly made our time in Crete unforgettable. Our room was so welcoming to return to after a day of exploration as the decor was beautiful and the room was spotless. Additionally, you'll be remiss if you don't dine in Avli's garden. Our meals were easily the best in Crete.

During our three days on the island, Thanassis suggested several activities and sights to see. Among the awe-inspiring suggestions were Ballos Beach and the Amari Valley.

As we departed to catch our plane on our last day, I had to hold back tears... I didn't want to leave. I will definitely return to Avli some day. It's a magical place... you'll be doing yourself a favor to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just before our wedding in Crete we were searching for somewhere to have our small celebratory wedding meal and a special place to stay that night . We spotted the pretty courtyard of The Avli hotel and ventured inside. We were greeted by Thanasis Frangidis, the manager who was very friendly and he let us know that the hotel wasn't opening for the season until the Friday of that week. Our wedding was on Thursday. He must have seen the disappointment in our faces because as soon as he realised our story he said that he would open up a day early just for us! He gave us a choice of two beautiful dining rooms to eat in and showed us the tempting menu on offer. He showed us the fabulous suites that The Avli had and we immediately fell in love with the Bridal Suite and booked that too. Our evening there was amazing with fine food and fantastic service - all put on just for us even though there were only five of us in our wedding party. The suite was everything we had hoped for with beautiful furnishings and decor and a spa bath and balcony. The following morning we got up for a late breakfast which included the most amazing orange juice I have ever tasted. We were not hurried out of our suite, just told to relax and enjoy our special time together. Thanasis was totally charming and friendly, and even though our stay was a short (but very special) one, by the time we left he felt like a friend. We couldn't speak too highly of this beautiful hotel and restaurant and would highly recommend a stay there. Thanasis went that extra mile to make our wedding meal and stay at The Avli perfect with happy memories that will stay with us forever. Thank you Thanasis and The Avli and apologies for taking longer than we meant to to write this. With love from Jacqueline and Andy

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaFergusons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here in Sept 2010 receiving an exceptionally warm welcome from the manager Thannassis and his staff despite the very late hour. Our junior suite was very stylish as were the others we viewed during our stay..The restaurant and courtyard area are lovely , breakfasts generous ,restaurant menu excellent and service generally very good.Our holiday was a lovely experience and we recommend the Avli as a place to stay hopefully returning ourselves before long . Location is very central ,plenty of places to eat nearby and Rethymnon was quite lively for Sept.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrah2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
27.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Property: Avli Lounge Apartments
Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing