We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Art of Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Ranked #17 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a lovely small hotel situated in the old town. We spent 10 days there (room 204) and had a great experience. Thanassis was a wonderful host and couldn't do enough for us,recommending some fine eateries and sitting at night in the courtyard with a couple of amstels! and rakki. Angela is a lovely lady if I could have got her in my case I would have brought her back to Scotland all the staff were very friendly. Sitting in the court yard in the morning having breakfast was very relaxing experience - the fresh orange juice is amazing. Enjoyed it so much we're going back in April and taking friends with us. Don't miss out on this little gem

Room Tip: room 204 is a lovely junior suite with the balcony looking down onto the court yard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinscots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a maisonette. Very warm welcome, easy to park the car very close by, very clean and spacious room, good breakfast. The staff and the owner are excellent hosts. Overall a place I would come back to if again in Rethymnon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nektarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the centre of Rethymno and within a 5 min walk of the beautiful quaint streets of the Old Town and Venetian Fortress. The host and hostess are very welcoming and lovely people who really went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay - including a free room upgrade. Breakfast was a bit crowded but we were always able to find a table - you just have to be patient in waiting for other people to get through the buffet. Also the shower head could be positioned a bit better so that you don't have to have a handheld shower. If visiting Rethymno definitely stay here - a lovely hotel and a great sleep on comfy beds!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareMM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very nice room (204) with a comfortable, firm bed, a sofa and a table and chairs. The room has a balcony into the central courtyard overlooking the pool, which was very nice in the morning and evening. In the afternoon, it was very warm!

All of the staff were very kind and helpful. While only there for a week, we were made to feel very welcome, sharing a beer/raki with Thanassis in the evening before heading out to dinner, often at a restaurant that he had recommended. Angela was also very kind. - her Greek lessons were excellent!

Breakfast was very generous and the 8am to 10 am timing meant that you were never rushed. It was lovely to eat breakfast outdoors in the central courtyard. Overall, a very good hotel.

Room Tip: 204 has a balcony and was a good size for two people. The balcony gets very warm in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Ms2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We traveled to Palazzo at the end of August 2013, for a 7 nights stay.
It is very well placed in Rethymnon, close to the fortress but in a quiet area. The room was very clean, and the staff was really helpful. As you can see in the pictures, the pool is mostly for relaxing.
Thanassis, our host, was really helpful and made a real difference for our stay. He can provide tips for places to eat, places to go and visit, places to park your rented car (which can be a problem in that area) and much more. Actually if we would have asked him more often we would have spared some troubles with the Greek style roads (bad signs / closed roads).

More details: good and free wi-fi, nice LCD tv (which we did not use much), good air conditioning, decent and fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hubres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel situated in the beuatiful old town-close to excellent beach, numerous pubs and restaurants.
Very friendly place- the manager, Thanasis really makes the place come alive and we took his advice on where to go to eat- we were very grateful as all places were very good.
The rooms are spotless and have everything you need. If on ground floor you have Terrace area so if you prefer more privacy then ask for a room on first floor or above.
The pool is too small to swim in but nice to cool down in. Nice area on rooftop with a few loungers. We travelled as a couple so fine for us but would not think it is ideal for a family as it is a very quiet place and no room for kids to jump around in pool etc
Breakfast is nice and fresh....looked forward to it every morning!
Thanks Thanasis for a lovely break- looking forward to next visit to Crete already!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

There is not a bad thing to say about this hotel from start to finish it was an experience I will never forget and on top of it being a gorgeous, accommodating establishment it was Thanassis that made our experience that much better. He directed us to the most amazing dinners, (Avli, Prima Plora and Cavo D'oro to name a few) He became a friend to us and pointed us in all the right directions. There is so much to see in Greece so many islands but I gaurantee that I will go back here one day soon. The hotel itself is clean, and stunning, the staff is amazing our room was spacious. The ladies that tend to the rooms were a joy (considering we had a little too much to drink one night and they called us to see if we wanted them to clean) We arrived at 2am and were greated with a smile and a Mythos. The breakfast was perfect although we only had it twice we arent early risers but our room being on the top floor (302) had a relaxing area with chairs where we sat and enjoyed a glass a wine till early in the morning. It is so close to town but tucked away so you don't hear the hustle and bustle. One of the BEST places I have ever stayed, please don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it. I want to say thank you to the entire staff and ESPECIALLY Thanassis, you made our trip one to remember!

Room Tip: Room 302 was perfect, we could sit under the stars with our door open if we needed to get anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 177 in Rethymnon
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antica Dimora Suites
Antica Dimora Suites
#37 of 177 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 177 in Rethymnon
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence

Address: Iroon Polytechniou and Melissinou St, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#23 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $93 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence is a small, romantic and beautifully furnished Hotel in Rethymno, Crete. Located exactly in the heart of the old town of Rethymno, Palazzo Vecchio was built in 15th century in the days of the Venetians. In the neighboring,you can find a plethora of restaurants, cafe, shops & various points of interest, in easy walking distance. Palazzo Vecchio is one of the oldest mansions of Rethymno, located at the ‘edge’ of the old town of Rethymno, below the Venetian Fortress “Fortezza”, 50 meters from the Mediterranean Sea at a short distance from the Venetian fortress “Fortezza” and close to the impressive building dated from the Ottomans time. The hotel consists of 23 rooms and has been restored with skill, taste and respect to its history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchio Rethymnon
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing