We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Ranked #17 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We traveled to Palazzo at the end of August 2013, for a 7 nights stay.
It is very well placed in Rethymnon, close to the fortress but in a quiet area. The room was very clean, and the staff was really helpful. As you can see in the pictures, the pool is mostly for relaxing.
Thanassis, our host, was really helpful and made a real difference for our stay. He can provide tips for places to eat, places to go and visit, places to park your rented car (which can be a problem in that area) and much more. Actually if we would have asked him more often we would have spared some troubles with the Greek style roads (bad signs / closed roads).

More details: good and free wi-fi, nice LCD tv (which we did not use much), good air conditioning, decent and fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hubres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel situated in the beuatiful old town-close to excellent beach, numerous pubs and restaurants.
Very friendly place- the manager, Thanasis really makes the place come alive and we took his advice on where to go to eat- we were very grateful as all places were very good.
The rooms are spotless and have everything you need. If on ground floor you have Terrace area so if you prefer more privacy then ask for a room on first floor or above.
The pool is too small to swim in but nice to cool down in. Nice area on rooftop with a few loungers. We travelled as a couple so fine for us but would not think it is ideal for a family as it is a very quiet place and no room for kids to jump around in pool etc
Breakfast is nice and fresh....looked forward to it every morning!
Thanks Thanasis for a lovely break- looking forward to next visit to Crete already!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

There is not a bad thing to say about this hotel from start to finish it was an experience I will never forget and on top of it being a gorgeous, accommodating establishment it was Thanassis that made our experience that much better. He directed us to the most amazing dinners, (Avli, Prima Plora and Cavo D'oro to name a few) He became a friend to us and pointed us in all the right directions. There is so much to see in Greece so many islands but I gaurantee that I will go back here one day soon. The hotel itself is clean, and stunning, the staff is amazing our room was spacious. The ladies that tend to the rooms were a joy (considering we had a little too much to drink one night and they called us to see if we wanted them to clean) We arrived at 2am and were greated with a smile and a Mythos. The breakfast was perfect although we only had it twice we arent early risers but our room being on the top floor (302) had a relaxing area with chairs where we sat and enjoyed a glass a wine till early in the morning. It is so close to town but tucked away so you don't hear the hustle and bustle. One of the BEST places I have ever stayed, please don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it. I want to say thank you to the entire staff and ESPECIALLY Thanassis, you made our trip one to remember!

Room Tip: Room 302 was perfect, we could sit under the stars with our door open if we needed to get anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here- the rooms are nice, in a fairly quiet area of town yet still near to the bus station and the old town, and a very nice owner. He was more than willing to help with restaurant suggestions and helping us to figure out our transportation. My parents were staying at another hotel and were jealous of ours :) The pool is small, but I came here for the beaches so I was not bothered by this at all and thought it was very pretty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed with wife and kid in a triplet for 115 Euros for three nights in high season. Small well refurbished old Venetian house, room neatly furnished, though nothing particular special, bathroom decent (the occasional creepy crawly has to be accepted in Greece, so the one smal cockroach I noticed in the bath-tab I flushed away). The pool was small, but quite good for cooling down in the evening. Poor breakfast with gone-off fruits, so we left out the breakfast for the last two mornings. OK for a short stay, but I would not really return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReisenderGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Palazzo Vecchio is a great hotel next to the beautiful old town of Rethymno. It has a unique personality being very different than typical vacation places. The rooms are located around a beautiful central patio. This patio was where the wonderful breakfast was served and a great place to relax and have a coffee or drink. It was especially beautiful at night due to nice lighting. My room was on the ground floor, very well kept, spacious and with a lot of character. The staff was exceptional in helping us for our every need, especially Thanasis, a great warm person that was full of positive energy, humor and great suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoannisSta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

August 2013

The bad; nothing really, there is sparse parking next to the hotel but ample free parking within a few yards (in fact beneath the walls of the Fortezza, quite cool really). Unload your car by double parking (it's a done thing) then move the car, easy.

The good; a fabulous location between the old town of Rethymno, the Fortezza and the sea. There's a public square within twenty yards that's on the edge of the old town but far enough away (only yards really) that means it's part of the REAL Rethymno.

The great; everything else! Thanasis greeted us and very quickly became a trusted friend, advising us on the very best places to eat, swim and visit (ask him about Petros and the Cava D'Oro restaurant on the harbour and the town of Spili). The breakfast is simple but great and eating in the small (by the way the pool IS small but perfectly formed, don't stay if you want a "fun pool" for the kids to spend the day in) courtyard was a daily joy. The cosmopolitan clientelle were unfailling friendly and Thanasis' multi-lingual capability broke any ice there may have been. Any concerns about the rooms themselves can be dispelled immediately, ours was on the ground floor and faced on to the courtyard. The rooms are quiet, spacious, cleaned daily and air-conditioned. Each morning we got a lovely "kalispera" from the staff and their discrete and efficient cleaning was very welcome. The courtyard wakes up slowly in a morning and quitens down by about 23:00 (after a few convivial drinks with the fellow guests). Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 10:00 but even with the full occupancy when we stayed there space was always available. The location is fantastic, the accomodation is fantastic, the staff are fantastic. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are straight on to the courtyard but we liked that. Choose 1st or 2nd floor if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllyAitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Fortezza Hotel
Fortezza Hotel
#33 of 175 in Rethymnon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence

Address: Iroon Polytechniou and Melissinou St, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#31 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence is a small, romantic and beautifully furnished Hotel in Rethymno, Crete. Located exactly in the heart of the old town of Rethymno, Palazzo Vecchio was built in 15th century in the days of the Venetians. In the neighboring,you can find a plethora of restaurants, cafe, shops & various points of interest, in easy walking distance. Palazzo Vecchio is one of the oldest mansions of Rethymno, located at the ‘edge’ of the old town of Rethymno, below the Venetian Fortress “Fortezza”, 50 meters from the Mediterranean Sea at a short distance from the Venetian fortress “Fortezza” and close to the impressive building dated from the Ottomans time. The hotel consists of 23 rooms and has been restored with skill, taste and respect to its history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchio Rethymnon
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing