We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
The sound system can be connected with your iPod/smartphone Second floor patio with views to the castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Spacious living room with home theater and air-conditioning
The sound system can be connected with your iPod/smartphone
Second floor patio with views to the castle
Second floor patio with views to the castle
Stay in the heart of the Old Town
First floor balcony with views to the Old Town
Fully equipped kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven with hob and microwave
A dishwasher is provided
French press, kettle, espresso machine, teapot, juicer, toaster and blender
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
First floor queen bedroom
This sofa can be converted to an additional bed
Double bed for additional guests
Second floor bathroom
First floor bathroom with clothes washing machine
Ample dining space
A hairdryer is available
We provide clean towels, shampoo and shower gel
We offer beach towels
English board games are provided; including Jenga, Scrabble, Monopoly, Uno, chess
Available on request
Map of Rethymno town center, displaying the property's convenient location
Exterior of the house
The entrance to the house is on the left
This fabulous beach is a 5 minute walk from the house
The Venetian Harbour is down the street
Rimondi fountain is around the corner
The street where the house is located
Explore the picturesque alleys of the Old Town around the house
Shop for souvenirs in the quaint little stores
The surrounding area has rich nightlife if you fancy a drink
Alana restaurant offers fine dining nearby
A grocery store is available in the neighbourhood
Enjoy fresh produce every day of the week
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Doris Z
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The unit is centrally located in the Old Town section..It is a very busy area with many great places to eat and a lot of shops. We felt very comfortable allowing our teenage grandchildren to explore the area on their own. The house is above a bakery with a little balcony from which we could look down upon all bustling activities in the street below. With the doors closed it was quiet and comfortable inside. The owners helped us bring in our luggage and had homemade cookies waiting for us. Th houses clean and roomy and the beds are comfortable. The centra location is good for exploring the countryside if you have a car.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chillihit
Whitstable
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great House in a great town”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great house - we could happily have lived in it, not just for a holiday. It's really big - spacious lounge diner and kitchen area and good bedrooms. Plenty of kitchen equipment, bedding, towels (including beach towels). It was probably the best equipped place we have ever stayed. There is a washing machine and a clothes line, also a dvd player so bring along some of your favourite films or programs to watch. Wifi was excellent - we just plugged in the surface pro and had a working office for our stay. Wifi was generally good throughout Rethymnon. The roof terrace was a suntrap and the balcony was lovely for sitting and watching the action in the street.

Valanti met us at the harbour when we arrived to show us to the house - all very easy. He speaks excellent English and we saw him quite a few times during our stay.

The bakery below sold excellent bread and cakes (NB nicer bread than the supermarket - we liked the large white loaf best). There was a supermarket round the corner which stocked pretty much everything at reasonable prices.

The house is in the heart of the old town withs atmospheric maze of streets. As it's a university town it has a nice young vibe and was pleasantly bustling even in early season. The harbour and the beach are a 10-15 minutes walk, a bit further if you want to go the nicer stretches of beach a bit further along the seafront. You can walk through backstreets if you want some shade. We liked the bit by the Batis hotel where the guy was really friendly and you could use his sunbeds if you bought a drink (which he was happy to bring on the beach for you).

We hired a car and it's true the Cretans drive like nutters (also ride their scooters right in front of you and just step out in front of you to cross the road). We joked that is is like one of those driving video games. It's nice and quiet driving in the countryside but the towns are a bit scary. We found the best route into Rethymnon was to take the 3rd Rethymnon exit on the road from Heraklion (or the first from Chania direction). This takes you out past the fort and you can then go back towards the fort without passing through town. When you approach the fort there is a dusty car park which was our preferred parking - you could then walk down the road where the supermarket is to get back to the house (5 minutes or less).

If you don't fancy hiring a car the bus station is the other side of the fort (about 10 minutes walk). In any case we spent most of our time walking around Rethymnon - there is plenty to see and do.

There are literally hundreds of restaurants to choose from - we found the food in Crete to be excellent. It has an amazing climate and so much fresh produce. Our favourites were Raki ba Raki (traditional but innovative greek cooking) and BBQ Mamalukis (a kebab place crammed every night with students and locals where you could get a meal with wine for 20-30 euros for the three of us). Lemonokipos (on the large square round the corner) was a lovely place to spend the evening. We ate at lots of places and never had a bad meal. The bar Cul-de-Sac (by the fountain) was the place to sit with a drink and people watch - always packed with locals and tourists despite the smelly drain nearby! Excellent cold beer and wine and nippy waitresses who could balance whole trays on their fingertips and always remembered your favourites.

If you get the chance go to the market on Thursday morning - amazing produce and atmosphere.

Hoping to return sometime soon - loved everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2016
Dear Ceri & George,
Thank you for providing such a detailed and honest review. Future visitors will sure appreciate all these great tips and recommendations. Rethymno indeed has a young vibe - lots of university students. There is a large number of quality restaurants in the Old Town, so one can eat to his heart’s content. Next time you visit Crete, dinner is on us!
Kind Regards,
Valanti Gasparis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeTyn...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all loved our trip to Crete. The house was everything we expected and more. The living room/dining roomwas so spacious and we loved the balcony overlooking the street. The roof terrace was a great palce for a glass of wine after our daily excursions. The bakery downstairs sold fantastic bread - and so cheap. The cakes were tempting too. We really appreciated the information about parking. It was lovely to meet Valanti and Anna and the dyed eggs and Easter biscuits were lovely. The bedrooms were quiet. Some fantastic restaurants nearby - we loved Zephyros and went there twice. We also enjoyed Castelvecchio and Vassilis. Hiring a car is a great idea - we travelled 969 kilometers around the island in the week. Would happily go back to this superb accomodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thank you so much for writing a review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We strive to provide high quality accommodation in the heart of the Old Town and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in our guesthouse.
All the best,
Valanti Gasparis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joa1313
USA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious, well located, everything you need is there, helpful friendly owners”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In old town, close to everything, but the bedrooms are quiet. The owner and his parents were kind, thoughtful, helpful. The kitchen had everything you need. Comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusyBusyB...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place- bang in the middle of the gorgeous old town”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic time in this lovely home. Great restaurants and cafes literally on the doorstep along with a cute little maze of streets and shops that were fun to explore. The space itself was lovely and very comfortable inside - which was lucky as we witnessed quite a lot of rain! Thanks Anna and Nick for the lovely olive oil and scrumptous cake upon arrival - which didn't last long. We hope to come again soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motown78
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in a lovely part of town”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We found Valanti’s House to be the perfect base for us to stay in Rethymno. It’s right in the heart of the old town, which in my opinion is the nicest part of Rethymno with pretty streets and a plethora of great restaurants within walking distance.
The apartment is bigger than it appears in the photos and has everything you need, although we ended up barely using anything as we ate out every night (an unexpected bonus considering we have 20 month old. The restaurants are very child friendly). The place has excellent air conditioning, which is important as obviously Crete can get very hot . We also found it to be pretty child friendly as doors allow you to close off rooms and stairs to inquisitive toddlers.
Despite being located in a relatively busy part of the old town, the apartment is very quiet. We found the roof terrace to be great for breakfast in the morning as it was peaceful with a nice view of the Fortezza, while the balcony which overlooked the street was great in the evening, giving us a feeling of being out and part of things (whilst being in and looking after our baby!).
While very close to the coast, the apartment is probably a 10 min walk to the main beach which is great, although we also used the car to drive to some of Crete’s other stunning beaches across the island.
Anna and Nick gave us a lovely welcome on arrival, while Valanti passed by and said hello to us from the street us we sat on the balcony one evening.
We REALLY enjoyed our holiday in Crete and this apartment very much helped. Would recommend to anyone who doesn’t need to be RIGHT on the beach and while not being one for going back to the same place, we loved it so much we’d seriously consider staying here again if we return to Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeyNotti...
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and great location”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We agreed that we could live permanently in this house! It really does have everything you need and the kitchen is large and well equipped. As we were leaving we met Nick and Anna again and I said to Anna that we thought it was a great place to stay. She was so pleased to hear it and I think genuinely wants people to enjoy their stay and takes a lot of pride in the house. It's lovely being able to step out of the door and get food from the bakery next door or a crepe from over the street. The streets of rethymnon feel very safe and the house is located perfectly for exploring the streets of the old town. The wifi works very well. We got quite lost driving in rethymnon so would advise people to try and get hold of a map of the town or maybe even ask nick or Valanti if they could email or send one prior to the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Everything was great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing