We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atrium Ambiance Hotel
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Excellent value for 3 star hotel!!!
- Good location (3 streets from the sea),
- nice rooms (not state of the art but clean and pretty speacious for a 3 star)
- extremely friendly and kind stuff (except one lady during a dinner but it seems that she didnt understand a word we said :)
- great attitude and effort by the management (they were all arround all the time, not leaving anything to the chance)
- excellent variety and quality of the food (more then we expected from a 3 star hotel!!!)
Potential issues:
- if you are in the room at the street side - it is very busy street! you have to close the door
- if you are in the rooms 1xx it looks more like you are in basement

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank goranbujic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Atrium Ambiance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

This hotel was "sold" to us as a 4star hotel hotel which it clearly isn't. Even taking into consideration that 4star in Crete might mean something else than in Germany, the quality is 2.5stars at the most. For what it offers it is definitely overpriced and I would neither recommend this to a friend nor return there again.

Negative things:
- In the bathroom there was mildew
- There was a an unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom
- The plastering on the walls was coming off
- The furniture was old and damaged
- Rooms towards main street are unbearable in terms of noise
- Walls are very thin
- Breakfast / dinner was not very good quality
- Pool is rather small

Positive things:
- Location was quite central
- Rather clean

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
4  Thank laura2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I've stayed in Atrium in August 2008, with my significant other. We both really liked it!
The distance between the hotel and the old town of Rethymno is about 20 minutes by foot and it is a nice stroll by the sea.
Our room was spacious and clean, with a pretty big balcony. The food in the hotel was good and diverse. There is a pool, but we didn't use it, since we were exploring Crete and travelled to different beaches every day.
The staff is really friendly and helpful. I even got the cake for my birthday waiting for me in the fridge and it was really nice of them!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and Rethymno for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AnaFromBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice midell hotel whit swimming pool. Beach is near. Sweedsh bufet with all kind of food.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Just returned from 10 days stay with my husband ,1 year old daughter , my sister and my parents.
The staff - very friendly and helpful. Especially front desk.
The room - spacious and spotless- cleaned every day. Large balcony overlooking The Artemis and partly sea view.
Room facilities include a small fridge, TV, hair dryer and safe deposit (extra pay) and Air Con.
Entertainment - I can not say anything about evening entertainment since we have traveled with our baby!
The food -We were booked half board. The food was excellent with a great variety. Breakfast included pastries, cereals, eggs (boiled and fried), bacon, sausages, cheese, olives, fresh salads, honey, jams and fruit. Breakfast is served until 10am.
Buffet dinner was also quite good but I forgot to take photos. Served from 7 pm-9.30pm
The menu changes daily: soup, salads, fish, at least 2 meat dishes, several kind of potatoes, boiled vegetables, desserts: selection of cakes, fruits, ice cream. Note – they charge you for drinks and gentlemen have to wear long trousers.
Location-This hotel is a good base – 100 m to the beach, and a 20 min walk to the old town.
We would recommend the atrium hotel to our friends.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank Garinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We requested a low floor, pool view & quiet room. We got a room next to the top floor facing a busy/noisy main road. I went to Reception but was told there was nothing else available. The Hotel is facing a very dangerous/busy road which is very dangerous to cross. The clientele is mainly German, we never actually met another English couple during our holiday. Portland Direct is the only English tour operator to use this Hotel. There sister Hotel next door The Artemetris is only occupied by German population. I have nothing against the Germans but we just missed talking to someone. The breakfast is mainly continental, but the evening meal was very good. We would not return to this Hotel, but we would return to Rethymnon which is lovely especially the old town. On our return journey to the airport, we picked up from the other Hotels, and this was the only time we spoke to another English person, as the main beach seemed also to only be occupied by German people.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2005

Formerly known as Theartemis Palace, the Atrium has been rcently refurbished; the bedrooms are large, light and airy and every room seems to have a balcony. Not overly large the hotel has a family run atmosphere and all the staff were most helpful; speaking English was not a problem for them, but they appreciated my attempts at a few basic Greek phrases.
A good range and choice at meal times all buffet style self service, but well presented, varied and as much (or little) as you like. Small adult pool and separate childrens area with ample (free) sun loungers within the grounds; all rooms very efficiently air conditioned with private facilities, a fridge and satelite TV. Entertainment every other night and a Crete barbecue every other Wednesday. Located alongside the main town road to Heraklion it gives rise to some vehicle noise in one wing, but it is only about 200 metres from an excellent large, clean sandy beach with plenty of watersports. The hotel is about 20 minutes gentle stroll from the town centre and there was ample on street car parking space if you had a hire car. Certainly well worthy of its star rating and probably better than most the hotel was clean, comfortable and an ideal base from which to discover Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#21 of 175 in Rethymnon
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#24 of 175 in Rethymnon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#19 of 175 in Rethymnon
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#13 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Ambiance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Ambiance Hotel

Address: 24 Markou Portaliou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Atrium Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $74 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Ambiance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Ambiance Hotel is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Just 100 m from the largest sandy beach in Crete, this Rethymnon hotel offers an outdoor pool with a poolside cafe and bar. The Atrium Hotel provides air-conditioned rooms with private balconies and satellite TV. Each includes an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer and an in-room fridge. Free Wi-Fi is available. Guests at Hotel Atrium can relax in the free deck chairs with umbrellas right next to the swimming pool. The hotel’s entertainment programme includes a Cretan evening, folklore dancing and live music. Light meals and refreshments are served throughout the day at the poolside cafe. For breakfast and dinner, guests can enjoy a quality buffet featuring Cretan and European specialties. Atrium Hotel is located 65 km from Chania Airport and 84 km from Heraklion Airport. This is our guests' favourite part of Rethymno Town, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Ambiance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Ambiance Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing