We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellagio Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$142
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$177
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
93
77
14
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
77
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach roadsmall supermarketbook tripsspacious apartmentair conditioningcost eurosold townlovely pool areasized poolsunbeds and umbrellasthe ground floorbus stopfriendly hotelon arrivalevery morningreception areaminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 188 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

We spent the fantastic holiday in Rethymnon (July and August 2016) in this charming hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. We got advice to excursions if we needed and also other useful information about the different parts of Crete.

There was very easy and quick way (about 50 m) from the hotel to the peaceful beach. You didn't need to cross the street to get there. And if this beach was too peaceful you found more lively beaches when you walked 100-200 metres along the beach street towards the center. Taxi stop was in the beginning of the beach street (about 100 m from the hotel) and it was very easy and fast to go by taxi to the center. Taxi cost 5 euros. We found the best restaurants mainly in the Old Town but we spent also many enjoyable feelings in some restaurants along the beach street.

Our apartment in the main building was very nice and clean. We also liked the garden and the patio in the main building. Nice view when you enjoyed the basic but good breakfast in the morning. Good start for the day! On excursion days we made the breakfast in our room because the excursions started so early in the morning. The breakfast was 8.00-10.30. But breakfast in our room was good change in some days.

Altogether feeling in Hotel Aristea was very flexible and we liked very much the atmosphere there. This was our first trip to Rethymnon (in other parts of Crete we have been before) and we liked the town very much. If we ever will come again to Rethymnon we will definitely come back to Hotel Aristea.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank Mig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Self catering with a kitchen/lounge and one bedroom. Well away from the main street, great location for us. Typically Crete, quite basic and very clean - good value for money. We had a problem with fridge which was immediately fixed - very efficient. We were on bottom floor which has a patio which was slightly down from street level - would have preferred being on higher floor with balcony but no great problem. Comfy bed and powerful shower. Good size fridge. Good storage but limited clothes hangers (total of 3). Total of three pillows for the bed - would have preferred another one but made do - probably would have got another if I could have been bothered to ask but not such a problem. Additional charge for use of AC - the AC was in lounge and bedroom - both were effective and were not noisy. WiFi was good in the room - can't recall if there was an additional charge - I think it was free. A safe was in the wardrobe - I think there was an additional charge for the key but cannot be sure. Grocery store right next door for essentials, milk bread, olives, cheese, metaxa etc etc. A great beach just two minutes walk. Could eat and drink beside the hotel pool or walk to beach. Good sun beds at first hotel along the beach and good snacks in their restaurant. Easy plentiful taxis (5 Euro) into old town or 30 minute walk - good exercise!! Overall very pleased, enjoyed our week there and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We were down from street level in new building - recommend that you go one floor up for a view. However, very quiet throughout our stay
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Staff members were very helpful. Nice bar close to the pool with good snacks, salads, etc. Relatively small / compact so almost had the feel of a family-run place, especially with the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to the decent-sized pool. Self-catering rooms are quite rudimentary, but all fine in a compact way. Air conditioning would have cost an extra 6 Euros a day.

If going again (and am very tempted to go back outside the really hot summer period), I'd take some sachets of salt, pepper and sugar. There's a small supermarket just across the little street and another bigger one just around the corner in the main road.

Could see the sea from our balcony - the beach is less than a minute's walk away.

Room Tip: Wifi is not totally reliable.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squid397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Stayed here for a week just returned a few days ago had a great week the location of the hotel is perfect about 3k from the town so far enough to be quiet but an easy walk along the front when you want to go into town. Has supermarkets close, by and an excellent bakery at the end of the road. The staff were friendly and helpful, lots to do nearby would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Allyson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Lovely fairly quiet hotel. The staff know who you are and are super helpful. If they don't know something e.g. when we asked where to hire bikes, they'll find out for you. 50m from the quieter end of the beach but you only need to walk 5 mins to get to a busier part near shops etc.
There's some lovely restaurants a few minutes from the hotel and all the way along the seafront as well as in the town itself. There's a tourist information on the street parallel where you can book trips (and she'll rent you bikes for a few euros). Breakfast typical Greek with bacon get
Fried eggs and sausages. Fantastic holiday, would definitely go back!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Becci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews