We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay in a welcoming hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Achillion Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Achillion Palace
Ranked #43 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely stay in a welcoming hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights in August 2012 and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel lives up to the official photographs and is clean, welcoming and comfortable with much needed air conditioning throughout. The buffet breakfast was great and was kept well stocked with a wide selection of dishes. The staff were also very friendly. The roof top pool was peaceful and a good size - perfect for couples and those wanting to really relax. The location is superb with the old town and the beach just a short walk away - no need for taxis or buses. Rethymnon is a delightful resort to stay in and we are hoping to return there and stay at the Achillion Palace next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    108
    46
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
130
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is at a good location, close to the city center. Hotel staff were helpful. However the hotel is not a 4 star hotel but can be considered a 3 star hotel. Small rooms with old style bathroom. Swimming pool is very small. Breakfast ok but not a 4 star hotel breakfast. Expensive for the services that it provides.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STELLA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

A very nice hotel, renovated rooms, with all amenities in the rooms.
It is situated in a very nice location in the centre of Rethimnon, 5 minutes from the old town, with sea view from the 5th floor. In the 6th flooor there is a swimming pool and pool bar with nice view of the town and sea view. Close to rethimnon beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9_Stalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Booked the Achillion Palace as a 4* hotel in a central location, but the images and description on websites should be checked as they are very misleading. It was clean, linen changed every 2days and clean towels every day, but it seemed like a back street hotel in a very dilapidated part of the town. They need to update the air con. - if it was on in the room (it worked), it blew out hot air on the balcony. There was no sea view from any of the rooms - all we could see was the back of other flats and a graffiti covered car park. Breakfast was of a 1* rating - not enough cups, not enough eggs, no bacon etc etc. It's a good job we are not pool lovers as the rooftop pool was horrendous!!!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Pretty good beds. Good size room. Pretty clean. Nice breakfast. "Do not disturb"tags for the door= no supprising cleaners. Pictures make the place look a bit bigger and more posh than it really is. So bring your jeans. The roof was not too busy, but I seen better orangejuices. And we were lucky; no screaming kids there at the time :) AC included, so we didnt have to listen to drunks in the street. One time only a drunk norwegian in the corridor, and its very easy to hear noises from the bathroom nextdoor from the bathroom of your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank Athmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were 2 friendly couples from Cyprus. We are both satisfied with the hotel. Friendly staff in reception and breakfast room. Good brekfast.Large room with balkony overlooking back yard. Room cleaning could be better. No parking. If you have a car you must drive around to find an empty parkspace on street. The location is very convenient for tourists. Very close (few minutes walking) to the market and restaurants. I recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael196214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Good quiet location in the centre of the city. Rooms fine and excellent for the price; well cared for and spotlessly clean. Staff - family run hotel I think - excellent from the charming young lady at breakfast to the porters and the maids. All unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Roof pool a pleasant place to swim

Good free wifi. Parking is tight around the area but we managed to park every day within 5 minutes of the hotel (try up by Carrefour supermarket) but if that's too far for you then you'll have to pay 10 Euro overnight on the quay

This is not a corporate. If you want a Holiday Inn/ Four Seasons then go there but if you want a clean, decent, good value, under-stated central hotel a few minutes from the town centre and the beach I doubt if you will do better

We stayed for 14 nights and would have no hesitation about staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the garden are quieter and sunnier view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigTregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
8.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
8.6 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#21 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#24 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
8.6 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achillion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achillion Palace

Property: Achillion Palace
Address: 27 K Giamboudaki Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Achillion Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ACHILLION PALACE, the most comfortable and friendly hotel in Rethymnon.It is situated in the most beautiful quarter of the city, just a breath away from the seafront and very close to the entrance to the old settlement, whose narrow streets lead to the imposing medieval castle and the picturesque Venetian port.Modern and well-organized, it perfectly blends unique comfort with the traditional Cretan hospitality and aspires to become the ideal base for your activities in the city or your escapes in the greater area.ACHILLION PALACE heartily welcomes you, ready to make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Achillion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achillion Palace Hotel Rethymnon
Achillion Palace Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing