We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
245
73
23
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
73
23
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town large balcony two bedroom suite min walk sea view full kitchen higher floor indoor pool sofa bed breakfast was included lounge area sun all day reception staff busy road fresh fruit thoroughly enjoyed our stay a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 348 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Relaxing stay. Excellent breakfast. Decent restaurant. Good spa and service. Inside pool warm and cosy. The inside pool is open for the kids on rainy days and off season. Very quiet place. Twenty minutes walk to the old town.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank sbrusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We checked in at 9pm, we were greeted by this young gentleman "veliz" he was nice and welcomed us. He gave us directions to go to Elafonissi and not to mention he sent us a complimentary Champagne for our Honeymoon trip. Out of all staff i think he's the only one who gave us smile at all times. I feel like the rest of the staffs didnt want to be there. Bathroom smells mold, it needs better lighting. Def AC needs to be colder, pillows needs to be replaced. That ivory sheets needs to be changed to white color (looks old). Other than that, everything else's is great. Varieties of breakfast was wonderful. Hotel close to Fortaleza Rethymno port. 2 hrs from Elafonissi. 1.5hr away from Heraklion. Since we came mid Sept they gave us room on the 3rd fl Pool view. We did ask if they have higher floor but they said they were full. I saw there were not too many people up there at the time. Note that this is not beach front hotel. If you want to get the view you def need to be in higher floors.

Room tip: Def need to get to higher floors
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank williambJ4126JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

This was 2nd visit to Macaris and pleased to say, it was as good as 1st. Apartments are spacious, clean and well maintained with lovely views over the sea from the good sized balconies. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. There was a good selection of breakfast food with the usual selection of cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon etc but also delicious Greek yoghurt, little cheese pies and other Cretan dishes. Didn't use the spa but it looked lovely. The fitness room was rather dingy but the equipment worked - just. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, particularly the gentlemen on the reception desk and the in the breakfast/dining room.
The location of the suites is good for access to the town and with parking available outside, also easy to reach the main road to Heraklion/Chania.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MegW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We went here for a romantic weeklong honeymoon and we loved every part of it!
The staff was really friendly and helped us out when we arrived at the hotel at 5 o'clock in the morning. They really worked hard to get our room ready as soon as possible. So thank you!!

The room was amazing! A huge room with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. A bubblebath in one of the bathrooms and a huge balcony with a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was extra cost and by the time we figured we wanted to use it, it was too late (you had to pay for at least five nights). The balcony had an amazing view over the sea and the fortress. We spent a lot of time out there. It har three different seating groups. enough to seat about a dusin people. Actually we could have been six people living in the room and still have plenty of space! The kitchen was also the best equiped we have ever seen in Crete. water boilerr and an oven, freezer and refrigirator and last but not least; a dishwasher.

Everything about the hotel was lovely and beautiful. We enjoyed every moment. The breakfast was one of the best we ever had. There was something for everyone! The breakfastroom was also so classy and elegant, even romantic.

The pool area was also very beautiful! When we were there it was calm and relaxing and we always got a sunnbed. However I can imagine that is a problem in summertime because of the few sunbeds.

We will definately come back!

Room tip: Take the cost of getting the jacuzzi!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Hotel is clean and neat. The guys at the reception were very helpful. They have given very nice locations for us to visit and enjoy our vacation. Our suite has a very nice view and a large terrace that we loved.
For us the location of the hotels are so important and this one was close to the touristic attractions and restaurants.
The hotel is simple nothing less nothing more! We were there on August 2015.
And thanks for the sparkling wine !!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 870burcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews