We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macaris Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. with wonderful staff”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent hotel. with wonderful staff
Wonderful and Welcoming staff who were always willing to help you.
The Superior suite was large, with a modern kitchen, the dining areas both in and out (on the balcony) are fabulous , the lounge area has flat screen TV, and another in the bedroom, an excellent bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bath - all the fittings were of a high standard. the room has a fabulous large balcony with 2 comfortable cane type chairs and a table with 4 chairs for dining. Rooms were cleaned daily by a team of lovely people headed (Georgia) who was lovely, nothing was to much trouble for any of this team, all bed linen was changed every 3rd day. All outdoor areas (poolside/sundeck etc) are well maintained and cleaned to a high standard, nice private roof top sun deck.
Breakfasts were excellent both in terms of range of choice, and quality of food. Good pool, never any problem getting a sunbed, which are of an excellent quality,the indoor spa area was also well equipped. the treatment's are first class.
The small indoor pool has a resistance swimming pump which is free to use for hotel guests - as is the spa Jacuzzi.
Car hire in my view is a must In Crete, we picked up ours from the airport ( one item to note the car had no petrol in it and when you return the car it also is returned with no petrol in), it easy to drive around, the roads are good and many areas to visit and see. a hire car can be delivered to and collected from the hotel. its a fair walk into the town and cost around 5 Euros by taxi for the return. Buses are easy to find a there was a stop 10 mtrs from the hotel entrance on the main road the buses travel throughout all areas of Crete.
The restaurants in the town are amazing, a sheer abundance of them, you are really spoilt for choice the old town is must to walk around, my only advice would be,stay away from the harbour to eat, its expensive and is geared up for the unsuspecting tourist, ask the price of the fish per Kilo before excepting the dinner.
Access to the hotel is up a steep hill or via about 50 steps in total which may not suit all guests. The local area is typically Greek, whilst appear to look a bit old, it is perfectly safe for the 20-25 min walk to Rethymnon town, where to walk in the evening for dinner is a real experience and must when staying here.
Excellent local grocer/greengrocer and supermarket 200yds away from the entrance of the hotel towards the old town. Good for all your shopping needs ---fruit//cold meats/beer and wine.
Finally the staff at this hotel are wonderful, and will accommodate all your needs We found that the team, Valies(reception) Jacob, Kostos, Sophia,Georgas, each day were a joy to be with, we will always have very fond memories of the time we spent together, and would publicly thank them all for there friendship and hard working making our holiday such a joy.
I would recommend this hotel and staff in a heart beat

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality the superior rooms have the large Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 127Traveller444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    70
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
133
131
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a large hotel just outside of town. If you have a car, it's easy to park and get into town, but otherwise I'd recommend staying in the city. There's no need to be here as there are no interesting beaches nearby.

If you're out here, you can enjoy that every room is fairly large with a kitchenette and has a view of the sea. The pool is not heated but pretty good if you go by European standards. The breakfast is plentiful but ho-hum, and the in-house restaurant is not good. The spa services are expensive but well done. Note that they do have a pool for toddlers and children.

The staff are helpful but don't give you a sense of doing any more than their job, as opposed to other quality hotels where they feel more like an acquaintance looking out for your best interests. One bartender (Kostas) was above the rest and skilled at making tasty drinks, but they came at a high cost.

All-in-all, there's nothing wrong with the place and it's quite comfortable, but not exactly inspired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Excellent and flexible hotel. Welcoming staff who were always willing to help. Superior suite was large, with a kitchen area, lounge with flat screen TV, bedroom with another TV and a bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath - all fittings were of a high standard. Excellent and large balcony with 2 comfortable cane type chairs and a table with 4 chairs for dining. Rooms were cleaned daily and bed linen changed every 3rd day. All outdoor areas (poolside/sundeck etc) cleaned regularly. Breakfasts were excellent both in terms of range of choice and quality of food. Good pool, never any problem getting a sunbed, and the indoor spa area was also well equipped. The small indoor pool has a resistance swimming pump which is free to use for hotel guests - as is the spa jacuzzi. The event organiser (Ira) was most helpful in organising 2 days of car hire for us (65 euros) - car delivered to and collected from the hotel.

Access to the hotel is up a steep hill or via about 45 steps in total which may not suit all guests. The local area is a little grotty but is perfectly safe for the 20-30 min walk to Rethymno town in the evening for meals. Good local grocer/greengrocer (Mavabiko) about 400 yds towards the old town. Good for salad/fruit/cheese/cold meats/beer and wine.

Minor gripes - bar snack food was not great. TV channels limited - only BBC world and RT available in English. Overall however, a high quality hotel offering great flexibility of accommodation which should suit young and old alike.

Room Tip: Superior suites have larger balconies and are generally further from the road - cost a little more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PagesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days at Macaris, 10th-20th May '14 and I must say how impressed we were with studio and large balcony, but most of all the hospitality of the lovely staff. We stayed half board and the chef Kostas served us fabulous 4 course meals every night, so delicious with no repetitive menu. We loved the bar and waiting staff, lovely Kostas and Sofia made our stay so special. Ira is a font of knowledge and arranged car hire and trip to Spinalonga for us, which is a must-see. Loved the old town, with its diverse shops and historic buildings. The hotel itself is very well planned and spotlessly clean. The garden to front of hotel was just soil when we arrived, within days, the lovely owner and management team had planted a selection of flowering plants and bushes. We will definitely visit this hotel again in the near future. The cretan hospitality is amazing. Our first time in Crete and we fell in love with this lovely island and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302 with full view of the sea. I think this floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is located 1 km west of old town Rethymnon with fantastic view of the fort and marvelous sunsets. It has a nice outdoor pool with a children's pool in the courtyard and a small indoor pool integrated in the nice spa area. It is very clean, the apartments are well equipped and the personnel is very friendly and service minded. The poolbar menue is international, the evening a la carte menue somewhat limited and there a few othe restaurants nearby. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0363Reisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Based on the reviews and images on TripAdvisor we had high expectations for our experience in Rethymnon. The hotel proved to be better then expected on many levels. The rooms are expansive and the terraces (They are more then balconies) were extensive with gorgeous views. It was wonderful to have self catering capabilities and such a wonderful base for our time in Crete. The Breakfast provided by the hotel of a high quality and never lacked for options. We didn't use the spa facilities or gym as we were traveling with young children. The pools are amazing, and the hotel is exceptionally clean and the grounds well maintained. I don't think the hotel was at capacity but there were other guests. A mix of couples and families. The hotel never felt busy and the pools and facilities felt like the were often there just for us. I don't know how true this would be from June to September, but this is the case for Crete in general.

A couple of pointers. The hotel is up on hill. There was adequate parking (in may) and we were glad to have rented a car (for many reasons). The easiest way to town is not to go down the hill to the west, but rather to go up over the hill to the east.

The beach in front of the hotel is a rocky coast line of pools, while we saw people swimming in rocky pools we ventured west for our beach time (which was splendid.) The neighborhood around the hotel felt very safe, but is a bit run down... like much of Crete, there are a mix of ruins and abandoned construction projects next to stunning old buildings and luxury hotels.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Our only complaint was that the hotel lobby always smelled of cigarette smoke, as the back office management seemed to not realize that their guests of what they claim is a 5 star hotel and health spa, might not want to share in their smoking habit, especially with young children.

That aside this was a wonderful holiday for our family. Macaris was a great base for our adventures around Crete and made for an easy and relaxing stay. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in 306. This is the largest patio room above the pool level. for a better sea view rooms g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemicapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here at the start of the season in early April. Just a little way out of the hustle of the old town, no more than a 10 - 15 minute walk away. We actually quite liked been out of the centre. The building is fairly new and was receiving a new set of entrance steps when we arrived, which wasn't a problem. First impressions are excellent.

Check in was easy and reception staff really helpful. When we got to our room there was a plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine in the fridge. A really nice touch. The suite was really well appointed and had a superb balcony overlooking the sea. There was a kitchen and eating area, separate bedroom and a large bathroom.

The pool area was great with good sunbeds. The pool was cold but only to be expected this early in the season. There is an indoor pool and spa. A really relaxing place to enjoy the sun. There is also a roof top sun deck.

The bar is good place to enjoy a drink and is pretty cheap. The food is good quality and is a good option if you just want to stay in. Kostas behind the bar is a great member for staff. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had, fresh juice, cakes etc etc.

I would really recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.7 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.1 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 175 in Rethymnon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macaris Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaris Suites & Spa

Property: Macaris Suites & Spa
Address: 70 Stamathioudaki, Rethymnon, Crete 741 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macaris Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macaris Suites & Spa is a luxury 5* hotel built amphitheatrically within 4000 sqm, 1km west of the picturesque town of Rethymno and only a 100 m. away from the beach. The hotel offers majestic views of the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean and the Venetian castle Fortezza. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to the detail, the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macaris Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macaris Suites And Spa
Macaris Hotel Rethymnon
Macaris Hotel Crete
Macaris Suites & Spa Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing