We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macaris Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Loved every minute”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were a group of five and we really enjoed every minute. Large and beatiful apartment, the best sunsets ever, good food but the best of all was the people working there. Special thanks to the Spa girl ( thank you for your massages, that is the meaning of relax!!!), All together I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovecrete189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    68
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
126
126
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Macaris is a peaceful and a lovely sea view. The staff is very helpfull and everything is clean and nice.
Very good breakfast and the lunch courses is also good.
The bed is awsome, You fell in to sleep pretty fast...

Room Tip: Front building, every room there have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaute G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Macaris suites are a very unique hotel in Rethymno.Well the rooms are like appartments with one bedroom and a place with kitchen and a second bed.All the rooms have sea view-perfect-you can see the castle fortezza and of course aegean sea-the service was exceptional-the personnel very helpful..Inside the rooms are too good ti be true with nice furnitures.In the kitchen there is everything u need..bathroom big with...jacuzzi!!
The spa is working with decent programmes.
Wehad breakfast which was very good..with frash orange juice and many local products..
The price is a little bit expensive but really it is something that worths the money...
You can park your car outside the hotel..u ll find a place for sure..

The only minus(if someone can tell this..) is that there is a distance about 600-700 meters from the old town..so u must drive to the parkings outside old town..u can walk to old town too but the road is too busy and it is about 15 min walk..

But really we didnt mind about this..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basiliogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got room 504 in December 2011; what a view! Chania peninsula to the left, the Old City to the right and the bluest Med straight ahead!

Room 504 also has the biggest outside terrace, lots of space to sunbathe, have a small pool for the kids or entertain your envious guests... :-)

Everything was newly renovated so we had a modern kitchen (I made excellent food there from local farm/organic produce), lovely bathroom (jacuzzi type so good for a mini-spa experience with music), nice living room (heated floors throughout the apartment and modern furniture) and a great bedroom (best sleep I've ever had in a hotel room, actually).

I haven't reviewed the spa since it was under construction when we were there. The hotel bar and outside pool were also closed during the winter. They have a nice little gym room with new equipment that we went for a run in. The terrace is also furnished, there was a table and 6-8 chairs, also two large outside sofas and a coffee table.

There is a natural cove good for kids across the street, else a short walk will take you to sandy beaches nearby. Ask about the path to the Old City, much nicer and more interesting than walking along the road.

Enjoy your stay, we did!

Room Tip: Room 504! Excellent for couples as only one bedroom, if you have kids then they could sleep outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franklin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Macaris just over one week in the end of June. The hotel is situated on the western outskirts of Rethymno, a short walk to the old town, and conveniently close to some very good restaurants. We did not like to walk along the busy street, but the staff to guided us to a more quiet path into town. Rethymno is a great city...!
The hotel staff are very forthcoming and nice, and we did never hear them say "no". They obviously did their best to make our stay very pleasant!
The rooms (more like appartments) are quiet and cool and very nicely decorated, with a breathtaking view over the mediterranean sea. It even had a very well equipped kitchen if one decides to stay in the appartment to cater for oneself. The beds are the best we have encountered in Greece! And the terraces are huge... We even had an outdoor jacuzzi on ours.
The restaurant has a lunch/snack/bar menu, but with plenty of choices. And the food is very good. The bartenders are social and very attentive.
Macaris opened its SPA center just before we arrived. Super, super NICE! It has a beautifully decorated hamam, a large jacuzzi and an indoor pool, cooler than the one outside. In the near future they plan to bring on massage, manicure and a hairdresser. Very good, and a touch we have not seen many places in Crete! There is a basic Gym, with adequate equipment, and for the hard core trainers there is a fully equipped gym only a couple of hundred meters away.
We also spent a few days at the beach (the earest only 50 m away from the hotel entrance,)and this part of the town beach is far less "touristy" than on the eastern side of town. There is a full-service bar (with sunbeds) conveniently close to the hotel, and some very good restaurants (Prima Plora beeing one) within 500 m.
Macaris is, from our experience, a super hotel! And one we could easily recommend. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viking1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome! The hotel overlooks the big blue, the suite is spacious, spotlessly clean, the jacuzzi bath is fantastic. We were welcomed with a fruit plate and a bottle of wine in the fridge. Many thanks to the General Manager, Mrs Theodoraki, Vaggelio at the reception, who took that extra step to assist us, Valadis at the restaurant (say yes at a raki shot at 08:30hrs at breakfast), Costas the cook, and all others whose names we don't know. We hope we will be back in the near future! The holiday you offered us will be always remembered and the people made the big difference!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have better sea view and view to the fortezza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleiskandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Love the sea view of the room and the cleanliness of the room. Friendly front office staff. Will definitely come back to this hotel and will recommend to all my friends. The hotel is located very near near to the old told and walking distance to some major restaurants I.e prima flora and the old harbor near the fortress.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor I.e 6th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.7 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlantis Beach Hotel
Atlantis Beach Hotel
#23 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.1 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macaris Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaris Suites & Spa

Property: Macaris Suites & Spa
Address: 70 Stamathioudaki, Rethymnon, Crete 741 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macaris Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macaris Suites & Spa is a luxury 5* hotel built amphitheatrically within 4000 sqm, 1km west of the picturesque town of Rethymno and only a 100 m. away from the beach. The hotel offers majestic views of the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean and the Venetian castle Fortezza. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to the detail, the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macaris Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macaris Suites And Spa
Macaris Hotel Rethymnon
Macaris Hotel Crete
Macaris Suites & Spa Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing