We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the room and views...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macaris Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We (boyfriend and I) stayed in the Macaris for two weeks in September and the hotel proved a great base, here is a summary of the main points;
Food: we stayed B&B, breakfast was reasonable but had relatively little variation. The hotel menu is limited and pricey so we ordered little off this. The food also stops being served at 3pm, but luckily we are near rethymnon here, so it is no problem. I wouldn't go half board here, just opt for breakfast for the best deal.
Rooms: the rooms are 5* - fantastic space, and views and great kitchen, bathroom and living area. The veranda has lovely comfy seats so you can lounge in the sun - make a special request for a high room as the views are particularly spectacular.
Hotel: there is no spa as advertised, and there is a 'half finished' feel to the hotel in places. There is also a lot of consitructiuon work just outside as the area is developing. The service was friendly enough, and the gym was small but equipt. Do not expect entertainment - this hotel suits people who want a private holiday experience and although there are some amenities (e.g. pool table) it has more of a clean 'business' feel at times. That suited us, but is worth bearing in mind. Pool area is good, but could feel small on busy days - it is not massively warm, but warm enough.
In short - we were in it for the room and views, and the brilliant close location to the old town of Rethymnon (10 mins walk to the right), I might have liked to use the spa but this was under-development (although private maseus requests were a possibility in your suite...). We dont have kids, and just wanted a relaxing break away which we got. I do think it is a very good choice for rethymnon, as you get the 'pool/chill' experience combined with the 'cultured city trip' feel.

Room Tip: get a high room (floors 7 or 8) for the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank handd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

well, I think that things are quite simple in the case of Rethymno: if you're looking for a modern, fully equipped apartment, with truly LARGE verandas, offering GREAT views to the sea and the city castle: go to Macaris! To add to that, breakfast is very good (offering both international choices and local delicacies), the apartments are spotlessly cleaned every day and you're a short 5-minute car-ride to the old city centre , where all the action is.
I have to say that our (7th floor) apartment was so great that, after returning from our daily beach excursions (the beach in front of the city of Rethymno is not worth visiting), we found it hard to go out and miss a quite evening, sitting in our veranda with a glass of wine and listening to the waves! (I'm not overdoing it here: there is a busy road separating the hotel from the sea front, but the hotel is climbing up a hill and there was no traffic noise at all, at least on our floor).
If I could find something negative this would be the lack of "character" in the hotel's public areas. It is obvious that the property was not build to function as a hotel (the apartments were to be sold, but I guess the economic crisis changed everything). So if you are looking for a boutique - like hotel, book something inside the old town area (where of course one misses the fresh air and lovely views).
I definitely recommend Macaris and hope to go back there soon!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 7th/8th floor of the upper building to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eliAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is an old Hotel that has been totally refurbished to a very high standard. Our one bedroom apartment had great views, a large terrace, high quality fixtures- cant complain.
Good pool area.
The area outside the building is been developed, as in new paths into town, cycle routes etc.
The views of the West Bay of Rethymnon with its Fortress are fantastic. Its only a 10minute walk to the Old Town, and this was with a 6 and 8 year old.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miketripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A special greetings for the hotel staff - especially Chrristina, Giorgos & Giorgos (alias Double Yoghurt), Dinos, Tanya - we promise never to jump in pool again in the middle of the night. My stay at the hotel was fantastic and it was my best holiday ever!!! Thanks for making our vacation very special and unforgetable. Greetings from the tourists from Denmark.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bifhenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were a group of 8 and we had the best holidays ever!!!!!!! We had booked two big apartments and when I say big I mean BIG! Huge terrase ,breathless sea views, confy beds, kitchen, dining room , a wc and a bathroom with whirpool. Lot's of bubbles!!!!

The staff was incredable! The boys at the bar and restaurant (thank you Giorgos & Dinos) made us feel as kings! We had every 3 nights a raki party & the best breakfast we had ever tasted in Greece. The girls at the reception sooo helpfull! Even under taxi strike they found us a way to travel around either by been themselves our drivers or finding us private drivers.

Even though the hotel was not in the center we needed only 10 min. to walk downtown
for shoping & sightseeing. On the other hand the silence & the calmness of the area worth the 10 min. walking.

Definetely we will go back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liketotravel051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I cannot thank the staff at Macaris Suites in Rethymno.
The hotel as fantastic, clean, huge rooms, great view.
I honestly cannot think of anything that I could fault with this hotel at all and would defintely stay here again or refer friends or relatives too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldOfOrder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you look for the perfect stay in Rethymnon, this is the hotel to stay at! The amazing and friendly staff gave us a warm welcome, and probably the best stay I've ever had in Crete and other greek islands. The hotel rooms are huge, and of a very modern up-to-date standard, making you feel very at home. You get a fully equipped modern kitchen, huge terrace, livingroom, bathroom and a bedroom with very comfy beds. This I can recommend for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikozEwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.7 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Batis Rethymno
Hotel Batis Rethymno
#45 of 175 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 175 in Rethymnon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macaris Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaris Suites & Spa

Address: 70 Stamathioudaki, Rethymnon, Crete 741 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range: $120 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macaris Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macaris Suites & Spa is a luxury 5* hotel built amphitheatrically within 4000 sqm, 1km west of the picturesque town of Rethymno and only a 100 m. away from the beach. The hotel offers majestic views of the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean and the Venetian castle Fortezza. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to the detail, the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Macaris Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macaris Suites And Spa
Macaris Hotel Rethymnon
Macaris Hotel Crete
Macaris Suites & Spa Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing