We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mezedes”
Review of Raki Ba Raki 1600

Raki Ba Raki 1600
Ranked #67 of 418 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A modern reinterpretation of the classic Cretan Rakadiko - a place to eat small plates and drink raki. Top quality mezedes plates, come thick and fast; it's food to be shared. Choose imaginative Cretan tapas, such as local organic pork sausage, hand-picked mountain greens in phyllo, crispy smoked pork cigar rolls, hot Feta with caramelised figs and fried snails in rosemary sauce. It's relaxed dining, in a stylish setting reminiscent of an old grocery store, and perfect for a group of friends. Known for the best mezedes in town, creative Cretan flavours you won't find elsewhere, excellent quality Raki and a friendly and smilling staff!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for dinner as recommended by our hotel owner. We were not disappointed. We had five mezedes dishes, with a litre of house wine and it cost under €35. Service was good and friendly. Food was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srwally2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 958 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2019

We just had a fantastic meal with great mezze including tarama that was incredible. The mains inlcuded the daily special of stuffed rolled pork and grilled calamari which were fantastic. We have eaten very well in Crete but this was our best meal - and of course becuase it’s Greece the quality far exceeded the cost.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KCMorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

We were here in the winter time - so really not many tourists. Very authentic and tasty food. Recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MartinW187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

In a proper atmosphere of a Greek mezedopoleio (Greek tapas restaurant), tastes are diverse, but genuine, and tsikoudia (or raki) is matching the local mezedes (tapas).
Belonging tot the same family which owns Avli apartments, has the same -high- quality standards.
The mushrooms were exceptional. 'Pihtogala' was a perfect match for all other dishes, and the octopus salad a best match for the raki.
Prices are fair and service was friendly and fast.
Overall a top value for money choice in the center of the old city.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GustoSuitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Cannot believe the negative reviews, this place was awesome. We found it for lunch on a day trip and had to go back for dinner later in the week. We were staying 65km away but worth the effort!
Food was amazing, house wine was fabulous, service was outstanding!
Try the sausages and the bugatsa for desert!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasondB1457PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raki Ba Raki 1600 also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Raki Ba Raki 1600? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing