We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning villa and friendly hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Beautiful views in sunset time will offer unforgettable moment of your stay! Facade of the villa, outdoor dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Beautiful views in sunset time will offer unforgettable moment of your stay!
Facade of the villa, outdoor dining area
Private swimming pool area with sun beds and sitting area
40 sq. m private pool, we have a removable fence to place for child protection
Enjoy relaxing at the pool area surrounded by trees & flowers
Outdoor area with, garden pool, sun beds - umbrellas, dining area & sitting area
Outdoor dining area
Entrance of the villa - Living room area with HDTV & DVD player
Open plan living room area
Fully equipped kitchen and indoor dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with all the essentials!
Double bedroom on the first floor
Double bedroom on the first floor
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom on the first floor
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the ground floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the ground floor
There are 3 bathrooms, one on the ground floor & the other two on the 1st floor
Bathroom
Charcoal barbecue and a traditional wood oven
Stairs from the outdoor leads you to the first floor's balcony
Enjoy fresh fruits and vegetables from our garden!
View of Eleftherna village, the villa is located in a quiet area with nature
Our garden is surrounded by trees & flowers and partly covered with grass
Enjoy a swim at sunset time!
Pool area at sunset time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BenClarke...
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning villa and friendly hosts”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We were greeted upon arrival by our two hosts, who were extremely friendly and welcoming. The villa itself was very clean and well equipped, and the local fruit, olive oil and raki the hosts kindly started us off with was a lovely touch. The garden and pool area are as good as they look on the pictures; there are loads of colourful plants, and timed lighting means the area is nicely lit up at night for evening swims and late bbqs! Nearby in Eleftherna (a literal 1 minute walk away) there are several traditional tavernas run by local families that serve outstanding and very cheap Cretan food and have a stunning panoramic view from Mt Psiloritis all the way down the foothills that Eleftherna is nestled in to the Coast. For your own food, there is a very small local supermarket around 5 minutes walk away, and roughly a 25 minute drive by winding roads to the lidl outside Rethymno (an extra 5 minutes gets you to the north coast and lots of beaches). Overall, the villa and location are terrific and we could not fault the experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemlolat
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could stay all summer.”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We visited villa satra in Crete in August 2017. We were 2 families with a party of 10 (4 adults and 6 children aged 1-13). It suited us perfectly.

Villa Satra is an amazing villa set in the mountains of Crete, in a small village called Eleftherma with amazing views of the mountains and surrounding fields. Its approx 13 km from the town of Rethimno.

Our host was a really nice man called Kostas, and the villa has been in his family for around 100 years, although looks to be recently renovated to a very high standard.

Kostas and his family went above and beyond to make us feel welcome at Villa Satra. From the moment we arrived we found the villa had all the essentials we needed and we didn’t need to visit the shops until we had time to settle in. We were greeted with fruit juice, ham & cheese, fresh fruit, olive oil, raki and a bottle of bubbly!

The villa itself is spotlessly clean and this continued throughout our stay as it was cleaned every 3 days with fresh towels and bed linen provided.

They also have a 24\7 phone hotline that you can call to obtain any help or information you may need, which was incredibly helpful.

We were overwhelmed by the generosity of our hosts as we were regularly brought fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden, alongside a delicious cake baked by Katrina (Kostas wife) and fresh eggs (from Kostas mum who lives next door). Kostas was the most lovely man, and was always very playful with the children, he even turned up with ice creams for us all one day.

There are a few local tavernas within walking distance and they could not have been friendlier, and each time we went to eat we were overwhelmed with platters of melon, olives, feta, cucumber & tomatoes. By the end of each evening we were leaving with either a bottle of Raki or locally produced wine as a gift to us.

We would highly recommend Villa Satra for a family holiday and will definitely return.

Tanston Families….. xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanaskov...
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday in Greece”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We just spent 2 fantastic weeks in this beautiful traditional Cretan villa and our vacation was amazing. We are two families with 4 children of different ages(4,6,6 and 12, and we all had a blast.
If you are looking for a true cultural experience, this is it. Old traditional villa with all amenities of modern living. Great location in a small, peaceful village with its proximity to the beaches and archeological sites, away from the crowd, with beautiful nature makes this place a perfect getaway from busy everyday life.
Mr. Kostas, the owner, and his family showed us what real Cretan hospitality looks like. They made sure that we have everything we needed every day of our stay, with a personal touch that's hard to find nowadays.
Kids had great time feeding Hector, the horse next to the villa, fish in the pond, cats, seeing sheeps, goats, chickens...eating fresh, organic, products from the garden and daily fresh eggs Grandmother Elenna Alexandra would bring every morning.
Mr. Vasilakis and his team made planning of this vacation really easy and everything worked perfectly.
This was just great family vacation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous villa and exceptionally friendly owners.”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful 2 weeks in villa Satra. The management company (Kostas and his team) were extremely helpful and always responded to e-mails most quickly. The owner, another Kostas, was extremely friendly and bought gifts of traditional cakes, olive oil and home baked cakes. He and his wife even hosted a BBQ for us, using the brick BBQ on the terrace. The villa was beautiful and extremely clean. The children loved the sweets left on their pillows and the extra sweets given to them by Kostas' grandmother (who lives next door). All the rooms upstairs had air conditioning (most useful in the heat of summer). However, the downstairs bedroom did not have air conditioning, just a fan. The pool was a real hit wit the children but we all enjoyed being able to cool down. We were able to use the vegetables from the garden. What a treat to eat tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers within 20 minutes of being picked! The taverna at the end of the road was fabulous and really friendly. We also visited the museum in the village which impressed us all. We were able to explore a lot of the island (a car is a must). We found all the islanders extremely friendly. All in all, a fabulous holiday made all the more wonderful by Kostas and his family. We were all extremely sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the friendliness of the owner.
Liked least: No air conditioning in the 4th bedroom downstairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess B
1 review
“Beautiful house, wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful house, better than the photos suggest, but the garden is a little smaller than the photos suggest. Nevertheless, the garden is beautiful, so well designed, laid out and cared for it really is special. The pool is wonderfully clean and well maintained, with the minimum of chemicals used, it felt like swimming in spring water and the swallows skimming and dipping the pool to drink was a memory that will remain very special.
The amenities in the house are perfect, and the decor and quality of the furnishings is fantastic. We were genuinely delighted. Our only grumble during the whole stay was that two of the double beds were very hard.
Most important to everything is how well the host family cares for you as a guest. Little gifts of wine, oil, fresh eggs, freshly made cake. It is exciting to come home each day to see what is waiting for you. The family are incredibly generous and thoughtful and the service you receive is truly excellent.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Mrs. Jess,
Thank you for the review! I am glad that you had a great stay! As I told you already, I appreciate your advise about the two mattresses and I confirm that both of them will be changed immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good facilities and excellent hospitality!”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely two weeks in the villa during August. The second week our party consisted of ten adults and it accommodated us well. The village is quiet, but it does have two or three small tavernas and a small shop for essentials. Larger supermarkets are in striking distance for bulk items, and there’s an excellent butcher on the road down to Rethymno.

The villa had all the facilities we needed - pool, loungers, wi-fi etc, and a few others that we enjoyed, like the outside bread oven where we cooked our own pizzas, and the extended garden with a wide range of fruit and veg. We also had some lovely evenings based around the large outside dining table that easily seated all ten of us.

Finally, we were especially grateful for the hospitality provided by the villa owner, Kostas, and his extended family. They kept the villa nice and clean throughout our stay, and were always on hand to provide local information & advice, and a few extras like home-made wine, raki, eggs, cakes, fruit etc.

Thank you Kostas & family - it was an excellent holiday!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPTo76
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Cretan Experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Villa Satra as group of 8. Mr. Kostas and his family were more than welcoming and hospitable during whole stay, place was kept tidy even during the week and all questions/needs quickly solved. Some of us even visited grandmothers house nearby for coffee on her kind invitation :) House itself is very cosy and authentic with history of it's own, but also had all the modern facilities we needed. Surroundings are quite rural, just a small village with some services (shop, few tavernas), but great scenery - with lots of animals! There's sheep/goat yard just across the road, roosters and small birds to wake you up "naturally" and horse at back yard. Just down the hill (and surrouding) is ancient Eleutherna (village is Eleftherna), historic site well worth visit/hike. During our stay we also made a day trip to isle of Santorini (early pre-booking recommented). Ferry leaves from Rethymnon twice a week (?) early in the morning and returns late evening. We didn't want anyone to have to drive that day, so our excellent travel agency Platanos Tours recommented by Kostas arranged us a limo taxi service (minivan for aprox. 10 persons) pick up / drop off from/to village centre, 5min walk from house which was great value for money. All and all we had a great and relaxing stay in true Cretan village/house,it was just what we were looking for. ευχαριστώ!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing