We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good facilities and excellent hospitality!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Beautiful views in sunset time will offer unforgettable moment of your stay! Facade of the villa, outdoor dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Pool area with easy removable fence for child safety
Beautiful views in sunset time will offer unforgettable moment of your stay!
Facade of the villa, outdoor dining area
Private swimming pool area with sun beds and sitting area
40 sq. m private pool, we have a removable fence to place for child protection
Enjoy relaxing at the pool area surrounded by trees & flowers
Outdoor area with, garden pool, sun beds - umbrellas, dining area & sitting area
Outdoor dining area
Entrance of the villa - Living room area with HDTV & DVD player
Open plan living room area
Fully equipped kitchen and indoor dining area
Fully equipped kitchen with all the essentials!
Double bedroom on the first floor
Double bedroom on the first floor
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom on the first floor
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the ground floor
Bedroom with 2 single beds on the ground floor
There are 3 bathrooms, one on the ground floor & the other two on the 1st floor
Bathroom
Charcoal barbecue and a traditional wood oven
Stairs from the outdoor leads you to the first floor's balcony
Enjoy fresh fruits and vegetables from our garden!
View of Eleftherna village, the villa is located in a quiet area with nature
Our garden is surrounded by trees & flowers and partly covered with grass
Enjoy a swim at sunset time!
Pool area at sunset time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
David L
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good facilities and excellent hospitality!”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely two weeks in the villa during August. The second week our party consisted of ten adults and it accommodated us well. The village is quiet, but it does have two or three small tavernas and a small shop for essentials. Larger supermarkets are in striking distance for bulk items, and there’s an excellent butcher on the road down to Rethymno.

The villa had all the facilities we needed - pool, loungers, wi-fi etc, and a few others that we enjoyed, like the outside bread oven where we cooked our own pizzas, and the extended garden with a wide range of fruit and veg. We also had some lovely evenings based around the large outside dining table that easily seated all ten of us.

Finally, we were especially grateful for the hospitality provided by the villa owner, Kostas, and his extended family. They kept the villa nice and clean throughout our stay, and were always on hand to provide local information & advice, and a few extras like home-made wine, raki, eggs, cakes, fruit etc.

Thank you Kostas & family - it was an excellent holiday!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPTo76
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Cretan Experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Villa Satra as group of 8. Mr. Kostas and his family were more than welcoming and hospitable during whole stay, place was kept tidy even during the week and all questions/needs quickly solved. Some of us even visited grandmothers house nearby for coffee on her kind invitation :) House itself is very cosy and authentic with history of it's own, but also had all the modern facilities we needed. Surroundings are quite rural, just a small village with some services (shop, few tavernas), but great scenery - with lots of animals! There's sheep/goat yard just across the road, roosters and small birds to wake you up "naturally" and horse at back yard. Just down the hill (and surrouding) is ancient Eleutherna (village is Eleftherna), historic site well worth visit/hike. During our stay we also made a day trip to isle of Santorini (early pre-booking recommented). Ferry leaves from Rethymnon twice a week (?) early in the morning and returns late evening. We didn't want anyone to have to drive that day, so our excellent travel agency Platanos Tours recommented by Kostas arranged us a limo taxi service (minivan for aprox. 10 persons) pick up / drop off from/to village centre, 5min walk from house which was great value for money. All and all we had a great and relaxing stay in true Cretan village/house,it was just what we were looking for. ευχαριστώ!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connievb2...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lovely village experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were three families with young children staying at Villa Satra together. We were greeted by Kostas when we arrived and visited regularly throughout our stay with fresh vegetables, eggs from the chickens and little treats for the children. The village of Eleftherna is very sweet and the locals friendly and welcoming.
Although the villa wasn't in the thick of the action in Rethymno, it was a 30 minute drive and we also made a few day trips to places like Knossos, Bali and Preveli Beach easily from there.
It was wonderful to feel part of village life in Eleftherna. The drive up there was enjoyable, taking in the beautiful scenery. The pottery and tavernas within walking distance of the villa were also lovely.
I would definitely recommend this villa to anyone looking for a slice of village life in Crete, with access to the main attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of owners and villagers
Liked least: Shame pool doesn't have a shallower bit at one end for the littlest child
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart W
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect location for experiencing traditional Crete”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled to Villa Satra for an extended family stay of 10 people (grandparents, adults and 4 young children ages 1-8). We hoped for a scenic, traditional villa but with modern amenities and service and we were thrilled with what we got.

Villa Satra is located in a friendly traditional Cretan village that is centrally located on Crete. It means that all parts of this extensive island are within reach...mountains and beaches, cities and countryside. There aren't many locations on Crete that allow easy access to the touristy beaches in the north of the island and the more scenic beaches of the South. This location allows you to do that. The small village is friendly - our children played with the local children here in the evenings after eating at the local tavernas. There are some interesting attractions here that you can't reach if you stay along the coastline such as the ancient Arkadi monastery and the traditional Cretan mountain town of Anogia.

The villa itself is traditional in appearance on the outside (it's a carefully restored stone building) but has modern creature comforts in the interior. Since it's a substantial stone building, it doesn't get too hot (or cold) and we used all of it's conveniences - in room air conditioning, washing machines, broadband. The pool is beautiful and ideal/safe for kids...our children also loved the fact that the surrounding farmland had a friendly horse and access to a vegetable garden. The owners' family regularly brought us fresh vegetables, olive oil, raki and even dessert. They also kept the villa spotlessly clean for us - they visited when we were out to minimize disruption and all linens, floors, surfaces were diligently cleaned for us.

Our favorite aspects were the tranquility/natural beauty of the hillside location, ease of access to local tavernas, traditional but high quality Cretan living quarters and friendly owners/villagers. We have no regrets about traveling from the UK (and part of the family came all the way from Chicago, US).

If we get the opportunity for us all to visit again we will definitely do so....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location - peace and quiet but not too far from amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danoush A
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Accommodation and hospitality of the highest order”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our group of five had the pleasure of staying at Villa Satra for a warm and sunny week in September. The villa was even nicer than we were expecting - the combination of the new and the old was tastefully executed, and it was spacious and comfortable and very clean.

The owners met us at the beginning to show us what we needed to know and then visited through the week to do cleaning and tidying. We were constantly presented with gifts, either home-made or picked from the garden, which was very humbling.

The villa is close to the centre of Eleftherna village (not to be confused with Ancient Eleftherna which is a few kilometres away). The surroundings are peaceful, and the location is good for exploring the middle part of Crete, whether it's the north coast, the south coast or the countryside and mountains in between. Before we arrived the agent had shared with us maps of the best local beaches and restaurants, and during our stay he was on hand to answer any questions that we had.

All in all, we couldn't have asked for a more pleasurable stay. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fruits and vegetables growing in the garden.
Liked least: The lack of raised shower head holders - it must be a Greek thing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stormbost...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Villa!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from 10 days stay at this wonderful villa - missing it already!
The facilities,cleanliness and thought and tasty gifts provided by Kostas and his family, make this a place to thoroughly relax and just get on with enjoying your holiday.
wouldn't hesitate in returning - looking forward to returning and getting the bread oven heated up ( with a little help from Kostas/family) for another night of Pizza.

Wish I could book it for the whole of the summer and give up work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the welcome
Liked least: the drive up the hill
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence1...
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“The dream !”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We just come back after 2 weeks in the villa Satra. We had very good time in this quiet place. The villa is very comfortable and beautiful. Everything is there to have an excellent stay.
Kostas, his wife Katarina and all family are so generous and listening our needs. We particularly appreciated the vegetables of garden (tomatoes, cucumbers, potatoes) and the lemons which we picked.
The swimming pool is checked every day and the cleaning of the house is made every 3 days. This is very considerable when we are on holidays.

Everything was perfect ! We can only recommend this villa.
Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing