We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning city escape and views in the mountains”
other travelers have booked this property
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Overview of the villa - offering full privacy!
40 m² swimming pool with full privacy and removable wood fence for child safety
Pool area with sun beds & umbrellas
Spacious garden area with trees, flowers, swimming pool, sun beds, umbrellas, sitting area, etc.
Sun beds & umbrellas by the pool.
Relax and enjoy your stay in our garden!
Garden-park area
Garden - one of the two outdoor dinning areas under the tree
Balcony - outdoors dinning table in the veranda next to the kitchen with view!
Spacious living room
Living room
We offer you light hiking equipment for free!
Fully equipped kitchen and indoor dining table!
Kitchen with direct exit to balcony with the outdoor dining area
Main bedroom on the first floor
Main bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with double bed on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the ground floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
Bedroom with two single beds on the first floor
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
One of the two similar bathrooms with Jacuzzi! (there is one in each floor)
Veranda on the ground floor with outdoor sitting area
Veranda on the first floor with outdoor sitting area
Our villa offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea, Mt. Psiloritis and the whole area.
Amazing views from all our balconies & verandas
Free bicycles and new removable safety fence for young children in pool
Barbecue with wood oven and sink, we will provide everything like charcoal!
Hammock under the tree for relaxation..!
Pool and garden area with view
Outdoors area
Fenced parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
style_unc...
Scandinavia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning city escape and views in the mountains”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in with my family in August 2014. It takes a good drive to reach this house on the top of a mountain hill village, but it is worth the effort.

Setting the navigation beforehand is essential.

As many pictures will show, the venue is beautiful, highly functional and also well equipped. Local service and support is generous to say the least; George and his family totally spoil you with attention, maintenance and pleasant surprises during your stay.

When writing this back London in April 2015 I still remember the wonderful views overlooking the valley all the way to the sea miles away.

I also remember the invaluable peacefulness that in my view justifies the journey on its own. One really gets a geuine soul healing break from the big city concrete jungle. With the always refreshing pool and an excellent BBQ facility in the grown up and aesthetically manicured garden, nobody will miss busy hotel facilities or its accompanying tourist mess.

Up here. One can hear the wind whisper and birds singing. One can hear bypassing bees while enjoying breakfast in what almost feels like your own valley.

The village is great for walks. Supermarkets and butchers are some 15 mins drive downhills.

A top tip is a day-long excursion to the Matala Beach on the south side of Crete. Satnav is essential and make sure you drive a l l t h e w a y home too during daylight. Doing so ensures not only road safety but also magnificent mountain panoramas along the way.

I happily recommend this venue for anyone seeking a quiet family retreat in a luxurious setting and with ample opportunities for car excursions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StandonZa...
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Where to start?

Booking and communication were excellent. Kostas was easily contactable before and during the holiday, if needed. His welcome and introductions were very friendly and reassuring.

On arrival, Kostas and his father,George,were there to greet us. We were provided with lots of Cretan specialities during our stay - George's own wine, honey and raki, as well as a huge fruit basket, coffee, delicious biscuits, bread, more wine, red eggs for Easter and more.

The villa is immaculate. The photos on the website show it exactly as it is. It is cleaned and towels, sheets etc freshened, every 3 or so days. It is well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The pool and garden are lovely. It has loads of seating outdoors and great views over the village and down to the sea. Just be aware this is a traditional Cretan village so there are other houses nearby, but for the most part you don't notice these given the siting of the villa, and the sounds and music from below simply add to the ambience.

We cannot fault the villa in any way. It does take a little while to get to a 'main' road, but, again that is part of the charm and there is much to be done nearby, whether walking or visiting historical sites.

A superb villa with owners who make sure you have the best possible base and start to your holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John7780
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not want to leave this fantastic villa”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We started our trip in Sweden, arriving at the villa a bit tired from the trip where we received a very warm welcome at Villa Eleftherna. The tiredness was gone and we realized that our high expectations was by far exceeded. Besides the very warm welcome, the villa and its perfection stunned us. The mixture of a luxurious villa and the genuine surroundings made our week an unforgettable memory, the only mistake we made was not to book another week:-).

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purpuni
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sun kissed Tomatoes and Olive Oil.”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

The morning is heralded by the sound of the cockerel call, the dawn chorus of chirruping of birds with the cooing of a dove keeping time; the buzzing of a bee reporting for work and the tinkling sound of sheep moving to fresh pastures for the day. The sun rises at the Villa Eleftherna over a range of mountains spreading it's warming rays and basking it in a golden light.
This is my experience of most mornings in this thoughtfully appointed Villa, which I enjoyed with a soothing cup of tea.

Our arrival was greeted with a very personal welcome from George and his family, with a cornucopia of fruit. Including locally grown grapes, honey, olive oil, a bottle of wine and not forgetting some famous Greek raki. The house consists of four rooms (two doubles and two twin rooms) each with a balcony seating area; air conditioning with ample storage space. The kitchen is appointed with all the 'mod cons' including several coffee brewers, orange juicing machines, microwave oven, dishwasher crockery cutlery and even a waffle iron! The sitting room has a multi-channelled tv, wi-fi access, and a music system which can connect to your MP3 player. (Remember to bring a connection wire for this.)
There are several dining areas including one on the verandah, where we had the pleasure of having long lazy breakfasts. A high chair for the baby was provided. A further dining area is found next to the barbeque and outdoor oven, situated in the lovingly tendered garden which included herbs such as 'Cretan tea.' A hammock provides a small retreat to indulge in a good novel. The biggest highlight especially for the children was the pool which was a source of hours of creative fun. The pool area is gated with an inflated lifeguard ring; a maximum depth of 1.40 metres and an outdoor shower.
The house is cleaned approximately every three days, when the white bath and face towels are replaced. The blue swimming towels need to be washed in the villa's washing machine. Any recyclable waste items are encouraged to be collected in a separate refuse bag. There is a local shop around 10 to 15 minutes walk which opens until 2 pm and then re-opens at 6pm. For meat products you need to go further afield towards Rethymnon. A torch is recommended for evening walking excursions to keep an eye on local insects and critters. A mosquito cream is recommended during your travels around Crete, although this was not a particular problem at the higher altitude villa.
A lovely personal touch was that the Vasilakis family brought intermittent gifts of delicious sun ripened tomatoes from their garden, a home baked chocolate cake, and heart healthy, monounsaturated packed local olive oil.
Wonderful Cretan hospitality to match the resplendent sunsets over the Villa Eleftherna.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellos
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Real Pearl- everything advertised and more”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place is a real Pearl- it is everything advertised and more.

The owner was waiting for us when we arrived and gave us a full explanation for operating the villa and more important the best things to do in the area.

The house is well equipped: It is on a large plot (around 1,000 sqm) with a beautifully kept garden and a good size swimming pool (there is even a volley ball net which was great fun as we are a family of 6). The kitchen is well equipped- microwave, oven, full size fridge ceramic hob and plenty of utensils. There seem to be sitting areas in every corner - on the veranda, down in the garden, on the roof- where ever you are looking for a piece of shade or sun. The bathrooms are fine - both with showers and instant hot water of the sun heater does not work for any reason. There is also a washing machine, 4 bikes (including a pump!), barbeque
The villa is located in a quiet peaceful village about 15 minutes from the nearest beach - this means its not quite as hot during the day and nice and cool at night- one evening we even put on long sleeves when sitting outside but this was an exception.
The house is extremely well kept, is clean and is new and modern (its only 5 years old but looks less) and the owners take real pride in it which is reflected in every corner.
I would also take the owners recommendations om what to see- the roads in Crete are far from to be desired and it takes much longer to go from place to place than one would anticipate.

Here is what we did (our 4 children are aged 7-17):
Rethymno (nice afternoon), Kourna Lake, Millie Gorge (beautiful taverna there), horse park near Rethymo (we started riding at 9 am but if you are in the summer I would start at 8 while its still cool), Go Kart near Rethymno, Chania, Margarites, Anogia, Bali beach, Plakias beach, Crete Acquarium (east of Heraklion) and Heraklion.

To summarize this is a lovely retreat and you certainly get good value for your money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing grounds and spacious and well kept house
Liked least: I have back problems and a better quality mattress would be appreciated
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luv2Trave...
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From booking this villa everything was handled exceptionally well. Kostas handles all your queries quickly and efficiently.

On arrival we were met by George and his son, and shown around this beautiful villa. A large basket of fresh fruit, some wine, raki and honey were all left for us.

The villa is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. My 2 teens were very happy they had wifi!

All the bedrooms are large and have air conditioning. Everything is spotlessly clean. There is a private balcony or terrace off of each bedroom.

The outside area is lovely. A large pool, which George comes and cleans every evening. Lovely gardens - we loved the hammock in the shade of a tree.

A very short stroll down the hill to the village and you have 2 tavernas to choose from. There is a small shop for essentials. But for a main shop a drive of 30 minutes to Rethymnon is required. You will need a car if you stay here, as it is in the hills in the countryside, but this is why we chose it - to see the real Crete. It is however easy enough to get to the coast, about 30 to 40 minutes by car.

I cannot speak highly enough of this villa. We take villa holidays every year, and this one is one of the best, if not the best we have stayed in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsBManch...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic villa. Beautiful location, owned by a fantastic, welcoming family.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I'm actually a bit nervous about writing this review as I don't want to miss anything out, as that would be a disservice to the Vasilakis family!

We flew into Chania, on Thomson (great flight) and hired a VW Transporter, arranged through the Villa owners. Yes, it is a drive from the airport. We used google maps and found the villa easily. It takes around 90 minutes, mostly motorway. The last 30 minutes are up into the hills. It's a safe drive but you need to be a confident driver I would say.

Having driven through the small village of Eleftherna, the Villa is just on the outskirts. We were met by George and his son who welcomed us, explained a few things and left behind a huge basket of fruit, olive oil, raki and honey. Just perfect.

As you will see from the Villa website, it is a stunning villa. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and lovingly maintained. The villa itself is immaculate. All mod cons, very clean and welcoming. It was lovely and cool inside, yet air conditioning is available/ There was always hot water too, when needed.

Externally, there are balconies/seating areas with every bedroom, plus a large seating area outside of the lounge/kitchen. That area has a gate that can be locked enabling little ones to roam free, safely.

The pool area is great. Lovely loungers, parasols and again, well-maintained. The pool is cleaned nightly by George. The pool area can also be fenced off so that little ones cannot access it, alone.

Next to the pool is a garden area complete with a bbq, spit roaster, sink, pizza oven, table and chairs and a hammock. It's a lovely area and again safe for the kids. A wide selection of herbs grow in the garden and you are encouraged to help yourself.

Inside the villa, the tv,dvd player and digital box are all modern. There's a comfortable seating area. The bedrooms are great, lots of room and lovely clean bedding. Plenty of towels are provided too. The bathrooms are modern and again clean.

The kitchen has everything that a family requires for a self-catering holiday. No expense spared by the owners.

I can't say enough about the villa. We were absolutely thrilled with it.

Location: The views are to die for. No other way of putting it, Mountains, flora and fauna and sea view. It is isolated. There are a few neighbours, a few low-key tavernas and a small shop. We did eat out at the Taverna Eleuthir, in the village. Service was lovely but the menu is limited.

We shopped at Lidl in Rethymon, about 30 minutes drive. If you shop there, there's also an organic shop in the same complex. The fruit, veg and other typically greek produce from there is fantastic. We used Lidl for alcohol, household goods, bread and meat only. Prices are cheaper than the UK.

We visited Rethymon Town, which we loved . The Old Town is wonderful. We parked near the City Park and then had a walk around. The market is fun and the port is also worth a visit. Shopping in the Old Town is great. Try Restaurant Alana is you're looking for something to eat. Fantastic.

We visited Bali to get our beach " fix". Shallow, sandy coves. Very clean with vehicular access down to the front. Great tavernas and also a " street food" eatery which is great value.

The Arkadi monastery is worth a visit as is Margarites. Eat at Taverna Mavrados. Great meal, great service and excellent value.

We were sad to leave. I think we'll definitely be back. We were surprised to find a huge, delicious cake in the kitchen one day, following a cleaners' visit. George, the Villa Owner, also brought over lamb for us to cook. The family are absolutely lovely.

Try it! You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: It is isolated.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;