We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must when travelling to Crete”

Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: STAY INFORMED WITH THE LATEST NEWS AND EVENT ALERTS, ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE! Welcome ! Choosing THAVMA for a short getaway, or for your holiday, you will discover a fantastic destination of stunning natural beauty that combines all the elements that will fulfill your dreams. Maroulas, is one of the finest historical villages in the majestic prefecture of Rethymnon , where our place is located. Thavma, is characterized by its stunning views, offering visitors the unique opportunity to escape from their daily routine and experience happy moments with their family and their friends. Taste pure local treats, accompanied by home made Raki. Enjoy your coffee or drink and "feel" the relaxing peace that surrounds our place, silence which is occasionally interrupted by the singing of the birds. Taste our Cretan traditional home made food, accompanied by home made wine. In case you are charmed by all the mentioned above and want to stay, a wonderful apartment is at your disposal as you can see on our website ! Our place THAVMA is only 15 minutes away from Rethymnon on the way to Maroulas from the western side. You are more than welcome ! Maria Bounialetou
Bruges
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An absolute must when travelling to Crete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

After beach and sea, we were looking for something different, something more local. With a little rental car we drove up the mountain just behind Rethymnon and discovered this little wonderful gem. From the terrace there is fantastic view over Rethymnon, the mountains, the coastline and the sea, and the sunset is absolutely breathtaking. We won't forget the warm service straight from the heart, and a very tasty kitchen, absolutely an unforgettable experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank de_wereld_is_klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello! Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so glad that you've found here " something different " you were looking for! You know, we are so happy whenever our visitors enjoy everything here...the freshly made Cretan dishes, the views, the service... We are trying very hard to keep high standards of quality and service and reviews like yours, are our award and our moto to become better and better ! We are very happy that your stay here was an unforgettable experience for you !
Hope to see you again! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    64
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A gem up in the mountain well worth a visit. Not only to view the marvelous sunset but to enjoy a lovely greek dinner at a local taverna with no fuss. Just love for people and food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Trigger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are so glad that you've enjoyed everything here at Thavma, our dishes, the sunset, the views and the quietness of the environment...
Hope to see you soon again ! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I always look at reviews before venturing abroad but I've never actually written one. Thavma was so incredible, I cannot praise it enough. The food was excellent, some of the best i've had out. The family were wonderful and there was a genuine warm welcome. Perfect views too and a little space for kids to play. Absolutely incredible experience.!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi! Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that although you always look at reviews, as you say, before venturing abroad, this is the first time you felt the "necessity" to write a review! We really thank you about that, we are glad that you enjoyed our food and your kids enjoyed our little Thavma-land !
Hope to see you again next summer! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday here and will never regret doing so. The passion with which this restaurant is run flies through everything from the food to the service. Thank you Maria (and you lovely parents) for making this a truly memorable evening. To top it all off the view is breathtaking.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello! We thank you so much for your wonderful review! We would like to wish once again to your lovely wife Happy birthday and many many returns! It was a great honor for us to meet you and have you with us! We really appreciate it that you have chosen our restaurant for such an important event for you! That's why we are so happy that we've managed to offer you a very special evening for a very special woman! We can't wait to see you again next year...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This restaurant is breathtaking in so many ways, after a long day hiking in Crete Thavma was just what we needed. The menu had a lovely selection of food, snacks and drinks as well as there being a serial picturesque view to die for! Maria and her mum were absolutely wonderful and genuine, nothing was too much to ask for and they did everything with a smile. We will definitely be visiting Thavma again when we come back to Crete next summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi! We thank you so much for your lovely review! It was so nice to meet you and have you with us! You are so kind and polite... We are so happy because you've had such a nice time here enjoying our food! We thank you also so much for your wonderful photos! We can't wait to see you again next summer...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food also viewed

Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing